We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lech hotel”
Review of Hotel Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gotthard
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Gotthard. The rooms are traditional in style but also have some lovely decorative touches and the rest of the hotel is charming and stylish. The facilities are excellent and the staff are professional and friendly, a standard set by the owners and maintained by all the staff members. The breakfast is excellent and with its own bakery the bread and pastries are particularly good. The food and service in the a la carte restaurant is also really good. The hotel is situated in town but a couple of hundred metres from the main area so it perfectly located - the town and skiing are also great by the way. Couple of tips - don't miss the opportunity to try owner Clemens' cured ham, which we could have eaten by the case-load, if there is a "welcome evening" in the bar; also the "Austria" cocktail, which is essentially an alcoholic strawberry milkshake that we had too many off. In short a lovely place and we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is our third year to the Hotel- mostly twice in the winterseason -
What places it on the top shelf are not only the facilities -but the people who will wellcome you
Everyone is helpfull and happy to help.
The legendary breakfast -( till 11.45 am ) is a real bonus. -No worries if you want to sleep in or ski early.
Nicolle and Clemens have a slogan - we are Friends- we are Family -and that is how you feel-part of a Family that enjoys caring for you.
Just come back and booked again for March- can't wait !
H.Konrad and Lynn Mosser

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed here many times and you can be assured of a warm welcome.
The hotel is family run, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
It is excellently situated for the ski slopes, lifts and village amenities.
The rooms are attractively furnished and retain their Alpine charm.
Breakfast at the Gotthard is an experiance in itself - the restaurant is excellent too.
The Coffee shop must be visited to enjoy the delicious cakes an pastries.
A fab holiday - well done 'Team Walch'

Room Tip: You can always contact the hotel to discuss your preferences. They are very understanding and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N W, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review from our house. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcome you again next year.
Best wishes from us all at the Gotthard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had a wonderful pre Christmas holiday here with friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble (everything from suggesting outings and restaurants to posting scattered belongings)! It is a perfect base for skiers and non skiers alike as its central location gives easy access to all that Lech has to offer. Very comfortable rooms, and cosy welcoming bar and communal areas.As the family's bakery is on-site all the breads and cakes are to die for. The spacious swimming pool and spa area is beautifully designed - airy and immaculate. Manages to be child friendly without being child-centric, so everyone can enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N W, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you felt at home during your stay with us in December. We also enjoy our products out of the bakery cafe.
We hope to welcome you and your family again in the Gotthard.
Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in the Gotthard in January 2013. The hotel has a family atmosphere and the staff and the owners are all very nice and welcoming. The breakfast buffet is great, in particular the bread and cake selection due to the attached bakery. We wouldn't recommend half board but rather B&B. The food is provided by the attached restaurant but is served in a rather uninspiring room. Also Lech offers so many dining options that it is good fun to check out other places (Schneggarei etc).
The spa is great and the rooms are very nice. But avoid the rooms facing the street since it is noisy when the window is open.
We had a dog with us and the hotel had confirmed that dogs are welcome. However, upon arrival we had to learn that the dog couldn't sleep in the dog-owner's room (my mum) since dogs are only allowed in one floor of the hotel. There was no flexibility whatsoever to change rooms such that the dog had to sleep with us who happened to have a room on the "dogs floor". This was a bad start to our holiday and caused quite some disappointment to my mum. Despite that they charged us €20 per night for the dog.
We think this is something which should have been highlighted to us upon booking, since, had we know this, we would not have stayed at the Gotthard.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your holiday even though you had a bad start.
We are a dog friendly hotel but only allow dogs on the 1st floor on request. Unfortunately we were not flexible as all our rooms were fully booked and rooms were all occupied. Had we had a room free we would have moved your mother into a room suitable for dogs. We have learnt from this and now ask if more than 1 room is booked. We have many guests with allergies, fears or small children and have only a limited amount of rooms avalible for dogs.
I agree that Lech has many great restaurants, our reception can offer good recommendations. We have 2 possabilities to eat in the hotel. The half board is in the dining room but we also have a very good a la carte at the front called the Lecher Stube.
I hope you all had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcome you again in the Gotthard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

As you would expect of Lech a top quality hotel and you get what you pay for. A comfortable modern room, tastefully redecorated. A great spa area and swimming pools in the basement which were empty most evenings we used them. We stayed half board. The breakfast is great as the hotel is also the village bakery and the evening meal was pretty good too. Some very tasteful dishes (but a couple of misses too over the course of the whole week). We had some issues with the room temperature which they did seem that bothered by but it didn't really dimish our stay.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bezzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Owner at Hotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you so much for your reveiw. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very cold in January12 and it was a little difficult to find a "happy medium" with the room temperature. If you let us know on your arrival by your next stay with us if you would prefer a thin or a thicker quilt.
We look forward to welcome you again in the Gotthard.
Best Wishes,
Family Walch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Had an incredible visit to this hotel in September. Such a lovely place with a room that was immediately comfortable & relaxing. Little details like the hooks to hang your hiking stuff & a bath that was laid out perfectly. Loved the food especially the BREAD! Charming service. And an iPhone dock & wifi that worked perfectly. Can't wait to return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mason525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#12 of 53 in Lech
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#26 of 53 in Lech
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#5 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#24 of 53 in Lech
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard

Address: Omesberg 119, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lech
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#6 Spa Hotel in Lech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#9 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range: £132 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Gotthard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at the Hotel Gotthard is really something to look forward to: just step outside and you'll find yourself in the middle of our wonderful Lech summer or winter. And everything you need is just a stone's throw away - lifts, boutiques, shops, restaurants and bars. All within a few minutes' walk. We're there for you from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. On coming through the door, an atmosphere of peace and relaxation greets you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotthard Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing