We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Berg
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Goldener Berg is a hotel that tries very hard (and delivers). On arrival the delightful reception staff did not stay behind their desk but came out to shake hands and pour a welcome glass of sparkling wine. The food in the main restaurant is really excellent, with a thoroughly generous cheese board. Mrs Pfefferkorn comes round every evening to each table to speak. When we went to look at the spa the gentlemen behind the desk immediately showed us around. The beds are comfortable and the daily service very thorough. It is all very well run indeed.

Why not 5 stars for the review? Well, this is for two reasons. First, although we'd booked a suite we found our room to be quite small. To be fair the square footage is given in the brochure so there is full disclosure, but it is not always easy to translate figures to actual impression - and it was meant to be a suite so we just assumed more. The bedroom had enough room for a bed but with very little room around it and the sitting area was small with a low ceiling. Second, we felt the bar area lacked any atmosphere. Perhaps it was the guests who all just looked a bit grumpy in the bar, but we felt there was a lack of personality. One evening we walked down to the Berg Hotel and had a beer in the bar there, where the barman made an effort to have a chat and it seemed to have a bit more pzazz.

Things to note/be aware of:

- there is a ski hire shop at the local Berg hotel and they will deliver the skis to the hotel as well as collect at the end of the stay.

- the 'dine around' option is a bit strange because, contrary to our assumption that it meant going to other hotels, in fact it means dining in two of the separate restaurant areas within the hotel or popping across to the Alte Goldener Berg (on a set menu). The food is (as above) very good indeed and a lot of effort goes into it.

- the wine is pretty expensive.

All in all a very nice stay in Oberlech.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

A warm Hello from the Austrian Mountains!
Thank you so much for your entry on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read that our efforts of making you feel at home and comfortable were noticed and successful. It really is our highest goal, to make sure, all the wishes of our guests are noticed at once.
We are also happy to read, that you liked our kitchen.
We are sorry to read, that you felt the room was too small. Did you get a chance to look at some other rooms, as we do have rooms in all kinds of sizes.
Thank you also very much for your remark about the bar. There was a small problem we do have to admit, as our main bar keeper turned ill, very soon in the season and we then worked without this main bar keeper, who would have been there for you to make you feel as comfortable as possible! Sorry about this – I am sure in the next season, there will be someone very attentive and lovely at our bar again.
Again, thank you for taking your time to write! We would love to have you back – the next time in a bigger room – maybe “Schneewalzer” would be what you would like! In the meantime we send you our very best regards
Daniela Pfefferkorn &
the entire team of Goldener Berg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel from March, 4th to 11th, 2012! The room was very correct and perfectly clean. The restaurants ambiance and food were great. Best of all though was the service. Outstanding staff! Every staff member was very friendly, helpful and competent. We felt very welcome from the first day! True Austrian hospitality. I can definitely recommend this hotel in every aspect. Absolutely great for kids too! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantalm1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Hello from the Austrian Alps!
We thank you very much for your lovely words! Thank you so much! Also thank you for praising our service - this is really the most importand thing for us - that everybody feels cared for!
It was our great pleasure to have had you here and we are very much looking forward to have you back soon!
Thank you and all the best
Daniela Pfefferkorn & the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is absolutely great and more than perfect for skiing vacation.

Location
I don’t think you can find a better one for skiing in Oberlech or Lech: you just leave the ski-room, put on your skis or a board and here you are on the piste. Just read arrival instructions prior to your visit as Oberlech area can be reached only by a cable car (gondola) – no cars there, which is definitely a plus. Car parking is on the bottom of the cable car, so you can always reach it in 10 minutes.

Staff
The staff is very friendly and supportive – whatever we’ve asked about (helicopter skiing, guides/instructors, even flowers) – they helped with everything. We do travel a lot and it’s the most welcoming team I’ve ever met yet, really (great job, Daniela!)

Food
Though breakfasts are the same every day, the variety of food proposed is more than enough not to get tired of it. Their dinners are spectacular. If you pick half-board you’ll also be provided with a Dine Around option, which is ability to dine in one of 4 (or 6?) restaurants in Lech and Oberlech without additional costs (except the drinks for which you’ll have to pay everywhere.) So you can check out quite some venues around, which is not usually proposed by a regular half-board system.

Rooms
Rooms are very clean (the maid visits at least couple of times per day and always leaving some nice stuff in the evening – (don’t want to spoil the surprise, so will not expand on that)), nicely furnished and have almost everything that you may need (slippers, bathrobes, shampoo and even aroma sticks.) The only thing I missed was fan, so don’t forget to take it with you if you think that you may need it (though I’m sure that hotel team will help you with that as well.) Please note that single rooms are really for single use. Even though they say that those can be used by a single parent with a child or a young couple, I’d rather advise to pick double room then, but perhaps it’s my personal love for bigger space.

Spa
Free saunas, relaxation rooms, indoor pool and outdoor Jacuzzi is exactly what you need after skiing day. Massages are good and reasonably priced.
Overall me and my friends who’ve visited Lech for 3 to 5 times before are more than happy that we’ve chosen Goldener Berg and can’t wait to come back again in summer and – no doubt – in winter. I think that Goldener Berg will always be now our choice for Lech.. Otherwise it won’t be Lech :)

From spoilt Russians with love)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Hello from snowy Oberlech!
We thank you so much for your great appraisement! I had tears in my eyes by reading it – it is so lovely, if the work we all do, to make everybody as happy as possible is acknowledged! So thank you again!
I can only say: we cannot wait for you to return to Goldener Berg and yes – you do have to see it in summer – it is sooo lovely and there is so much you can do in summer!
Thank you and see you soon
Daniela Pfefferkorn and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit the Swarovski Crystal works while in Austria, so I booked a partner hotel listed on the the museums site, which happened to be the Goldener Berg. Little did I realize that the hotel was an hour and a half away. It turned out to be a happy mistake as the back roads that took us to the Goldener Berg were magnificent, with the green alps and small Austrian villages. The hotel itself was a bit tricky to find as out GPS had trouble with high altitudes. Once we located the hotel we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel comfortable and clean, and the views spectacular. We went in summer so there were very few guests and we didn't realize what time the restaurants closed, so we ended up showing up as they were closing. Instead of sending us away, the chef made a cold plate for us and we got to eat a romantic dinner alone in the restaurant. Neither the chef nor waited made a single complaint and were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was in a restaurant with a view of the entire valley and had a great selection. There were about a dozen guests in all and everyone was extremely friendly. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, but it was really the management and staff that made our experience so wonderful. Even the owner took time to stop and chat with us. You can't go wrong staying here as long as you don't mind a beautiful, but fairly long, drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012
Google Translation

Hallo aus dem derzeit schneebedeckten Oberlech!
Haben Sie ganz lieben Dank für Ihre Bewertung, über die wir uns freuen!
Ja, auch wir sind der Meinung, dass dieses Stückchen Österreich ein ganz besonderes ist und wir freuen uns, wenn auch unsere Gäste das so wahr nehmen.
Wir danken für die lieben Worte über unsere Mitarbeiter und das gute Service – dies ist uns ein großes Anliegen und eine große Freude, wenn Gäste sich so wohl bei uns fühlen!
So hoffen wir doch, Sie auch im kommenden Sommer wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen – wir hätten noch viele Ideen für schöne Ausflüge von uns aus!
Ganz liebe Grüße sendet Daniela Pfefferkorn & das gesamte goldene Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We just returned from 9 fabulous nights at the Hotel Goldener Berg. We stayed over New Years Eve/first week of January.

Here's my comments broken out in sections:

Location: ski in-ski out, 200metres uphill from the centre of Oberlech villiage, chairlift and ski school. Oberlech is a charming, quiet, rather exclusive, car-free mini villiage with a handful of hotels.

Arrival: You can access only via cable car, so its important to understand the arrival instructions, where to take your luggage and how to find the hotel via the tunnel when you arrive at the top of the cable car station. Be prepared for a moderate uphill walk in the snow or via the concrete underground tunnel - follow the signs. Its 200metres but would not be easy with very young children or for people with mobility issues.

Staff and service:
Hotel is family run with personal attention of the charming Daniella and her excellent staff - the service is very professional, attentive, friendly and no request is too much trouble.

Restaurants/dining:
The standard of cuisine was excellent and quite exceptional. Many places offering "Half Board" promise superior quality have been disappointing. The dining at GoldenerBerg was excellent so do not hesitate to book the Half Board.

The breakfast buffet was amazing with a huge array of options beautifully presented plus the choice of ordering cooked breakfast ala carte. The Dine Around package gives the choice of different restaurants/menus with no fewer than 4 courses. The wine list was extensive and they hosted a wine tasting in the cellar that we head was wonderful but we did not attend.

We were lucky enough to enjoy the New Years Eve extravaganza dinner, which was amazing.
Seven courses, live music, dancing and fireworks viewed from the terrace.Unfortunately we did not realise the dinner was formal in dress code, so we were in jeans and smart casual, but it did not seem to be an issue.

Rooms:
Decorated in modern Austrian style the rooms were very good. Very comfortable beds with down comforters, flat screen TV, views of the slopes.

Spa:
Fantastic spa with very modern design, wonderful view and excellent amenities. The outdoor jacuzzi "Panorama" was a highlight - often quite busy after all the skiers returned and the kids joined in!

Other:
Whilst its a small hotel (not sure exactly, maybe 45 rooms) and we were there during peak busy season, the hotel never felt full or crowded. Many guests seemed to know each other and after a few nights we started to meet a few other families. Many people we met have returned to the hotel for Christmas/New Year several times - some as many as 9 times in a row.

I had the impression were were very lucky to find a room the New Years week given the large number of repeat visits and advance bookings.

Value:
This is an expensive hotel during peak times, but was comparable to other options of similar location/offerings.

But its cost-value equation for us seemed about right. If you love skiing then you know how important convenience and location is.We had amazing snow and lots of fresh powder...this combined with the attentive service and excellent dining made it feel worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor 43 are quieter. All are non smoking. Smoking is permitted in the bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillonfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Hello from snowy Oberlech!
Thank you so much for your lovely words and the grand view you wrote about your stay in Goldener Berg! Really, it was our pleasure to have had you here! It is a very busy time of the year and we are always very happy, if we still can fulfill all our guests’ needs and wishes!
So we do hope to see you back very soon – given, you are now so close to Oberlech!
Thank you again and all the best from all our team members
Daniela Pfefferkorn and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have just spent four days at the Goldenerberg and loved everything about the hotel. The staff were uniformly friendly, professional and welcoming. The food was of a very high standard - modern Austrian and the rooms and facilities excellent. We will certainly return - Lech is a lovely location and the Goldenerberg, located 200 metres above the village, fabulously located

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woodcock62437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Hello from Oberlech to Edinburgh!
We thank you so much for your posting on trip advisor! To be very honest: it was really our pleasure to have had you here! Thank you for coming and enjoying what we do so much! This is what we are here for and this is what we really try to make every guest feel: at home!
We would love to have you very soon back with us – maybe even in winter once? All the best from super sunny Oberlech
Daniela Pfefferkorn & the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Good points :
1) Ambiance and service levels were great. Staff seemed to really care about the guests. No request was too much trouble. Owner, Danielle, was very kind, as were all the staff we met.
2) Sensational cuisine - half board package highly recommended.
3) Dogs and kids most welcome - always a good sign.
4) Stunning spa, sauna, jacuzzi, and indoor pool area.
5) Optimal location for skiing - can ski in to doorstep.

Minor negatives :
1) Initial orientation on arrival a bit confusing, and not explained at all on booking.com reservation form - you must park your car in town, and take a cable car followed by a slippery uphill walk in the snow to get to the hotel - not a big issue, and staff were quick to sort out my confusion.
2) Wines expensive ( particularly by South African standards - I could buy a cheap DVD player or PC monitor for less than the price of a bottle of champagne), but this is probably normal for Lech. Again, not a big issue.

Summary :
My wife and I would chose this hotel again without trying to look for anywhere else in Lech / Oberlech - its that good.
Staff service ethic and empathy makes it better than most hotels elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eThekweni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Hello from Oberlech to South Africa!
We thank you so much for your posting on trip advisor!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and it makes us very proud to read, that you will be hopefully soon back in Goldener Berg!
We are happy that you thought our team members took good care of you – this is very important to us!
I would also like to respond to the points that were unclear to you!
Thank you for letting us know, that arrival is still not really clear to everyone – we will try to get even better with this information. I know if you come to Oberlech for the first time it must be confusing that you cannot go there by car as we are car free in winter. Even though I think it is rather easy to get here, when explained correctly. Arrival at the cable car station in Lech, the team there takes care of your luggage and it is sent up to the Hotel. You park your car in the underground car park opposite the cable car station and take the Cable car up to Oberlech. From there it is either via the path to Goldener Berg or via the underground connection tunnel. We are also putting more signs here, so the tunnel can be found easier! So thank you again for this remark, we will try to put it into all the booking engines as well!
Expensive wines: We are sorry, that you thought our wines are very expensive, as we are known for a rather cheap calculation. But, being a member of the 1st Club de la Sommelerie in Austria, we do only sell high quality wines. They are already more expensive for us to buy, and therefore more expensive for our guests. However, you can always be sure, to get only best quality wines in Goldener Berg!
So once again, let us thank you for your tips! We do hope to see you soon back in Goldener Berg – it really would be our great pleasure!
For now we are sending all the best from our sunny mountains
Daniela Pfefferkorn & the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.8 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 53 in Lech
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#24 of 53 in Lech
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#32 of 53 in Lech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#6 of 53 in Lech
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 53 in Lech
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 53 in Lech
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Berg

Address: Oberlech 117, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Price Range: £217 - £989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Goldener Berg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 1,700 metres above sea level on a plateau high above Lech, this family-run hotel of the 4-star superior category is directly at the slopes of the Arlberg ski area, which is the biggest skiing resort in Austria. Hotel Goldener Berg offers modern rooms and suites with Alpine charm, which combine a cosy ambience with luxurious furnishings.With its large windows and natural materials such as granite and wood, the 500 m² Alpin Spa offers a very natural ambience. Here you will find an outdoor Jacuzzi, an indoor pool, various saunas and relaxation rooms, a fitness room, and a beauty and massage department. There you will be pampered with beauty products made from edelweiss from the hotel's own Almstern brand.Every evening Hotel Goldener Berg lets you choose from the culinary delights in 4 different restaurants. Half-board is possible at an additional cost and must be booked before arrival and for the entire stay. The wine cellar offers a wide selection of fine wines.In the mornings, afternoon and evenings the hotel offers professional child care in the Kids Club. Activities include children's shows, fashion shows, torchlight hikes, many sports and games, as well as lunch and dinner (children's buffet). Cribs and baby monitors are available.The 2 big panorama sun terraces afford beautiful views of the surrounding Lechtal Alps.The cable car, which operates until late at night, takes you to the centre of Lech in only 7 minutes.The ski school and a practice hill are only a few metres away from Hotel Goldener Berg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Goldener Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing