We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and because we were a large group we had a variety of rooms. All the rooms were very nice some a little older than others on the 4th floor as those have been renovated but all had great views and were very comfortable. The wifi had poor connection.
The hotel is in a great location on the highstreet very close to everything you could need.
The hotel staff made you feel really welcome and we had a lot of help from the ladies from the reception in booking restaurants and trains. They are a great asset to this hotel. We had a lovely time and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: 4th floor suites are renovated but all the others are very nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    19
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A large group of us spent a week over Christmas at the hotel with a combination of rooms and needs.
We arrived at the hotel and were given a welcome drink at the lounge after a 2 1/2 hour drive from Zurich.
We were all in our rooms within half hour of arriving.
Our suite was on the newly done section on the 4th floor with siting area large bathroom and lovely balcony overlooking the centre of Lech, with modern decor and excellent bathroom.
The hotel is very well located within a few minutes walk of shops, ski renting places, ski lifts and various good restaurants and bars.
The reception staff were excellent and friendly and couldn't have done more to help us.
We were in contact with the lady called Morgana and she had arranged everything form transfers to ski lift passes to restaurant reservations. We couldn't have organised everything without her help and the other two ladies working with her.
The breakfast is plentiful and the evening menu quite good with again very friendly and excellent staff.
The hotel is family run with the owners living in site so it adds to the cosy home feeling.
If there is one thing that could improve it would be the inconsistent replenishing of shower gels.
We really enjoyed the hotel and we would come back again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we were welcomed and the staff were very friendly the whole stay. The rooms were nicely spaced, and the beds were comfy and the location useful enough. The wifi was okay, but kept automatically logging out. The food in the restaurant was pretty good. Overall, the stay was nice.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scarletthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfefferkorns, Inhaber at Pfefferkorn's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast, wir freuen uns über Ihre Bewertung, die anderen Reisenden eine Hilfe bei der Auswahl ihres Feriendomizils sein soll.
Sie haben die angeführten Punkte alle positiv beurteilt, in Summe sind jedoch nur 3 von möglichen 5 Punkten herausgekommen. Für uns wäre es sehr hilfreich, wenn Sie noch einige Details anführen könnten, damit wir uns genau dort, wo es für Sie ( und unter Umständen auch für andere Gäste) relevant ist, noch bessere Leistungen abzurufen. Handelt es sich um einen Aufenthalt im vergangenen Sommer? Meinten Sie bei Ihrer Beurteilung schon unser Hotel, das seit dem 28. September - bis zum Beginn der Wintersaison am 5. Dezember - geschlossen ist und Ihre Bewertung am 30. Oktober abgegeben wurde?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stay in the Vorarlberg often and usually only manage a day trip to Lech in the summer. This year we stayed overnight in this lovely hotel and wish we had been able to stay longer. Lech is great for walking in the summer and when you check in to any hotel you get a receipt to take to the tourist office which gives you a card entitling you to free use on all of the cable cars and chair lifts and also buses during your stay. This saves a lot of money, particularly for couples and families. We checked in early before our room was ready but were given the receipt and our luggage was taken care off so that we could go straight off and explore. The location is great being on the main street opposite the bus stop, but was quiet in the summertime.
Our room when we returned was on the front, 3rd floor. It was large, very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, more like a suite and we had amazing views, plus 2 bathrooms (one with shower, one with bath). There was a dining table, sofa, TV and balcony and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was buffet style, but plentiful with lots of choice and very good and the dining room was delightful. We did not take dinner in the hotel so I cannot comment on the dining other than for breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Isabella and Julia Fitz at Reception. Harry, their Dad, led a guided walk on our second day which was included in the room price. This was excellent, being a lovely walk with lots of info about the area and Harry speaks perfect English (we were a mixed group, Germans, Austrians and Brits). We will certainly return next summer and hope to stay for a longer period and join in some more of Harry's wonderful walks, and also try out the hotel's steam room and massage facilities. This was a lovely experience for us and I would highly recommend this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Lech is quiet in the summer so I suspect all rooms will be similar in terms of that. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsbach-Haehnlein, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had the opportunity to stay again at the pfefferkorns for 6 nights. The hotel is built in what we would refer to as “Austrian alps style”, lots of beautiful detailed wooden walls, ceiling and more. Even the modern furniture in the rooms refers to that.
With the true naturally friendly staff, one feels at home right from the beginning. Even the car is parked by the staff at the hotels own garage.
Breakfast buffet is extensive. You may also get any additional wish fulfilled. Just ask.
The Bistro “sPfefferkörndl” offers delicate smaller and larger meals. The Bar in there has about everything even exotic you may want. Prices are at the expected level.
And, you are at downtown Lech, with all the shops, other bars and restaurants around.
We really can recommend the hotel, winter or summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDEelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel has exactly 4 relativel new rooms on 4th floor (panorama junioruite) that has staircase access only. Watch your head on varying door and ceiling heights in the floor if you are tall... All other rooms (= floor 1-3) are resonably maintained but COMPLETELY OUTDATED (70th style). Ironically the hotels brochure /website only shows pictures of the few new rooms trying to generate an illusion that all rooms look that way. If you are with the "lucky few" you get 4 star comfort with the only downturn beeing a new but somewhat uncomfortable mattress/pillow combination and unrelyable cable internet - wifi connection did not allow access throughout our complete stay.
I would rate the other rooms (=90% of th etotal available) two stars unless you savy a lifestyle of times long passed.The saver bet would be to book in a 4 star hotel that has all rooms renovated (such as nearby gottard)
Wellness are is small but newly renovated and basically consists of steam room and sauna (no pool/whirlpool). There are no outdoor areas. We could not find any other sports/leisure indoor hotel offerings. Ski rental facilities seem to be extremely outdated.
The restaurant is updated and in traditional wooden alpine style. If the hotely is busy i.e at breakfast times it seems to be too small. Breakfast itself is relatively uninpressive for a 4 star hotel. It consists of a small food platter , two juices, self service tea, 1-2 cheese styles, 2 sausage stayles, ham and (ready made scrambled eggs) , jam, joghurt and ready made kellogs cerials. Normal coffe and eggstyles are served by request. If was shocking to find that an extra fee for cappucino (3EUR per cup) is levied to breakfast gests.
Half board in the evening offers two choices of main dishes and could be gererally rated at acceptable canteen quality. Ready made food ingredients (like sauces, soup dumplings, spätzle, tortellini, some soups are spiced up or mixed up with some fresh ingredients for simple maindishes such as schnitzel, tiroler gröstl, polenta,fried cheese etc. Unfortunately the simple austrian traditional highlights such as schnitzel turned out to be the lowest rated dishes during our stay. The official EUR 32 surcharge for halfboard represents bad value for money compared with other 4 star hotels in lech if you have to pay it. I have seen many more attractive 4 star half board arrangements in a similar price range in lech with only the one in Tannberger Hof beeing worse so far. Drink prices are acceptable.
Staff: Service staff consists of many very young employees who seem to try hard. Senior owner seems to be professional but only rarely active in daily business. Junior owner ignores guests. Front end staff is disorganized with what prooved to be a fake kind of friedlyness. Double booking of the last day of our stay ended in an earlier departure. No matter if it was a misunderstanding (staffs excuse) or- not our room got cleaned out without our approval "because someone else booked it on the internet" beeing the official response. Our belongings ended in another (inferior because outdated room) trashed into a plastic box. Wrinkled and mixed up -with some items beeing forgotten in the old room including but not limited to our valuables in the safety box. We found it easy to get them back though as the door to the old room was wide open und luckily no one else seemed to have looked into taking something.No views of the urgently awaited high profile guests,though as the room was still uncleaned in the afternoon. We decided it was time to go- after payment the frieddlyness of front end staff had completely disappeared - no excuse no goodbye. Even declined to park the car for the remining hours of the ruined day "because other guests woulkd arrive soon" and obviously to lazy to park it in the garage again. When the last euro was spent the true face of the hotel was finally revealed. Happy holidays !

Room Tip: All 4 newer rooms are on the 4th floor. Avoid all others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfefferkorns, Manager at Pfefferkorn's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr …

die Antwort auf Ihre "Bewertung" gebe ich auf Deutsch, da dies unser beider Muttersprache ist und ich mir nicht die Blöße einer zweitklassigen Übersetzung geben möchte.

Zur Vorgeschichte: Sie haben bei uns im August ein schönes Panorama-Zimmer gebucht und bewohnt. Und weil es Ihnen in unserem Hotel anscheinend sehr gut gefallen hat, wollten Sie unbedingt verlängern. Da dieses Zimmer aber ab dem nächsten Tag ausdrücklich von einem Stammgast für eine Woche gebucht und anbezahlt war, haben wir mit Ihnen ein Umsiedeln in eine Suite (zum gleichen Preis ) besprochen. Sie haben sich diese auch angesehen und als Ihren Ansprüchen entsprechend bewertet. Wir haben Ihnen auch selbstverständlich angeboten, bei der Umsiedlung so viel wie möglich abzunehmen. Dies wurde von Ihnen auch positiv angenommen. Sie wollten uns bis spätestens um 11:00 (nach dem Frühstück am nächsten Morgen) Bescheid geben, ob Sie dieses Angebot annehmen oder abreisen werden. Nur .... die Antwort von Ihnen haben wir nicht erhalten - all Ihre Sachen waren im Zimmer verteilt und Sie waren den ganzen Tag über nicht erreichbar. Ihr Mobil-Telefon, dessen Rufnummer wir hatten, haben Sie nicht abgenommen. Da aber die Gäste angereist sind und das Zimmer beziehen wollten, haben wir Ihre Sachen zusammengetan und in die andere Suite transferiert. Als Sie dann um 16:30 erschienen sind, waren Sie zu unserer Überraschung sehr aufgebracht, obwohl ein allfälliger Fehler eigentlich nur bei Ihnen lag! Nachdem Sie dann Ihren PKW aus unserer Tiefgarage vor das Hotel bringen und von unseren Mitarbeitern an der Reception beladen ließen, wollten Sie, dass wir das Auto wieder in unsere Garage stellen. Nachdem aber unser Hausmeister Ihnen gesagt hat, dass er Ihren Wagen dort nicht mehr parken kann, da Sie ja abreisen wollen und wir den Platz für die neuen Gäste benötigen, sind Sie wutentbrannt (wütend auf Sie selbst ?) abgereist. Obige "Bewertung" unseres Hotels war dann Ihre Antwort. Nun muss ich schon - bevor ich auf die einzelnen Punkte eingehe - grundsätzlich anmerken, dass tripadvisor eine Plattform ist, um interessierten Gästen eine authentische Auskunft über das Haus und den dort verbrachten Aufenthalt zu geben. Auf keinen Fall ist es zielführend oder so gedacht, dass jemand Rache nehmen kann und lauter Unwahrheiten anbringt.

Da wir in Österreich über sehr gute Baunormen, die von den Behörden vorgeschrieben und kontrolliert werden, verfügen, sind die Durchgangshöhen überall entsprechend!
Wenn Sie von allen anderen Zimmern im gesamten Haus, die Sie nie (bis auf eines) gesehen haben, sprechen und diese den 70er Jahren zuordnen, muss ich feststellen, dass das Hotel im Winter 1986/87 eröffnet wurde und schon damals als sehr vorausschauend geplant und ausgeführt wurde.

Die Aufnahmen der Zimmer und Räumlichkeiten auf der Homepage spiegeln das gesamte Hotel wieder und beschränken sich nicht - wie von Ihnen fälschlich behauptet - auf 4 Panorama Zimmer.

Dass die wifi- Verbindung nicht im ganzen Haus einwandfrei funktioniert hat, ist richtig. Dies wurde Ihnen auch mitgeteilt und angeboten, in der Hotel-Lobby diese Dienste in Anspruch zu nehmen. Zwischenzeitlich wurde dieses kostenlose Angebot von der Herstellerfirma eindeutig verbessert.

Wenn Sie aber 90% unserer Suiten und Komfort-Doppelzimmer mit 2 Sternen bewerten, muss ich eindeutig Ihrer Kompetenz und Ehrlichkeit widersprechen. Sie haben außer 2 Zimmern, die Ihnen so gefallen haben, dass Sie verlängern wollten, keine weiteren gesehen. Es bestehen in Österreich - so wie auch in Deutschland und weiteren Ländern in Europa - Kategorisierungs-Kommissionen, die alle 3 Jahre wiederkehrende Hotelbesichtigungen durchführen um die Qualität der Häuser ihren Sternen entsprechend zu garantieren. Als Obmann der Fachgruppe Hotellerie in der Wirtschaftskammer Vorarlberg bin ich auch Mitglied einer solchen Kommission und weiß eigentlich schon, worauf es ankommt!

Unsere neue Wellness-Anlage mit Finnischer Sauna, Türkischem Dampfbad, Infrarot-Kabine und Tepidarium mit Sole-Inhalation-Möglichkeit wurde im vergangenen Herbst auf 150m² ganz neu konzipiert und gebaut. Sie ist ein weiteres Highlight in unserem von den meisten Gästen sehr gut bewerteten Hotel. Ein Hallenbad oder Außenanlagen werden weder im Hausprospekt noch auf unserer Homepage angeboten.

Wenn Sie vom Skiverleih, der veraltet sein soll, sprechen, wird es langsam lächerlich, da Sie Ihren Aufenthalt im August diesen Jahres bei schönstem warmem Sommerwetter verbrachten und keinen Bedarf an Skiausrüstung hatten!! Zudem sind diese speziellen Räumlichkeiten im Sommer gar nicht zugänglich.

Wenn Sie über unser schönes, stilvolles Restaurant, das umfangreiche Frühstücksbuffet und das Abendmenu (Kantinen-Qualität) lästern, passt dies zu Ihrem unqualifizierten Stil, entspricht aber - so wie alles bisher - nicht den Tatsachen! Die von Ihnen angeführten Speisen konnten Sie beim besten Willen nicht an einem Abend verzehren (länger waren Sie ja nicht bei uns) und daher auch nicht beurteilen.

Über unsere tüchtigen Mitarbeiter im Service haben wir - bis auf Ihre "Ansage" - nur lobende Worte gehört. Dass Sie sich erdreisten, über meine geleistete Arbeit in meinem Betrieb ein Urteil zu fällen, zeigt deutlich Ihr Unvermögen, ein halbwegs neutrales Statement abzugeben. Einen Junior owner gibt es nicht, es sei denn, Sie meinen meine 5 Jahre alte Tochter. Und die ist auf Grund Ihres Wesens der Liebling unsere Gäste. Was die Arbeit und Freundlichkeit meiner Mitarbeiter am Front Office betrifft, möchte ich nur auf die Aussagen in den vielen ausgezeichneten und lobenden Bewertungen auf tripadvisor und in unserem Gästebuch hinweisen.

Alles in Allem ist Ihr "Beitrag" am peinlichsten für Sie selbst und wird in dieser Form sicherlich keine Nachahmer finden. Sie müssen in Zukunft eine andere Plattform finden, um sich Ihren Frust - woher der auch immer kommen mag - von der Seele zu schreiben.

Für Lob oder auch berechtigte Kritik sind wir jederzeit offen, nicht aber in so einer niederen Form!

Pfefferkorn Günter
(Inhaber von "Pfefferkorn's"-Hotel****)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed with a group of people that were skiing for a long weekend at the beginning of March. Dinner was in the hotel every night, with half board. The room was a good size, suite style with a separate lounge and TV area.

Overall the Pfefferkorn is in a great location and is a good quality Austrian style hotel, 4 star. The set menu is good and the service is also good, with the two daughters of the owners working the front desk being very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the sun deck, they don't offer much privacy. Ski hire shop downstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennyboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#43 of 51 in Lech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#30 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tannbergerhof
Hotel Tannbergerhof
#25 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adler Hotel Palma
Adler Hotel Palma
#28 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Post Hotel
Gasthof Post Hotel
#27 of 51 in Lech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pfefferkorn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pfefferkorn's Hotel

Property: Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Address: Hnr. 138 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pfefferkorn's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Lech -manifold and tasteful as a Pfefferkorn.With Pfefferkorn’s Hotel you chose a hotel in Lech, right in the centre. Your winter holidays will be perfect. The classical spice of Pfefferkorn’sOur recipe for your perfect winter holidays in Lech am Arlberg: immediately when entering the hotel in Lech you will feel the main constituent – comfortable ambiance! This perfectly combined with exclusive comfort in our spacious rooms and suites, as well as the sauna scenery for your relaxation result in the perfect winter holidays in Lech. Tasteful – not only by name ...Pfefferkorn’s restaurants in Lech am Arlberg serve up! Our restaurants and bars in Lech am Arlberg arrange for your holidays to melt on your tongue. Our Pfefferkörndl spoils you with a large number of delicacies. Live to see the culinary delight of the finest after a beautiful summer day in Lech. Those seeking rest love our sunny terrace with the amazing view of the mountains surrounding Lech. Your winter holidays in Lech can be so easy-going.In wintertime the Icebar and peppers club lounge invite to light-hearted companionship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Pfefferkorn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing