We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Backstube Lech

Backstube Lech
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Austrian, Central European, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bakery - Mmmmm that smells good!Every slice of bread and every piece of cake from our bakery is made of natural ingredients from the region and full of goodness. You can taste it in the fresh cream, in the butter and the genuine wholemeal and rye. There seems no end to the range of goodies that Clemens Walch conjures up. Some people travel miles for them. For you, they're fresh on the table, every day.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Staff friendly and helpful with great food selection. Good location

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Only had tea and cakes outside so cannot comment on the quality of the bread but the cakes were dry and not very tasty. Nothing compared to the cakes you get at the butchers....yes the butcher has the most delicious cakes in town. They may not be as fancy looking but they are fresh, moist and very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wasserloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Owner at Backstube Lech, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for visiting our bakery. We are sorry to hear you were dissapointed. All our bread and cakes are made freash every day. Our pastry chefs start work at 4.00am. We do make lots of cakes catered for people with allergies and use dinkel(spelt) which is a little dry. We havent had any reclamations in the past month so i am sorry about that. We acually deliver to the local butcher.
We pride ourselves on using local products and making everthing ourselves. No preservatives or additives. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Lech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
701 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a small local bakery that produces some great tasting breads and sandwiches. Like most Austrian/German bakeries they also do great cakes. Favouite bread-Alper Baguette.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helloeverybody, Owner at Backstube Lech, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. The Alpler Baguette is also one of my personal favourites. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“nice sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

get hold of their sandwiches they are fabulous
However the bread like elsewhere in Austria is strongly perfumed with cumin which is not so nice
the personel is russian or czech go figure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great pastrys, cakes & strudels. Good for a coffee after a ski or hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

Great pastrys, cakes & strudels. Good for a coffee after a ski or hike.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Backstube Lech also viewed

Lech, Vorarlberg
 
Lech, Vorarlberg
 

Been to Backstube Lech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing