We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gotthard
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary spending 5 days in Lech, at this fantastic hotel that had been recommended to us by friends. We travelled from the UK to Memmingen in Germany, which is less than 2 hours by car to Lech. From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast, followed by a guided hike every day. Then returning to be pampered in the spa area, and a 5 course dinner.
We had 4 hikes, with English-speaking local guide, Brian. Our hikes were varied from gentle river-side walks, to high mountain trails; and are free.
Everything was great, in a very relaxing and very friendly atmosphere.
Our friends have been here several times in the winter season. But we strongly recommend you try the summer hiking here too.
J+J from Scotland

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14alexpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you very much for your reveiw. We are happy that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us in the Gotthard.
It was a pleasure for us and we also really enjoy the summer/autumn in Lech. My personal highlight is also the mountain breakfast in Pätzül.
We hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Hotel Gotthard is one the best hotels in an already fabulous mountain town of Lech. The hosts ( Nocole and Clemens) are really welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable. The hotel, or part of it, has been refurbished this year, so everything is new. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and the service and amenities in the hotel are excellent. The food is superb, and one special treat is the breakfast at Clemens private cottage in the mountain with the breathtaking views. We've been to Lech before in winter and for the first time this year in the summer time, and once again the hotel really feels like a luxurious home away from home in the stunning ski resort of Lech.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arch_adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Inhaber at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you so much for your reveiw. One of my favourite jobs in the hotel is the mountain breakfast. It is also an experience for us every week. I am glad every one enjoys it. We hope to see you again in the Gotthard, winter or summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

From our arrival till the departure we had been pampered and impressed by the luxurious rooms, the opulent and meticulous designed, cosy interieur, the relaxing spa area, the delicious and luscious meals, the warm and appropriate hospitality of the team and various extra services for guests (e.g, free bike rental, newspaper service, hiking equipment, tour guide, etc.). We had been amazed repeatedly and our expectations (1st time stay) had been outranged. The innovative short-stay packages (during off-season) offer a full service package at reasonable prices. The diminishing number of guests itensified our feeling of being welcomed. Wish to get back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back profit from the relaxing and continuous noise of the stream and the view on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LechLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Inhaber at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your reveiw. We are happy to hear your 1st experience in the Gotthard was a positive one. We thank you for sharing your experience with others and hope to welcome you again for a 2nd stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We travelled through France, Spain, Italy then arrived in Austria. Our weeks stay at the Hotel Gotthardt was one of the highlights of our journey. From our warm welcome by the owners Clemens and Nicole Walch and the helpful staff who couldn't do enough to accommodate us, to the amazing views from our spacious balcony room and the delicious variety of produce and freshly baked breads for breakfast, we were extremely impressed ! The Hotel is ideally situated, close to ski lifts, cable cars, shops and we enjoyed many leisurely lunches in the family bakery attached to the hotel.
Clemens guided us on a morning hike up to their cabin nestled among the snow capped mountains where we were rewarded with an impressive spread prepared for our breakfast by Nicole and her staff. Not being much of hikers we were initially hesitant but the experience was invigorating and well worth the effort! The huge indoor pool and wellness room are immaculately kept and were an added pleasure to our stay. We have nothing negative to say about this quaint family-run Hotel, only 'thanks' for all you did to make our holiday so amazing !!!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We spent a week here in March for our skiing break. The hotel was spotlessly clean, warm (a little too warm) and very welcoming. The four course dinner menu changed daily and always included a vegetarian option. The breakfast buffet was amazing - so much choice and the best array of breads we have ever seen. The staff were polite, informative, helpful and friendly.

The hotel is situated close to the ski lifts (less than five minute walk), shops, bars and restaurants. Yet far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. The family also have a wonderful bakery and cafe attached to the hotel.

Highly recommended, we are considering a spring/summer break there in the future as Lech itself is a lovely "Dorf" and great for walking in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Gotthard is our favourite hotel we have stayed here 5 years in a row & are booked for 2013, looking forward to our return already! Our whole family love it (21yr old, 18 yr old & a 13yr old). This year our family room had been refurbished to the highest standard, beautiful fabrics (Designer Guild), the bathroom & toilet very tasteful with a fantastic shower, we just wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lech.

The staff speak good English & are very welcoming. Nicole & Clements the owners are very hands on & can be seen working about the hotel most days.

We stay B&B taking advantage of the very flexible HB arrangement - just make sure if you want to eat in hotel you book in advance at reception.

The pool & spa area are beautiful & well maintained there is also a small gym. Free WiFi is available in your room just ask for code at reception. I can't think of anything I would change in this hotel but if I was really pushed maybe a kettle in the room would be good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella10262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel met or exceeded all our expectations. It is situated about 3 minutes walk from the cable car station and 5/6 minutes from chairlift; also the bus stop is directly outside the hotel for connection with Zurs, St Anton and Stuben.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The food was superb at breakfast and Dinner. Our double room was very clean and spacious although the bathroom was rather small as mentioned in an earlier review. Our balcony faced south west and enjoyed lovely afternoon sunshine.
Would not hesitate to recommend and will certainly return.

Room Tip: If travelling in Spring time be sure to ask for a sunny aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 53 in Lech
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#23 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#5 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#25 of 53 in Lech
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard

Address: Omesberg 119, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lech
#6 Spa Hotel in Lech
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#9 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range: £131 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Gotthard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at the Hotel Gotthard is really something to look forward to: just step outside and you'll find yourself in the middle of our wonderful Lech summer or winter. And everything you need is just a stone's throw away - lifts, boutiques, shops, restaurants and bars. All within a few minutes' walk. We're there for you from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. On coming through the door, an atmosphere of peace and relaxation greets you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotthard Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing