We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elisabeth
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff at Hotel Elisabeth are outstanding - every one of them went out of their way to make us feel welcome. There was a mix up with our booking (which I think was our agent's fault rather than the hotel's) and when I mentioned it we were shown another room immediately and offered help to move at no extra cost. The second room was much nicer - rooms do vary. This is not a modern, designer hotel and yes, some of the rooms are a bit dark, and the wifi is patchy. So if you want cutting edge, stay elsewhere. If however you want really warm, friendly service, with good food and a lively, friendly atmosphere (by the end of the week pretty much all of the guests - of various nationalities - were chatting with each other which is pretty rare!) in a quiet but very accessible location, then the Elisabeth is for you. They looked after my food allergy very well, and on our last night the waitress I think could tell that we weren't overwhelmed with the dinner options. We said it was fine but she asked again, and persevered until we overcame our British reserve and admitted we'd prefer something else. We got a fantastic steak, perfectly cooked, and a great way to finish off our holiday. You are a few minutes' walk from the lifts, but if you are renting skis and use the hotel's recommended hire shop you can store skis and boots at the base so it really isn't an inconvenience. Thanks to all at the Elisabeth for a really fantastic holiday in Lech!

Room Tip: Room 25 is very small (particularly the bathroom). Room 26 (which we moved to) is much better. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is listed in crystal brochure as the finest, no idea who comes up with this rating as the hotel is 3 star only in my opinion.
The staff are excellent and do a fantastic job and were a pleasure to meet.
However rooms are dark and dated, wellness is really basic and pool freezing! Basically a large stainless steel tub in an underground bunker.
The food was the big disappointment with a strange mixture of courses which do not go together - fondue evening consisted of raw meat which you boil yourself in a copper pot! Very odd.
However we did ask for something different to the menu on a few occasions and these meals were fantastic - so the chef can obviously cook.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from a week's skiing staying at this family run hotel. The transfer coach was delayed by heavy snow and on arriving at least one hour later than expected we were assisted with our cases, met by Marion Gafgo, the daughter of Elisabeth who built the hotel and were served a wonderful evening meal.

The bedroom was graded "Comfort" a very large twin bedded room with separate bath and loo. Traditional Austrian styling, with an area for the TV and seating. House keeping was excellent with the room being made up each day and the bedding turned down each evening.

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, including allowing my son to move to a separate room for a proper night's sleep. Dad snoring too much allegedly!

The quality of the breakfast was excellent with a full range of cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats and freshly cooked to order a choice of boiled eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs or omelettes. Evening meal was equally good with salad to start followed by 4 / 5 courses for those wanting cheese. On the first evening the choice included a number of Austrian canapés to go with the starter.

Two locations for drinks, by the dining room or in the cellar. Again excellent service, with snacks being freely available.

The facilities included the most efficient boot room, with the best dryers for gloves and boots. The Wellbeing centre was added bonus with a sensible size swimming pool, sauna, steam room and relaxing area.

The location of the hotel was equally good, only a short walk to the centre of the village and the ski lifts.

Would I go again and could I recommend the hotel, the answer is a firm yes. Look forward to returning next year and this time take the entire family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one night in mid July 2013 7 Bikers. The Hotel is very clean, in a beautiful location the staff were really helpful and friendly the food was great and it was not expensive, i would stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: the river outside can be a little noisy so close the window in the summer if you are too warm this c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundiver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

It was my first visit to Lech after visiting the french alps for the last four years, so had a very different experience in a small Austrian village. Hotel Elisabeth was in a brilliant location just a 5 minuet walk into the town, excellent for hitting the slopes early in the morning and close enough to reach the limited evening entertainment. The staff were outstanding, they were friendly and could not be more helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The food was good, with different meals each night with a salad bar option. Breakfast offered a continental buffet option as well as hot breakfast available.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just had our 2nd visit to the Elisabeth and the service and food were again excellent.
Marion the owner seems to be on duty every day.
6 course evening meals and a buffet breakfast with omelets, eggs and bacon etc at no additional charge. Staff always helpful for any extra requirement such as lift tickets etc. and a special mention for Felix with his Austrian wine recommendations.
Stayed in room A1, a spacious double overlooking the stream outside.
Just 200 yards to the main ski lifts in the village but there are storage facilities at the ski shops near the lifts.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Enjoyed the stay with some reservations.

Modern, convenient, friendly hotel but its excellent reviews are over generous and a few issues should be addressed.

Double bedroom was spacious, functional, quiet and warm but some of the furniture looked ready to be replaced. Bed linen was not changed until we asked after 4 days. So so quality bathroom toiletries and a shower cap was only provided on request. Bathroom could have been cleaned better. Wifi did not function properly in the rooms but there was a good connection in the lounge.

Dinners were satisfactory but not great with the emphasis more on quantity than quality. Desserts were generally ordinary. Breakfast was good but was very unimpressed to be charged extra for cappucinos without any warning. This is mean! Afternoon tea and coffee is available but not complimentary; there was no cake but biscuits are served.

There is a small spa and pool.

Service was always very friendly and helpful.

Overall it felt like a 3.5 star hotel and not a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#9 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#5 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#13 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elisabeth

Property: Hotel Elisabeth
Address: No 285 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing