We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting stay”
Review of Hotel Montfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montfort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An interesting stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We often choose Lech as our skiing destination, it offers a more refined experience to its neighbouring St Anton.

My wife and I like something that's not too far from the ski lifts and accommodation that offers comfort; which the Montfort does.

We booked this break with Ski total which offers reasonable deals at a fair price. My wife and I do have high expectations from our choices, which is reasonable if you are going for top end.

Having stayed at the Montfort before, we were hoping we would have a similar experience. I have to say we had mixed feedback. The standard of cuisine was very good, but let's be clear the wine is complementary for a reason. However, I do recommend the house champagne at €40 a bottle.

The staff were very pleasant but were under strict instructions to work within the permitted boundaries, for example breakfast could not be served until 8:00 am and not a minute before.

The ski total regiment was run by Sargent Major Karolina, which I think was here first season as the chief, I think she wanted to do a good job, but needed to work on the people skills a little. But don't let that put you off. Every thing else was good and we still enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room 8 and 10, you will pay a supplement but it is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Situated just 2 minutes walk from centre of Lech and the main gondolas and chair lifts so a great location for skiers. It is also adjacent to the nursery slopes. Hotel is compact but has good facilities including a jaccuzi, sauna and steam room. My only criticism is that it lacks a lounge or TV room to relax in. During my stay the manager and staff were excellent and the food as good as anywhere in town. They could not do enough to ensure guests had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Visitors to Lech need to be aware the church bells chime on the quarter hour throughout the night wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westonsupermackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Six of us stayed at the Montfort last week and were very impressed with both the standard of accommodation and all the staff. Despite being a young team they were attentive and always friendly whether working or in their own time.The food was very impressive both in quantity and quality, the best we have had from a Ski Total holiday. Well done to the Montfort team!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 8,9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betreibsbericht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chalet Hotel Montfort with Ski Total last week and had a brilliant time. The location is perfect as it is so close to the town centre and main lifts. When you look around and see hotels with blacked out limos outside, and shops with Bentley skis for sale you know you have come to a high class place which makes you appreciate the value of the holiday even more! The staff led by Carolina were brilliant, the food, especially the evening meal, was great. Only downside on food was that the hot breakfast option and evening meal cheese course were very small portion sizes. The beds were really comfy and the duvets and pilots felt really good quality (down) so we slept well. The staff made lots of nice touches like, chocolates on our bed on valentines day, a cake for one of the guests birthdays etc so you can tell they care.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MAHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent a week at the Montfort at the end of January, being regular travellers with Ski Total and keen to try their new property in Lech. I will try to avoid confusing this review of the property with the overall holiday experience but we undoubtedly spent the week in a very positive frame of mind given the dump of snow the weekend we arrived and generally clear conditions for the rest of the week!

Firstly, the location is excellent. It’s not ski in-ski out so there is a small amount of walking in ski boots required but it’s only a few minutes’ walk to the Hotel Berghof’s lift which takes you down to street level and a few more minutes’ walk to the Schlegelkopf or Rufikopf chair lifts. The central location also makes it easy if you want to go out for a change of scenery in the evening without worrying about bus times.

I can’t praise the staff highly enough which is undoubtedly a positive reflection on Karolina’s management. Without exception they were friendly, engaging, helpful and proactive in meeting our needs which is rare in a team so young.

The food was good and plentiful and the selection of inclusive wines very drinkable and poured unstintingly. Unfortunately I only got to try the afternoon tea a couple of times as the timing from 4 to 5 means a choice between tea or après ski! That also meant we only tried the spa area out once but it was as good or better than those we've experienced in other similarly rated chalets previously. Back to the subject of dinner, the staff night off is Tuesday, earlier in the week than we’ve experienced at other properties, so it’s worth investigating options and making a booking before leaving the UK if you want to ensure a reservation at the restaurant of your choice.

The room (we were in no.7) was clean and comfortable though a little more cramped than those we’ve stayed in on previous chalet holidays. Along with the fact that the lounge area is also quite small I can imagine the property becoming a little claustrophobic if bad weather prevented guests getting out to the slopes during the day. Facilities in the room were adequate for our needs though we overlooked the note in the brochure that basic toiletries are only provided in platinum properties. Karolina kindly hunted out the remains of a bottle of shampoo left by a previous guest so it wasn’t a big problem but I note this for awareness of anyone reading this about to pack for their trip.

Lech and Zurs continues to provide a great ski experience and The Montfort offers a good value package in what is an otherwise expensive area. Would definitely recommend to other couples/parties planning a ski trip to Lech.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyeardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a week over Christmas at this hotel. The Hotel is clean and tidy and the staff were all friendly and attentive, going above and beyond what needed to be done. Carolina made sure that our Christmas was a home from home experience with many thoughtful touches. Christmas cards and chocolates in the room, champagne and canapes Christmas eve and carol singing on the terrace. The food all week was lovely and there was plenty of it. Coming from a family that enjoys food we were worried at other reviews saying portions were small. This was certainly not a problem, food was plentiful. Huge homemade mince pies at afternoon tea were a particular favourite!
Overall, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would certainly go back. No negatives.

Room Tip: All rooms were more than adequate but some have been updated. I stayed in room 8 and was more than h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I traveled with a group over New Year which made it a little pricey but the room was good, food very good and staff excellent! I loved the boot warmers (but maybe they are everywhere now- I hadn't been skiing for 12 yrs!) The only disappointment was that the Jacuzzi was out of order for the entire week. I big disappointment if you like nothing but a Jacuzzi after a hard days ski. Location was pretty good too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bungy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#4 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#6 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristberg
Hotel Kristberg
#8 of 51 in Lech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montfort

Property: Hotel Montfort
Address: Anger 304 | Lech am Arlberg, Lech, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montfort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing