We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burg Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This place is a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We are visiting this hotel for years now. The location is the best by far. Its right on the slopes. The gondola brings you to the hotel and your car stays right in the valley in a lot. From that point on, you don't have to worry about anything. The rooms are nice and spacious. The restaurant is fantastic. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever had. And the dinner every night is just fab. They have a kids programm and they always help you organize your passes, trips, etc. They have an extra restaurant which is specialized in Fondue, but you need a reservation. If you are bored, the spa is beautiful and airy. Or you take the gondola down to the valley.
Only the service in the restaurant (where you get breakfast and dinner) is sometimes a bit uncoordinated, but that doesn't bother me, since everything else is great. We love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokyowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    27
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This review applies only to the a la carte restaurant (we didn't stay at the hotel).

We (family of 4) ventured up to Oberlech for a meal. My meal was outstanding (trout, leberknödelsoup, cheese). The Wienerschnitzel ordered by my wife and children was disappointing. (Rote Wand is much better). I was irritated when I received the bill : I was nickel-and-dimed for things that were never on the menu (extra charge for bread, extra charge for vanilla sauce, tea cost EUR 6 because it's considered 2 portions) In a nutshell, I could have been in Switzerland.

Shame really, because the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

They have a great location right at the piste and lift Petersboden in Oberlech, the tables are nicely made up, and they have really good Beef tartaar and salad. But when we booked a table over the phone and arrived the next day, there was no reservation or willingness to accomodate us. When we arrived the next day there was no trouble made to fjnd us on the list and then placed on the most far end of the terrace, where there was no willingness to give us a different table. In a way we were lucky as we were given to Irene, and she is extremely sufficient and friendly and made up for it. So if you go, ask for Irenes area! Beef tartar was delicous and we had a lovely wine too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, ski in and out onto the main lift. The apres ski in the bar is fantastic. However, very expensive !. Champagne is flowing everywhere. The food is excellent quality. Good size rooms and excellent views over the slopes. Oberlech is very quiet at night, so you have to go down to lech for bars at night. The slopes are fantastic, very few boarders. The lifts are fabulous. Quick, heated seats, very comfy as well ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uetikon Am See
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I admit, the location is great. The hotel room #27 was very nice and clean and until a problem occured we were feeling fine. However, when one is kept awake until 2am by life music in the lobby two floors below and when upon complaining three times we were lied at by the staff (the music will stop at 11pm, we will turn the volume down, that's the last song, etc...) and treated with a never heard of arrogance, all the positive things vanish. No word of excuse or reaction the next morning and when I went to speak to the hotel manager, she treated me like a total fool!! I have never been treated like this in my entire life and I have worked in hotel management for many years, so I know a thing or two about it. This incident made us soo angry that we were not really able to enjoy the rest of our stay. The arrogance these people put forward is unacceptable and totally unjustified. DO NOT GO THERE IF YOU CAN AVOID IT!!
A word regarding F&B, they try too hard to be creative. Simpler would be better!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantalm1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Bug Hotel, perched in the tiny hamlet of Oberlech, is located next to the top of the cable car from Lech (which is the village's only access in winter) and just across the piste from a high-speed quad lift. This is the ideal location for skiers: each morning after picking up skis & boots from your locker in their ski room, you step outside directly onto the piste and have your choice of starting the day with a run down into Lech or hopping on the lift to ride further up the mountain. Also very convenient to have ski rental facility in the hotel ski room! Hotel staff arranged our rentals in advance, and also sold us our lift tickets.

The hotel itself is very beautiful and luxurious with a gorgeous carved wood staircase leading up one flight from reception to the restaurant. We took a half-board package and the meals were excellent, with wonderful breakfasts including eggs to order and varied choices on every course of the 5-course dinners. The wine list is amazing, over 1000 wines in the cellar and with a wait staff trained to make excellent suggestions. Wine mark-up was not as high as I might have expected.

We opted for a "Comfort Double" room and it was spacious with a nice balcony with southern exposure overlooking the slopes and high peaks. Bathroom was of a good size with double sinks, lighted make-up mirror, good hair dryer, excellent water pressure and ample hot water for the shower. Sparkling clean. Good highspeed internet connection was provided free (code provided at reception).

All the staff were welcoming, friendly and professional - excellent training! The young woman who checked us in also gave us a tour of the pool & spa facilities. We arrived quite early, before our room was ready, and were invited to change into ski clothing in a spa dressing room and then leave our bags with reception, so we could enjoy a full day on the slopes.

The hotel pool & spa complex was delightful, offering a lap pool, jacuzzi, children's pool, solarium, tepidarium and sauna. For additional fees, there is also a very good spa offering a range of massages, body treatments and facials - wonderful after a day on the slopes! We left the slopes by 3pm each day and moved to the pool/hot tub/solarium and had it completely to ourselves every day but one. Perhaps it gets more crowded after the chair lifts close, but in late afternoon it was totally tranquil. The spa treatments and massages we indulged in were expertly applied by the small but caring spa staff.

The Burg Hotel created a beautiful ski holiday for us, I can find no fault with it and much to recommend it but this all definitely comes at high cost, at least during ski season.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Lucian family owned hotel in Salzburg for fourteen Christmases, and also during the Summer and Easter Festivals. When we told them we skied, they encouraged us to visit one of their hotels in Oberlech - a short cable car ride up the mountain from Lech. I knew the region as I used to work one week a month in Elbigenalp, a charming village with a recording studio and was excited to return to the area, this time to ski and relax and not work.

The Burg was everything we expected: impeccable service from an obviously well trained staff, superb and imaginative kitchen, a wine list I would have liked to spend a few days studying, and most importantly, the ideal location right on the slopes directly across from a chair lift. After renting skis - quick and easy - we were given a locker, right by the door, comfortably got into boots, and walked out directly onto the slopes. Although conditions were disappointing, we enjoyed four days of skiing, best of course early in the morning when the lifts opened, the runs freshly groomed, and no crowds. But we never experienced lines or crowded runs. Our balcony overlooked the runs and we sat out with a glass of champagne enjoying watching the other skiers. Winter walking trails provided an enjoyable alternative activity (map available from the hotel.)

Nothing is perfect and we could have done without the music blaring from the nearby restaurant and we're surprised to hear the guests above us in the middle of the night. But in general, it was blissfully quiet at night. Happily, there was no sign of night-life.

But the Burg is not only a place to ski and enjoy great food and wine. The spa compares favorably with our experiences at the Bauer Palladio and Guerlain Spa at the Shilla Hotel in Seoul. At the Burg, it was easy to fall into a very satisfying routine:: up early, breakfast, ski, hot tub, spa, drink, dinner. It was tough coming home! You can't predict the weather when booking a ski holiday but the Burg will keep you comfortable whether on or off the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.7 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#15 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#2 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#4 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#44 of 52 in Lech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Hotel

Property: Burg Hotel
Address: Oberlech 266 | 6764 Lech Am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#12 Spa Hotel in Lech
#15 Family Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burg Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly 4-Star-Superior BURG Hotel Oberlech is situated in Lech am Arlberg between Tirol and Vorarlberg in Austria at 1,660 meter (1,03 miles) above sea level. Surrounded by the mountains of the Alps it is the perfect spot for skiing, hiking, mountain biking, golf, tennis, wellness and much more. With the legendary skiing resort "Lech-Zuers in Arlberg" one footstep from the hotel away you can enjoy your skiing holidays in one of Austria's largest and most luxurious skiing resorts. After a beautiful skiing day in the Mountains of the Alps you can have a drink or two at our BURG Ice-Bar, one of Lech's Apres Ski hotspots. Or you just visit our 1.200 M² large SPA Area and relax in an oasis for the senses, in which our professional beauty and wellness team will pamper you head to toe. During spring, summer and fall the Arlberg region is perfect for hiking in the mountains of Tirol and Vorarlberg as well as numerous other sports activities. The BURG Hotel features an own tennis court as well as hiking guides, personal fitness trainers, golf trainers and much more. Additional features and services are our free child care, high-speed Wi-Fi internet, a well arranged wine cellar with over 1000 varieties of wine from all regions, free access to all running cable cars and chairlifts during summer, etc.The Hotel also features a congress center with 6 seminar rooms in different sizes for up to 60 seats each. The fabulous location on top of the alps is also a very popular spot for marriages. Feel one day like the star in "Sound of Music" when you stand in front of the "Kriegeralpe" Chalet, which is also connected to the BURG Hotel in Oberlech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and Booking.com so you can book your Burg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burg Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing