We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Term Holiday 2014”
Review of Hotel Sonnenburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonnenburg
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our seventh time at the Hotel. it is a great place for families and couples of all ages.
The Hotels location has to be one of the best in Austria, access to the slopes is perfect.
The food that is provided is of a very high quality and cannot be faulted at all. We enjoy the hotel very much and the facilities are great. Gym & Wellness/Spa for the Adults, kids room and cinema all add to the experience. The Hock family are very welcoming and continue to do a fantastic job.

Only one minor thin this year we believe that the lunch menu has changed this season and now is a little limited, hopefully this can be addressed if other returning guest feel the same.

Would 100% recommend this hotel at any time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 868andrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

A prime location in a prime ski resort. True ski in ski out in Oberlech (on the slopes above Lech). A family friendly hotel with good facilities and excellent location. Rooms are clean and simple traditional alpine decor. Service is on the whole good and friendly apart from perhaps the bar staff who in a crude attempt to be "cool" are less attentive than their colleagues and on occasion rude. Food is mixed - good however by far not the best in Oberlech. Evening menu attempts to be exotic however hit and miss, often failing in terms of quality. All that said the pros by far outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked into the Sonnenburg based on a recommendation from good friends. Firstly let me say that the Lech/Oberlech ski area is one of the nicest we've been to. It offers great skiing for beginner/intermediate skiers. Oberlech offers ski and ski out facility, with the ski school conveniently situated within a short walking distance of most of the main hotels in the resort. Getting ready for the morning with kids had never been so stress free! Wonderful...now onto the hotel... The property is nice and well maintained, we were staying in the annex, and our room was clean, a decent size for the 4 of us, with enough storage for all our stuff, and best of all we had a superb view over Lech with a lovely terrace which I sat in one beautiful sunny day. The chamber maids did a great job of keeping the room clean and changing our wet towels both morning and evening for fresh ones, this meant we had radiator space to dry our wet clothes. Small bug bear was that we didn't get enough shower gel and had to ask on numerous occasions. The spa area is nice, my husband and I had a massage and we thought that was OK not the best we've had. The staff were generally helpful and were quick to respond when we had issues. Our main problem was at breakfast and dinner. At breakfast we ate in the small dining room which serves the rooms in the annex, unfortunately the staff were unable to cope with the numbers and as a consequence on a number of occasions we didn't get hot drinks, there were no clean glasses to even get cold drinks (on one occasion I had to go and get some from our room), and because they were under pressure one morning they served my daughter and I raw eggs. In the main restaurant dinner was torturous! The food was generally good and tasty, however the service was slow and inaccurate, we were either served the wrong food or things were out of sync and took too long, which causes strain when you are with children. Again when we pointed this out, the staff did their best to resolve and one evening were even offered complimentary drinks by way of an apology. We were looking forward to New Year's Eve and whilst the dinner was lovely as was the live music in the bar area, after dinner we found to our horror that the bar area was reserved by other guests and once we were turfed out of the restaurant we had no where to sit! We had to retire to our room and wait until just before midnight to come back out to watch the fireworks. No one once mentioned that a space had to be booked, and why they even allow it I'm not sure, just make enough space for all your guests to be able to enjoy the bar and the band. Finally I am not sure why but we felt that the hotel lacked the warm atmosphere that we had experienced in other Austrian ski resort hotels, surprising seeing as it is a family run hotel and isn't that big. We will definitely be returning to the resort but as yet undecided about the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We just returned from our second trip to oberlech and the sonnenburg and couldn't have been happier.
The new kindergarten and caretaker manuela meant that our kids (4 and 6) were happily and independently exploring the hotel and leaving my husband and i time on our own occasionally.
The toboggan run in front of the hotel is marvellous, as is the food every night (restaurant could be a bit cosier with different lighting) , staff all superb, pool and spa area very good - prices are clearly not cheap but the pleasure of a just about perfect skiing week as a family is worth it! If you have the choice, stay in the main house (stammhaus) rather than the other as with kids long tunnel connectig the two bit of a pain...
We shall be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Sonnenburg Hotel has a great location. You wake up, have an excellent breakfast and to go skiing, you need only to go to the ski room, get your skis and go down the mountain. The staff speaks a very good English and they are always helpful. The Spa is amazingly good as well. And the dinner is always great, really!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielHoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a large and comfortable bedroom. however, the bathroom was a bit tired, the taps are awkward to turn on, the space is poorly designed. But this does not matter as the hotel is staffed by delightful people, and the food is superb. This is truly a ski in and out hotel.
The swimming pool is the pefect temperature, it is refreshing and adds to the feeling of health, attached as it is to the spa. I found that the chemicals in the pool affected my skin and if it was warmer, more chemicals would have to go in...So if you do heat it more, pay attention to the balance of the water.
Wem have skiied all over the Alps, in Italy, France and Switzerland, we loved our first trip to Austria, and this is largely due to the charm of the Sonnenburg. Try the Valluga run, you need a mountain guide, but it is fantastic.

Room Tip: We took a superior quality room. i saw one of the single rooms, and it was pretty small, it would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivefatwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our family (grandparents, parents and 2 young children) have been enjoying Hotel Sonnenburg for the past 4 years. Its great location, with direct piste access and proximity to ski school & kinder club, the quality of service and its family friendly facilities will keep us going back. Of course, this all comes at a price!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#10 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
251 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#18 of 53 in Lech
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#27 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tannbergerhof
Hotel Tannbergerhof
#20 of 53 in Lech
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#34 of 53 in Lech
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenburg

Address: Oberlech 55, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Lech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Price Range: £200 - £1,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Superior Hotel Sonnenburg is located in the most popular place in the Arlberg region: in the heart of (Ober)Lech am Arlberg, right next to the ski slope. This family hotel is well-known for its welcoming staff with their talents for foreign languages. This is just the right hotel for a family holiday, with the ski slope right in front of the ski room, ski school opposite the hotel and the practice slope and kids’ slope right next door. Culinarily, you can enjoy over 200 products at the breakfast buffet, a six course meal in the evening, crêpes, fondue, great steaks and much more. Get in touch with the Sonnenburg team – you will love this hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing