We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ilga
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have tried various hotels in the area and the Hotel Ilga is by far the best of them all. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly and have created an atmosphere of cosiness and familiarity in the hotel. The hotel is right on the skislope and the lifts - truly ski in and ski out. An excellent hearty breakfast sets you up for the day and afternoon tea included in the price is a great way to relax after a day skiing. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Oberlech is expensive but this hotel is worth every Euro. We also appreciated the fact that Dinner was not included in the price which gave us the option to choose our own places to eat in the evening. The Hotel has a very nice and cosy restaurant with good food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Book a Komfortzimmer instead of a normal Doubleroom as they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Oberlech is not cheap. Laregly because it is car free and ski in/out. This hotel however offers reasonable quality at a reasonable price. Great if you don't need all the glitz of the neighbouring hotels. It is right on the ski run so ski in/out and also the closest hotel to the cable car to lech. In my view it is therefore the best located hotel in Oberlech. The restaurants however arent particularly good value for what they serve and you are probably better eating out in lech.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This small hotel is literally a few steps away from the slopes. All you need to do is put your skis on outside of the hotel and you are off skiing for the whole day. There is also a ski rental 100 meters away so very convenient. The hotel is family run and the staff is extremely friendly. Rooms are very cozy, warm with all the amenities. Free wifi and complimentary afternoon tea a bonus. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sailaway1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

A small family run hotel in Oberlech, spot on location, fantastic owners, great stubl bar, great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble - especially when we arrived late, tired and somewhat stressed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonskifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Hotel Ilga is, officially and technically, a 3-star hotel, but in most respects it's 5-star. That doesn't mean that it has a swimming pool, a swanky concierge, or the luxury and fancy trimmings of a true 5-star hotel. It means that it's a really, really, cosy and lovely hotel in a great location, with delightful and hospitable owner/hosts, and great staff. The food is good, the rooms comfortable, and everything is ideal. Breakfasts are good and there's a terrific "help yourself" tea every evening, with great cakes and a huge choice of teas, etc. The terrace at the front is a great place to sit, to watch the slopes, or to enjoy a gluhwein, lunch or whatever takes your fancy. It really is "ski in, ski out".
We were there with our daughter, son in law and baby granddaughter, and all of us had great fun -- including the baby who enjoyed the use of the hotel's baby sledge.
Being up in Oberlech, rather than in Lech itself (where we have usually stayed) wasn't a problem at all. It's only about 6 or 7 minutes to get down or up, and the lift station is less than 1 minute's walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

It was the 5th time that I went to lech but I liked this hotel more than others. It was a very cozy hotel and I enjoyed every moment I spend there... I'm going to ilga in 2weeks again with 30 friend of mine.

  • Liked — skiing in long pists
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler4ever_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

The Ilga is in a great location, truly ski in/ski out. The standard of accommodation, facilities and food were all excellent and the staff very friendly. Even though it is not cheap to eat out in Lech, it proved to be better value than booking half board at the surrounding hotels.

We took a standard double room with balcony and a teenager triple room. The double was on the small side but totally adequate, with sofa, TV, hairdryer, plenty of storage and hanging space and lovely shower in the en suite. You can pay a little more for a more spacious room if preferred. The teenager room did not have a balcony and was in the basement but it was very roomy with the toilet separate to the bath/shower.

Their web site is : http://www.hotel-ilga.at/
This is not up-to-date in terms of the facilities described. There is no longer a squash hall. There is a games room with free use of table football and there is a pool table which was currently out of action. They have another room with free internet access. Also a well equipped fitness room which was seldom in use and a sauna area with various types of steam and dry saunas and a large relaxation room. Massages are available, but we did not try this.

There is a lounge/library room, outdoor terrace and 3 eating areas inside which are light or cosy, and beautifully furnished. Breakfast had a good selection of food on a buffet basis and there were free après ski soft-drinks and cakes from 3 to 6pm. Although they did not offer half board, they do have a restaurant for evening meals which is open to both guests and non-residents. We ate lunch and evening meals in the hotel on several occasions and it was always a good experience. There was no problem finding a table in the bar in the evenings to play games/cards. There is a large 'ice-bar' on the terrace with big umbrella, which unfortunately was closed due to staff shortage. But you could still get a nice gluwein on the terrace.

The location of the hotel could not be better. It is situated right opposite the exit of the cable car up to Oberlech, which runs through until 1am, so no problem if you want to try the restaurants in Lech. There is also free use of the toboggans which you can use to get down to Lech, coming back up in the cable car. You ski out of the door, down a few yards to get to the Petersboden lift which takes you further up the mountain from Oberlech OR you can ski straight down into Lech.

On arrival, you hand in your luggage at the base station in Lech and you receive a free ticket to get you up the cable car to Oberlech. The luggage is put into a crate which goes up in the cable car with you. At the top, you step out and across to the hotel and the luggage is taken care of, transported to the hotel and your room via the underground tunnel system. Very efficient! Just as simple on the way back.

We used Ryan air flights into Friedrichshafen, which is only a 1.5 hour transfer, either by scheduled pre-bookable bus, or private transfer (which we used and can be worthwhile if there is a few of you),

I am not aware that you can book through any tour operators. Guests seemed to be mostly German, English and American.

We also ate in the Petersboden hotel in Oberlech on several occasions and would also recommend it most highly.

  • Liked — Location, Price, Food, Service, friendly
  • Disliked — Sauna mixed and lack of privacy for changing/shower
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Weej0ckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#20 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#17 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnenburg
Hotel Sonnenburg
#14 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#15 of 52 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilga

Property: Hotel Ilga
Address: Oberlech 250, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilga 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family hotel right in the ski slopes area, car-free area, and a small traditional restaurant in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ilga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing