We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super place in a super town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After two weeks of wandering around Germany, my friend and I decided to spend three days in the Austrian Tirol this July, and she chose the town of Lech, which looked like a tiny place with nothing really to do.

My first surprise. THE TOWN WAS AMAZING!!!

We looked at several possible places to stay on line and chose the Pfefferkorn hotel, a family owned and run property in the center of town. It looked relatively inexpensive and seemed okay, from what we could read about it on the web, but other than that I knew absolutely nothing about the hotel or the town it was based in.

The hotel turned out to be a tremendous find, and we are seriourly thinking of going back to the town and the hotel next year, due to the fact that we were blown away by our travel experience!

The hotel is in the middle of Lech, a small but beautiful town, large enough to be interesting and fun, but small enough to be quiet and romantic.

To say that it was in the middle of everytihng is an understatement. Chairlifts? Cable cars? Either next door or across the street. Hiking trails? All over the place, with hikes for the rugged hiker to familes filled with young kids.

Scenery? Postcard perfect.

The food? The town had lots of great places to eat, and the restaurant/bar/outdoor cafe at Pfefferkorns was among the very best, and certainly the best priced -- and Mark, their concierge/mgr and his staff, have loads of great additional suggestions.

If you get bored with Lech, the place is vertiably surrounded by gorgeous little villages that you can drive to, bus to, take a cable car to, or hike to. Your choice! Oh, and by the way, if you're in Lech for several days, the town has something called a 'Lech card', which Pfefferkorn's arranges for you to get for free during your stay, at least during the summer.

Want to take a cable car, then a bus to a nearby town, then a ski lift back? No problem, it's on the house. You get your Lech card upon arrival, next door at the town information center (everything seems to be next door to our hotel!), and ride everything for free for the duration of your stay to your heart's content!

The Pfefferkorn's are a delicious family, complete with a postcard cute young daughter, and they couldn't be nicer, more helpful or friendlier. Each morning at breakfast, and throughout the husband and wife drop by to say hello and chat. They are absolutely great fun to spend time with, which explains why apparently much of their clientele come back year after year after year.

The staff, starting with Mark on down, literally fall all over one another to make sure that you have a spectacular stay.

This is not the Ritz, but given the price tag during the summer, it's 5 star plus.

And next time we'll not make the same mistake. Next time we'll go back for a week!

Gene

Room Tip: They have a couple of 'suites', which are essentially slightly larger rooms at just a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We only spent one night in one of the penthouses before we went to our other hotel for a weeks stay. Our friends continued with their stay and we got to enjoy both their and our hotel. The Pfefferkorn has the most outstanding location, our room was newly renovated with magestic mountain views - we watched the snow falling across the village from our bed and could watch the activity on the slopes at anytime. The reception staff were brilliant - they were very friendly and accomodating. Their is a bank, ski hire,outside bar, shop in the hotel which makes it very convenient. The only downfall was the food on the odd night we ate there. The one breakfast we had was dismal - no plates, no butter, no eggs, no bacon - we had to ask for everything and not the greatest variety. We ate dinner three times in the hotel and one was good. There are so many good places to eat in the village that this should not stop you from staying here as everything else was very good including the evening visit from Herr Pfefferkorn.

Room Tip: Our newly renovated room on the top floor facing the mountain slopes was absolutley outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Situated in the centre of Lech, this family runned hotel is, ideally located for all types of wintersports. From the moment you enter the lobby, you noticed that perfect autrian ambiance. The room are spacy and the bed very confortable. the restatuarant is really top and serves every evening a 4 course menu, which meet top standards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert-Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

To Mr and Mrs Pfefferkorn, Martin, Roberto, Isabellle, Julie and all the wonderful staff.
The food was lovely, the wine list fantastic and the schnapps hit the spot every time
The location is second to none and has the added advantage of a supermarket and bank on the door step with wonderful views of the mountains.
I was also very impressed with the reasonable bill at the end of our stay
We had a magnificent holiday and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J20MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Excellent hotel. Some constructive criticism though: i was hoping the breakfast room to be larger ( i found it very small and crowded) and the breakfast to be more lavish to match the amazing hotel. I loved the parrot, i was shocked when it actually talked !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My father and I stopped here after a drive from the Black Forest via Lake Konstanz. After driving through the mountain pass we came upon this slice of heaven on earth. Herr Pfefferkorn helped us with our luggage and showed us the room which was very nice. We enjoyed a good dinner outside overlooking the beautiful mountains. My only regret is that it was not the middle of January so I could ski!
The bed was extremely comfortable, linens and towels were excellent. I absolutely loved the fact that there was a separate shower with Toilet and then another bathroom with double sinks, soaking tub with shower as well.
I would absolutely return again, thank you Herr Pfefferkorn for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MHD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The style and feel of a small family run hotel but with the amenities of a large chain. Food on the HB package was exceptional, rooms are traditional, service and attention to detail is superb. Located seconds away from the Main Cable in Lech on the main street, Stayed 5 nightsat the height of the ski season through Powder Byrne - they are good too ! No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 52 in Lech
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#32 of 52 in Lech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 52 in Lech
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotthard
Hotel Gotthard
#7 of 52 in Lech
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#43 of 52 in Lech
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pfefferkorn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pfefferkorn's Hotel

Address: Hnr. 138 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Price Range: £278 - £735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pfefferkorn's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Lech -manifold and tasteful as a Pfefferkorn.With Pfefferkorn’s Hotel you chose a hotel in Lech, right in the centre. Your winter holidays will be perfect. The classical spice of Pfefferkorn’sOur recipe for your perfect winter holidays in Lech am Arlberg: immediately when entering the hotel in Lech you will feel the main constituent – comfortable ambiance! This perfectly combined with exclusive comfort in our spacious rooms and suites, as well as the sauna scenery for your relaxation result in the perfect winter holidays in Lech. Tasteful – not only by name ...Pfefferkorn’s restaurants in Lech am Arlberg serve up! Our restaurants and bars in Lech am Arlberg arrange for your holidays to melt on your tongue. Our Pfefferkörndl spoils you with a large number of delicacies. Live to see the culinary delight of the finest after a beautiful summer day in Lech. Those seeking rest love our sunny terrace with the amazing view of the mountains surrounding Lech. Your winter holidays in Lech can be so easy-going.In wintertime the Icebar and peppers club lounge invite to light-hearted companionship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pfefferkorn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing