We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alexandra
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
50
27
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
27
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

After a week at Hotel Alexander, we left a little disappointed:
- Our room was pretty basic (eg. no TV, towels that looked like they were 5 years old)
- The resort manager was unhelpful when we enquired about ski hire prices in Lech – stating all prices were fixed and very dismissive of our own research, which turned out to be correct and we were able to save 40 euros by booking through a website.
- The seemingly helpful offer to buy our lift passes for us at the fixed rate advertised in the booklet, was disingenuous as Ski Total charged my credit card in Pounds applying a terrible exchange rate which effectively added a 10% surcharge.
- There were a number of occasions where we were made to feel that the chalet was there for the benefit of the staff and guests were a minor inconvenience – eg. Only 30 boot warmers for 60 guests, yet a whole row was reserved for staff; We were ushered out of the dining room pretty much immediately after finishing dessert so the staff could clear up and set the table for breakfast (often mid-conversation with other guests with the remaining wine requisitioned!)
- The feedback survey was quite farcical – with forms distributed at the last dinner for guests to fill in and return there and then – we were challenged by some of our feedback (most of which I have restated above) by the resort manager the following morning at breakfast which I thought was inappropriate and more focused on covering his back rather than exploring and addressing our comments.
- On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful when required
- The food and was good with sizable portions and there were a number of decent wine options
- The location wasn’t bad – 5 mins from the nearest lift and able to ski in from one route and about a 10 minute walk from the town centre
- Transfers to and from the airport were efficient
- The spa facilities were good, though the opening hours were restrictive disingenuous
- Overall, good value for money for Lech.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed here in mid January 2011. Apart from the 22 hour delay due to a faulty Monarch flight, we had a fabulous holiday. The hotel rooms are large and comfortable (compared to French rooms!), and hot water was plentiful in the deep and large bath.

The food was good, a couple of slightly odd combinations for the main course (roast lamb, mint sauce and rice??) but the puddings and cakes at tea time are great. The options for breakfast are a little limited, but plentiful.

We had 2 days ski guiding with Frank (would have been 3 if we had arrived on time), which was helpful to find our way around.

We enjoyed lunch at the Mogenfluh (lovely rosti) and the last drink of the day on the slopes in Oberlech at the hotel Montana. Sit on the red banquette seats-they are heated!! You can then ski down the 62, across the road and to the door of the hotel.

Enjoy the Chalet Alexandra, great value in an expensive resort. Oh, and the beers were €3.50 for a large bottle :-)

Enjoy the Alexandra

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Perfect place to come back to after a hard day's skiing.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank danted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Just returned from a great New Year in Lech staying at the Alexandra. Chalet/hotel system suited us very well. Rooms were large, if a little dated, although for me this added to the quaintness and charm of the place. The evening meals were very good with an adequate choice including a good vegetarian option each evening. Prior to the meal, guests were served an aperitif and canapes. Except for this, bar prices are quite steep, in fact, pricier than a drink in the apres ski bars in town. That said, wine is served free with the evening meal and afterwards most guests drank something they had purchased from the supermarkets in Lech. Children under 13 are expected to eat earlier and this is clearly stated in the brochure.
The friendliness of the staff is the Alexandra's strength. All members of the team were friendly and polite. They always attempted to solve any problems that arose, however these were few.
Breakfasts were a little disappointing. The selection was a little sparse, but there was always a cooked option: porridge being my favourite which kept me full till lunchtime.
New Year is a brilliant time to visit Lech. In the square there is a fireworks display along with individual's adhoc additions to this. It's a great atmosphere and was one of the highlights of the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LittleToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

I stayed at the Alexandra from 22nd Feb to 1st March. It was absolutely perfect, the staff were extremely friendly (Especially Frank and Gael), the rooms were clean and a very good size, the food delicious and the location was good. We booked our Ski hire and Lift pass on the coach transfer, which was very organised and easy to understand. We arrived at the hotel around 8pm and had our dinner served at 9pm, every other night dinner was served at 8pm so we had plenty of time to enjoy the après ski. I made it back for afternoon tea twice and I’d definitely recommend it, the white chocolate cake was delicious.

The first morning we collected our lift pass from Frank at reception, and then caught the free bus which stops opposite the hotel entrance to Strolz (the hire shop). As we had already paid and reserved our skis, this was a quick and painless task.

The walk into town is approx. 15 minutes, but it’s a nice walk. The nearest chair lift, Schlosskopf, is only 5 minutes away. I never experienced a cue for this lift, so I definitely recommend it. The skiing is fantastic, the runs extremely wide and well maintained. Although, I would like to mention the blue runs are quite hard, they were closer to St Anton’s red runs. But I got on ok and I’ve only skied in Bulgaria (Bankso) and Are (Sweden) – along with lessons at Xscape.

The staffs day off is Thursday, so we booked the pizza restaurant Charlies which I would definitely recommend. We stopped off in Oberlech for lunch three times, twice at the Sports Hotel and third place opposite, all the food was good. I would recommend Grostl (Fried Roasted Potatoes, Meat, Salad or Cappage and Fried Eggs) if your hungry. The food isn’t exactly cheap, soup ranges from 6EUR to 10EUR, Jacket Pots, Burgers etc range from 12EUR plus. The tannbergerhof bar in Lech had good Apres Ski, along with the bar opposite with umbrellas and outdoor heaters, you can’t miss it. Night life was fairly quiet, although there is a bar right at the bottom of the blue run in Lech which had good atmosphere.

On a whole Lech was perfect and I’d definitely recommend The Alexandra Chalet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chez_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews