We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel -- from repeat customers!”
Review of Hotel Sandhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sandhof
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel -- from repeat customers!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Each year we join a small group of friends (3 to 5 other couples) from around Europe for a week of skiing in Lech/St Anton. Our group tried a couple of other hotels in Lech before switching to the Sandhof on the recommendation of a friend. We have since returned for each of the past five years for a consistently excellent week-long stay at the Sandhof.

The Sandhof's rooms are stylishly-designed, some in a “modern Austrian” style and others in a “traditional” – though contemporary – alpine style. All the bedrooms are spacious, with more than ample storage space for all our ski gear; the bathrooms are well laid out with ample showers or baths, good shelf space for toiletries, etc. There is an endless supply of hot water – essential at the end of a day on the mountain. The bedrooms are cozy on even the coldest winter days, while the windows and external doors tilt for those of us who like the ventilation at night. The hotel is quiet, inside and out. Only rarely over the years have we heard late night revelers making their way through the streets. Internet reception is good in the rooms, as well as throughout the common areas. Cleanliness standards are high.

We're not normally ones for hotel lobbies but the Sandhof's lobby and bar area is appealing. Our group regularly gathers there for an afternoon or post-dinner libation. Similarly, there is a spa facility in the hotel which gets high marks from those among us who use the facility; massage sessions can be arranged.

The staff is friendly and attentive. The capable owner, Martin, is personally involved in the hotel's operations at all times. The chef and head waiter are long term employees who deliver a quality restaurant experience. The menus are creative, fresh and well-proportioned. An array of well-selected wines are on offer, including many from Austria. We know the restaurant to be responsive to individual preferences, accommodating vegetarians, fussy eaters and even our Italian friends who believe no one but Italians know how to make a coffee. We're late diners and have never felt rushed in the process.

The Sandhof is well located in Lech, approximately a 5 minute walk to the base of the main ski lifts but out of the fray of the shops and outdoor bars. The free-bus to the St. Anton ski area stops near to the hotel; the cable car to Oberlech is close by. And the slope under the Schlosskopf chairlift enables you to ski to within 50 meters of the hotel at day's end.

In short, the Sandhof is a delightful, family-owned hotel, perfect for a mountain holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr.Martin, Inhaber at Hotel Sandhof, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your great review.
We are very happy to have you as our guests - and we are looking forward to see you all next year again - we will fill up our wine seller :) with some more nice wines.
Martin Prodinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel Sandhof is a fantastic hotel with wonderful and very personal ser vice. The fact that the owner family is engaged on a day to day basis in the operation and services of the hotel provides anambience and coosy feeling as well as fantastic service!

Room Tip: Most rooms have been recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jörgen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pr.Martin, Inhaber at Hotel Sandhof, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first experience skiing in Austria. The Lech is an amazing resort and the Hotel Sandhof was the perfect place for us. The location is perfect, almost right across the street from the tram to Oberlech. Very short walk into the town center. The church is almost right next store and we enjoyed listening to the church bells. The service was very good. Sandra at the front desk took care of all of our restaurant suggestions and reservations. It was a very busy week and she somehow got us into restaurants during the times we requested. We did the half board, and the breakfast was very good. We did eat at the hotel one night and the service and food were fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laarne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, very warm atmosphere! Nice meals and a good wineselection. The skiing- infrastructure in Lech was not really what we expected as it was a little outdated but it has a certain authenticity which we liked.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blue74Laarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Great place for a ski vacations. The hotel is completely renovated. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Wonderful steam, saunna and spa area. Not for children. Food is thoughtfully prepared. Ski lifts are very close to hotel. Staff extremely helpful. Owner tries to please.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Our fourth visit and this hotel keeps on improving. Excellent rooms, delicious food, charming staff at an obviously family run hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Well, first things first. We stayed in this lovely hotel at peak season (Jan 1st to Jan 7th 2012) and therefore expected to pay a premium price. Initial impressions were underwhelming in truth. The reception and immediate lounge area in the hotel didn't "fit" with what I had been expecting for the price bracket we had paid (peak season or not) and couldn't compare to the luxury experienced in those hotels of equal cost, in Courcheval for example, despite general belief that France was an overall considerably more expensive ski destination than Austria (although I do acknowledge that Lech is pretty much up there as one of Austria's most expensive/up market ski resorts and therefore take this into account here).

However..

Martin was on hand and his pleasant manner was very reassuring, booking us in quickly and efficiently. We had been advised that, due to our late booking, we would be spending the first night in a different room to the remaining 5 nights. I was very thankful of this fact as this first room, despite being a junior suite, was a real disappointment for the money paid and looked more like a glorified B&B room than that expected of a 4 star hotel. If we had to remain in that room for the duration of our trip, I would have been exceptionally disappointed.

As it turned out, the efficient staff moved our bags the next morning as we hit the slopes and we returned to a much bigger, brighter, more modern luxury room, with a lovely bathroom, good balcony and comfortable seating area/couch.

Dinner: we took a half board option and this was a very good decision; the food in the Sandhof is superb! Each night the small, intimate menu presented us with a artisan culinary experience of significant delight, matched to a lovely selection of reasonably priced wines. We had two children (staying in a luxury room also) one of which was a fussy eater but this proved no problem to the (extremely courteous and professional) Horst, our restaurant manager each evening, who offered my son a far more simple choice on those evenings when the menu was a touch "creative" for him!

Horst and his team (Claudia & Julia?) were extremely gracious each evening and it was one of the highlights of our week to stroll down to dinner every night at 8.00 to experience their wonderful service, thank you guys, it was a real pleasure.

One final aspect of the hotel worth mentioning was the sauna area; yes, it is small, but we found it to be perfectly acceptable for our needs - it was never crowded (albeit, it more than 8 people arrived together, it would present problems) and was a great relaxant following a day on the slopes.

Overall, I was very satisfied with Sandhof - the room was nice, the bed comfortable (could have done with a more accessible radiator system to allow us dry our ski clothes), the staff VERY professional and friendly, the food excellent and it's proximity to the main gondola - (approximately 70 meters walk) - ideal (the ski room was perfectly located and never too busy...put on your boots, grab your skis, up the side stairs and you're at the gondola in about 90 seconds...I usually go for ski in ski out but this was a perfectly good alternative).

I'd drop that one star simply because of the price...good as the hotel was, I felt it was just a tiny bit too expensive for the overall package and again, it could be Lech and the general high price of the resort, but if I were to compare it to the 4 star hotel we stayed in at Courcheval 1650 last year, which was pretty much the same price we paid for Sandhof, I'd be giving the French hotel the edge as offering better value and a better experience overall.

But if you want to stay in Lech then you're not going to be disappointed, this is a really nice hotel - thanks for a lovely week Sandhof!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the junior suite (perhaps there are other junior suites which have already been upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evokative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#2 of 52 in Lech
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#5 of 52 in Lech
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandhof

Property: Hotel Sandhof
Address: Dorf 124 | 6764 Lech, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#4 Spa Hotel in Lech
#7 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sandhof 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istory of the 4-star Hotel Sandhof in Lech The Prodinger family decided to build a private house with a small bed and breakfast for guests in 1930, laying the foundations for Hotel Sandhof. The increasing popularity of the Arlberg ski region ensured that the initially small business thrived and prospered, delighting guests from all over the world as a cosy 4-star hotel on the Arlberg today. Hotel Sandhof philosophy: Guests become friends! Fun, enjoyment and recovery come first at the 4-star Hotel Sandhof. Leave everyday life and behind in the valley, and relax and enjoy life on the Arlberg. Recharge your batteries for all tasks waiting for you after you holiday in the dapper Sandhof ambiance and joyful atmosphere. Cosy 4-star Hotel Sandhof: perfect for families Children, parents, grandparents and friends: To us, they all are part of the big Sandhof family! Families with children are just as welcome as singles, couples or best friends. The personal contact with our guests is very important to us - and we are looking forward to welcoming you as friends here with us again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sandhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhof Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing