We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Austrian Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Austrian Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here in the penultimate week of the ski season 2014. We have gone to Lech for around 8 years now every year and we all agreed that the hotel Monzabon was the best hotel we had stayed in in Lech. The staff were all so friendly and kind, and the rooms were charming and very Austrian! The hotel had an incredible spa, with two steam rooms and two saunas and a small pool. It is in a prime location, right next to the first lift so is very easy to get to. Although we didn't get a chance to use it, there is also a small ice rink next to the hotel which looked like a great aprés ski activity! My one fault would be the food. At supper, there were five courses, and they all were not generous, and very fancy. I felt the food was far too 'try hard' after a full day's skiing, and sometimes, wasn't even that enjoyable. The breakfast however was a delightful buffet with cereals, full English breakfast and sometimes even pancakes! Overall, I would highly recommend this charming Austrian hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mangolovesbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and found this perhaps the best skiing hotel out of maybe 25 we have used over the years. Friendly and helpful reception and other staff, free parking in garage in the basement, plenty of space in the ski room with heated lockers. The hotel is under 100m from two chair lifts, and 150m from the cable car, and you can ski back almost to the back door. The restaurant had set meals but there were 2 or 3 choices for each course, and one could have 5 or 6 courses, so we were pretty happy with this. One or two items in the week weren't entirely to our liking, but overall quality was very good, and service was good too with a resonable wine list. Breakfast buffet was also extremely good. We had paid for a room upgrade, and this was very large and comfortable; the view from the window was mainly of other buildings in the town, but we could see some snowly slopes and lifts, so fair enough. Wifi was free and though described as limited to 4 hours/day, we found it was always available and fast enough, without having to buy an upgrade. We found the skiing around Lech also good, thanks partly to the almost perfect weather that week, so overall we had an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed 5 nights and I must say the service is unsurpassed in warmth and friendliness. The staff greet you by name and are always accommodating to our requests. The room is clean and large with a separate sitting area. Ours even had a balcony overlooking the main street. The hotel is located next the the 5-star Alberg hotel and the ski room is just 50m from the Schlegelkopf base lifts. The ski rental shop Sportalp is in the same building as the hotel. They also provide excellent service and equipment is good. Walk 1 min across the river and you're in the midst of town. The Rufikof cable car is just across the road if you want to ski the famous Weiss (white) Ring of Lech. The free Lech bus to Rauze Alp (bus no 3) stops along the main road in front of the hotel. This bus takes 20mins to bring you to the St Anton area which is covered in the ski pass. However, this year, the warm spring weather turns the return blue slopes into mogul fields which can be trying for a beginner or even an intermediate skier to get down.

The breakfast has a huge spread of cold cuts, cereals, breads, fruits, different teas, coffees and freshly prepared eggs of your choice. Tea time after a hard days skiing is a must with choice of a huge slice of delicious cake or strudel but drinks are chargeable but cake is included in half board (this is standard practice in most hotels in Lech I believe). Dinner is a 5 course with a buffet salad followed by 2 choices of appetizer, soup, mains, desert, cheese and bread. The chef tries for fine dining with prettily decorated dishes worthy of some Michelin star restaurants. I found the portions enough but those with large appetites may find the portions a little small. However, cheese, bread and salad are free flow. The waiters are always friendly and prompt and there is even one waiter who has worked there for more than 20 seasons!

One drawback of being right next to the main road is noise. The après ski crowd is at the nearby Krone and Tannbergerhof can be noisy but tends to quieten down by 7pm. Occasional noise can be heard from the main road at night if the window is open. A room in the Monzabon part of the hotel rather than the Jagdhaus part may be quieter. Also the Jagdhaus part is linked to the main building by a short underground tunnel.

What sets this hotel apart is the warmth of the hosts, the family Schneider and the level of attention each and every staff provides to the guest. I have never been so pampered before at a hotel. They make you feel like family and even give you a discount if you would return to them. To add icing to the cake, the location is unbeatable and the food is superb. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the Monzabon part of the hotel, it may be quieter. But if you want a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I cannot fault anything about the monzabon hotel. So close to the lifts - can ski in and out. Rooms are spacious and clean. All the staff, from the owner to the chambermaids are so friendly and helpful. Free wifi included. We stayed with 2 kids who had their own interlead ing room. Then there's the restaurant! Dinner is included in the room rate and the dinners can rival most Michelin star meals. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Lech and hope I may have the privilege to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Our family, stayed in the Monzabon on our first visit to Lech and really enjoyed it. Our two kids 10 and 7, had an adjoining room connected via a small lobby making it more like an apartment which suited us well. The rooms were clean and warm, with wireless internet and some english tv channels. Breakfast was great and the dinner menu on the half-board package was very nice - although the portions were a little small after a full day on the slopes. While not exactly ski-in/out, he ski room is a very short distance, perhaps 50m, to the lifts and ski school meeting point and there is an equipment hire shop next door. From there its only 2 mins walk to the apres-ski bars on the main street so its hard to imagine a better location. What stood out to us was the warmth of the welcome from Wilifred and his family and the friendliness and quality of service from everyone in the hotel. They all had a kind word and sorted out any issue we had very efficiently. Not the flashiest hotel in town perhaps but a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have really enjoyed our stay at this fabulous hotel. Food and drinks, rooms and location, bar and SPA - everythig deserves the highest rate. We satyed with kids - 7 and 2 years old and the atsff was really extremly frendly and attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

Ideally located, the Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon is metres away from the bottom of the slope and close to 2 lifts (Schlegelkopf I and II). Food and service were great and all the staff were extremely friendly. The spa area is particularly noteworthy - with a smal gymnasium, relaxation area, 2 saunas and steam rooms. Very comfortable bar/lounge area and we had a great view over the river and the main road of Lech room our room. The hotel also has an ice rink but, I must admit that, after a long day ski-ing ice skating was the last thing on our minds. Lech is great for ski-ing but, unfortunately for us, the sky was pretty grey during the week and, as a result, the flat light spoiled the ski-ing a little - and also caused a few tumbles from not being able to see the bumps!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#6 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#9 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon

Property: Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon
Address: Tannberg 228, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#4 Spa Hotel in Lech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday at the Hotel Monzabon Enjoy tradition and our service and drop the daily stress ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagdhaus Monzabon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing