We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments with hotel service - perfect combo”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent 9 days towards the end of the skiing season - and did not want to leave.
We had a generously sized apartment, big bathroom, all the storage space you could want and beds for 3 kids in a separate room - with nobody having to sleep on the couch.
We had access to all the hotel facilities and services - the pool is absolutely stunning, the wellness area an oasis of calm, the bar is relaxed and comfortable, lots of options for the kids with entertainment and crafts hosted by the lovely Simone. If we didn't want to cook, we could choose to add breakfast or half board by the day, great for flexibility.
The walk to the slopes could be a bit of a drag with kids and skis - but Draghan and his little train were readily available to whizz us all down and back up in seconds. As it was coming to the end of the season, we were allowed to keep our apartment until 5pm on our departure day - allowing us to make the most of a perfect skiing day - with no extra charge.
The Strolz family - all 3 generations - are very present every day and clearly take pride in their hotel - rightly so. Nothing in Lech is cheap - but this place is definitely good value.
Only minor gripes - dishwasher tabs and cleaning sponges were not provided. Cheap items which you can only buy in multipacks far too big for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaKi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Austria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just spent our 3rd time at Hotel Austria in Lech - And this last time we spent 2 weeks. We absolutely love it and everytime we just do not want to leave (last year we extended another 4 days...)!

If I go with my wife to London for a weekend I usually end up in a sleek modern hotel. That is ok but only for 2 days and then I want to leave. For a real holiday with the family I want so much more that a polished surface.

Hotel Austria gives us just that - the most amazing character and personality. It grows on you everyday. It is not a bling-bling-hotel on the surface and does not claim to be. It is family owned and managed in the best way imaginable. The kind of service that is priceless and very hard to come by. We love every single detail - no matter perfect or not. It is now "our second home" and did not want to leave.

I would like to stop here and manage the expectations. But to make you more confident that this is a lovely place - almost all guests I talked to during my stay were repeaters and we were -with our 3 consecutive years- basically newcomers.

PS. If you have children this is the one and only place to go. Every aspect is taken care of from transport to and fro skischool, prams, sledges, kids playroom with creative staff, nanny service, kids meals, kids pool etc.etc. D.S.

To Claudia, George & family, Jorg, Betina and Simone and the rest of the fantastic staff - thank you once again for the best holiday ever -again! See you next year - though I truly wish it were sooner!

All the best!

Filip

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spend now 3 times holliday in this hotel
Everytime service and friendlyness were perfect
Food is not haut cuisine, but very good
Breakfast outside and if possible lunch as well
Very good wines and wine advise
The wellness is ok nice
Price is rather expensive, but price/ quality is ok. So i can only advice this place
We spend now 3 times holliday in this hotel
Everytime service and friendlyness were perfect
Food is not haut cuisine, but very good
Breakfast outside and if possible lunch as well
Very good wines and wine advise
The wellness is ok nice
Price is rather expensive, but price/ quality is ok. So i can only advice this place
We spend now 3 times holliday in this hotel
Everytime service and friendlyness were perfect
Breakfast outside and if possible lunch as well
Very good wines and wine advise
The wellness is ok nice
Price is rather expensive, but price/ quality is ok. So i can only advice this place
We spend now 3 times holliday in this hotel

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sgtsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have just returned from a girly 4 day ski weekend in Lech staying at The Hotel Austria. We were all made to feel extremely welcome not only by the owners Claudia & Georg Strolz but all the staff from the girls on reception, maids cleaning and turning down our beds at night in our rooms, restaurant and bar staff to the staff in the Wellness Spa. We stayed half board which included a great choice of buffet breakfast including a chef to cook any choice of eggs whether boiled, scrambled or in the shape of an omelette. The evening meals were delightful and again a lovely choice, with one evening the star of menu was a 'raclette' (traditional Swiss dish). Such a lovely hotel and the rooms that we stayed in were decorated in traditional tyrolean style. Would highly recommend it and would certainly be returning not only to Lech but to The Hotel Austria !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Planned a short but fantastic time in Lech, Austria and stayed at Hotel Austria based on their reviews and kids club. Excellent facilities, staff, location, amenities! Would highly recommend for all families, ours are younger (7 & 4) and our pet dog. I can't say more about the kids club--Patina and Simone were amazing. Our kids just wanted to eat a quick meal for dinner and go to their private cinema room, craft room and play area....and not be bored with mom and dad at a fancy dinner. The pool and spa were amazing as well..separate kids and adult pool, relaxation room and full spa facilities all included in the room price. They provided sleds for the kids and even our dog took a sled ride. The onsite restaurant is amazing too. They even knew our names. I can't say enough about this place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlupton31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was our first time to Lech and fourth visit to Austria overall. The Hotel Austria is located in a quiet part of Lech, a short walk away from the main road, but within 5 minutes walk of the amenities.

We had an apartment-style room on the top floor at the far end of the hotel with its own separate kitchenette and lounge area, with two balconies, with fabulous views. Decor was slightly more old fashioned and typically Austrian-style, I think some of the other rooms have had a more recent makeover. Everywhere in the hotel was spotless (no exaggeration here). Restaurant service was superb thanks to Jorg and his team, and we joined in with the organised guided walks for most of the week with the wonderful Jurgen, with whom we got on extremely well, and we very much enjoyed the companionship of a mixed group of English, German and Swiss guests.

It was very sad that in the week before we arrived, that the founder of the hotel, father of the current owner/manager had passed away, and being a family business, it had an obvious effect on the staff, who to their immense credit remained professional nevertheless. That said, the only slight niggle I had with this lovely hotel was with the reception staff who I found rather offhand on several occasions. As mentioned in other reviews, nearly everyone we spoke to hand spent numerous holidays at the Austria, returning year after year, and I can well see why.

The week we were there was 'children's week' with some fabulous activities being organised for all age-groups, who were having a wonderful time and being very well looked after. You would not have known that there were so many children in the hotel though, they were all very well-behaved.

I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel and would certainly consider staying there again. Lech and its surrounding areas are beautiful with many different chairlifts and gondolas to get you up into the mountains, both in the town and a short busride away (all free with the Lech Summer Active card - great value for money!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have just returned from two weeks at Hotel Austria. This was our second visit in three years, although this seemed to make us mere novices compared to all those who were staying there for the 8th, 9th, and 10th time. It is an extremely nice hotel in a beautiful setting and with very friendly staff - particularly Jorg (lovely man). My husband was exceedingly fond of the spa area and swimming pool whilst I could laze outside gazing at mountains. Our slight worry that we were remembering the hotel and resort with rose tinted glasses was destroyed immeadiately on our arrival. Plenty of walks of different abilities are available or you can just sit with a coffee or packed lunch and luxuriate in the scenery. I'm confident this won't be the last visit that Family Roberts make to Lech and the Hotel Austria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.3 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 52 in Lech
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#1 of 52 in Lech
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#10 of 52 in Lech
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#32 of 52 in Lech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Omesberg 287 | 6764 Lech, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Price Range: £281 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Austria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing