We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Going Home”
Review of Hotel Haldenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haldenhof
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have travelled a great deal, and in Austria for the last 50 years. To return to the Haldenhof is like going home: one is wrapped in a place of smiles, kindness and - not too strong a term - love. To be here is to be with friends who want the best for you at all times. Michael and Claudia lead a team who feel like extensions of the family, not simply doing what would count as excellent service, but looking always for the little extras in service that goes beyond the expected. There is a sense of joy among the staff.Food is always excellent and the breakfast buffet splendidly varied.

What are the superlatives for superlatives? I look forward already to my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel somewhat tired after a two day drive from the UK and were immediately welcomed by Lilli who escorted us to our room and assisted us with our luggage, before offering us complimentary drinks. They say first impressions are important, and certainly we were very impressed with our welcome and our room (upgraded from superior to junior suite).

Throughout our stay we continued to receive excellent friendly service from the owners and all the staff, who seemed to genuinely care that we had a wonderful holiday, which we certainly did.

Food, both at the breakfast buffet and evening meal was always excellent and plentiful.

Facilities throughout the hotel were also excellent, including the spa area, lounge bar and downstairs, boot/clothes drying rooms.

On reflection, after returning home, we can honestly say that this is one of the very best hotels we have stayed at in over 35 years of travelling throughout Europe and further afield. During this period we have never once returned to the same hotel as we have always preferred to explore new areas / countries, however, for the first time, we are both determined that we shall return to the Haldenhof.

Many thanks to Michael and his team for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family recently stayed at the Hotel Haldenhof in Lech for 3 days. We splurged and reserved 2 of their junior suites for our family. This is a first class hotel, with wonderful rooms, excellent staff and service and the restaurant was delicious.

Upon check-in we were offered cappuccinos, and cake in our rooms while the staff brought our luggage to our rooms. It was a wonderful treat since we had driven 6 hours from Italy to Lech over the winding mountains. Overall, the staff at this hotel is just wonderful. I've stayed at hotels all over the world and have never encountered staff so friendly and helpful.

The rooms were beautiful with amenities such as robes, balconies looking over the Alps, and bathtubs. We had a suite so a sitting room was available with a couch and it gave us extra room.

The rate included both breakfast and dinner which made it easy for us because we didn't have to look for a restaurant. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive with meats, cheeses, breads, jams, oatmeal, and fruit. I also saw them scramble eggs for several tables upon request. The dinner menu is limited to 2 choices, a meat or vegetarian. Both evenings we had wonderful meals and they have quite an extensive salad buffet as a starter to the meal.

The lounge is beautifully decorated where we enjoyed evenings of after dinner cocktails. They also had a nice small patio that was well landscaped. Although our visit was in July, the weather was rainy or cool so we did not enjoy the patio.

We also enjoyed using the cable cars to the top of the mountains so we could hike and admire the views. Lech is situated in the Austrian Alps and it was beautiful when it wasn't foggy or raining. This destination is really about the outside and if the weather is bad it could make is disappointing.

I would highly recommend this hotel if Lech is your destination!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I really enjoyed my 4 night stay at this hotel. The meals were delicious. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and professional. Owner Michael has one goal - to make sure you have a great time in the hotel and when you go out. He is never short on ideas of things to do in the area and it is always done with care and a smile. All other staff were great as well. I just wish the weather had been nicer when I was there....Nothing Familie Schwaerzler could do about that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JResnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here over easter, all three generations, the oldest 72 and the youngest 7. The rooms couldn't be faulted and the staff/family that run the hotel were attentive and gave first class service. Even the slight lack of snow couldn't put a damper on this great little hotel. My son loved the wall decorations and we all loved the food and the comfortable family atmosphere. Now don't get me wrong! It is quite sophisticated. The food was excellent and the service perfect. However the sophistication was tempered by the warmth and care that the family have for the place and there was a genuine atmosphere of love for their hotel and area.

We loved it so much we are hoping to come back this winter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Inhaber at Hotel Haldenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,
thank you very much for taking the time to sit down and give us such a great Feedback -
it was a pleasure and we look forward having you back again.

Michael, Claudia Schwärzler & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This would be better kept a secret but I can’t be that selfish. On a fluke we found Hotel Haldenhof and the wonderful Schwarzler family. The family includes their extended family of employees and it shows they’re considered as such. The hotel itself reflects the loving care and attention of a first class property but add to that a dedicated, friendly and obviously devoted staff and expectations are exceeded. We were lucky to enjoy 5 days of spring weather, great snow and the relaxed pampering we received at the Haldenhof. We didn’t want to leave & we’re planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Inhaber at Hotel Haldenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,

thank you for giving us this great feed back and your recommendation.

Michael Schwärzler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I could write about the excellent location of the Haldenhof hotel - close to all the ski lifts and village amenities. I could write about the spacious room, balcony with a splendid view over the mountains or the newly refurbished bathrooms. That's not to mention the quiet location which guaranteed an uninterrupted night's sleep. Or maybe I could add some words about the 5 course dinner, which always impressed - in particular the prime cut of beef served with a perfect piece of potato dauphinoise.

But the real star of the show here is the staff. Whether it's the friendly, nothing is too much trouble attitude of those on reception or the warm, friendly and welcoming nature of those in the dining room - it's the staff at the Haldenhof which really elevate it into something special. The same staff add the little touches, which make it all so much better. For example on Easter Sunday we were very happy to find a Lindt chocolate bunny at our table for breakfast. Later that evening there was complementary bubbly before dinner.

The downstairs has a spa area, which has some nice loungers to relax in. There's a small vitality pool and a range of sauna and steam rooms. This area can get busy with folk coming in to recharge after a day's skiiing - but we found it pleasant enough.

The Haldenhof is a family run hotel with a focus on people. They're obviously careful to pick only staff which fit the ethos. And choose good staff they do very well!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very quiet, so I don't think room choice is so important here - we never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Haldenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,

in the name of the entire crew of Haldenhof - Thank you!
Sorry for being a little late in responding as may is always
"Holiday period" after the winter here in Lech.

Now we are preparing for the start into the new summer on 20th June.

Dilek,
Monika, Alberto, David, Andrea, Istvan, Georg, Angelika, Andre, Josef, Raza, Stani, Claudia M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 53 in Lech
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#10 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#27 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#24 of 53 in Lech
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haldenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haldenhof

Address: Tannberg 347 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#1 Green Hotel in Lech
#2 Family Hotel in Lech
#4 Spa Hotel in Lech
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range: £148 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haldenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE WHAT YOU NEED RIGHT NOW: PURE RELAXATION ... The Schwarzler family would like to warmly welcome you to the Haldenhof in Lech am Arlberg! Experience and enjoy to the full an unsurpassable holiday with us at our world famous holiday village of Lech. If you want just a little MORE OF EVERYTHING then you are at the right place with us at the Haldenhof hotel. We look forward to making your stay here in Lech unforgettable ... See you soon at Haldenhof! The Schwarzler family and the Haldenhof-Team NEW: - HALDENHOF e-Mountainbike & e-Touring-Bike FREE RENTAL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Haldenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haldenhof Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing