We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Porvoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just to tell everyone that the SPA is OK and the hotel is just basic. Meaning barely OK. Starting with the logo on the roof, that could and should say the whole name "AULANKO" and not just "NKO". -> Please switch the lamps or the fuse.
Coming to the reception. It would be nice to hear that someone would say; -Good day and welcome to our hotel, how can we help you? OR Is there something else that we can do for you? That did not happen!! Coming attitude of the personnel. This is not what I would expect from a place like this. Example: There was a plate that got broken by a boy with his mother, the personnel just complained and gave the mother a reprimand that; -You could have picked up the pieces or at least told us about it.... Like no one in the restaurant didn't hear that plate got broken.
The service from the maintenance people were friendly and nice and the rooms were clean and nice as expected, except for the broken remote control for the TV set. There is though one thing that could be done better. All the trollies that are hanging around in the corridors could be taken away during lunch and break times. Meaning that people would not have to smell all the dishes and linings that are gathered during cleaning rooms.
Sorry to say but service mindset is not really where it should beat at this place. Br, Johan Halvarsson

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
33
23
2
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here with my wife and out 3 year old son. We enjoyed the spa very much. It was small and functional and basically had everything we needed. At first we were given a really crappy room on the 1st floor with cars parked 10m from our window - absolutely no privacy. After complaining about the issue we agreed to upgrade (is this a trick - I don't know :) to a higher class room, which was just slightly more expensive and the turned out to be OK.

In general the rooms are OK but outdated and nothing spectacular.

The thing that bothered us the most was the breakfast. Really basic stuff with the cheapest ingredients. We spent a lot of time outdoors and at the spa and would certainly have loved a good delicious breakfast. Dinner was also totally unremarkable, something you get from any chain restaurant anywhere.

At one point at 10pm I felt thirsty and thought about getting a bottle of pepsi from the spa desk. Price of 0,5L of soda: 4 euros 10 cents. No thanks! A rip off.

Probably not coming back. I'm confident I can find better value easily.

Room Tip: 1xx rooms are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This Hotel is located on very nice lake area with good walkways. There is also 2 golf courses nearby, one right next in 100 meters. Spa section is quite nice with different pools and slide to the water. I think the kids would love this. These are positive points in this hotel.

Rooms are outdated and sounds from neighbour rooms can be heard too easily. Room was clean anyway. Service in a restaurant should be better. I was part of group about 20 people at the dinner and we waited the main cource about 1,5 hours. Also the attitude of restaurant staff should be updated.

Breakfast was average and I found everything I wanted exept bacon. I quess I would come here again with our young kids to enjoy the spa. The price should be very low to do that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anttiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Were here 4 days with my husband and dog. Very nice and relaxing place with good food, backyard door in the hotel room - easy to get out with the dog, excellent pool area with outdoor pool and several water massage places, good walking/jogging routes, easy to hire a canoe or bicycle, horse stable next to the hotel - I called the stables and get a private riding tour for the next day. Also the golf greens looked nice. 4 km to the centrum, we walked that twice with the dog to see the nice Hameenlinna city and the museums. Even visited the outdoor summer theater "All about Shakespeare" by foot from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 189934Kap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Big difference between promises at the website and the reality. Personal poorly motivated, atmosphere sad... Sorry, but it was like that!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Attended to big conference at Aulanko once again.

Hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings and the Spa is quite OK. Unfortunately rooms are quite outdated, they are not clean and the restaurant food isn't what it should be with prices like that.

Room Tip: There are many suites if you can afford one - some of them have Saunas, Jacuzzis +++ All the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is ok conference hotel, but nothing special. Definitely needs some upgrade. Breakfast was weaker than S-Group hotels. Would I stay there again? No

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haemeenlinna
2.0 mi away
Cumulus Hameenlinna
Cumulus Hameenlinna
#2 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.9 mi away
Vanajanlinna
Vanajanlinna
#1 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Petays Resort
Petays Resort
#1 of 1 in Tyrvanto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotelli Emilia
Hotelli Emilia
#4 of 5 in Haemeenlinna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
23.8 mi away
Jokelan Kartano
Jokelan Kartano
#1 of 1 in Hameenkoski
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko

Property: Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
Address: Aulangontie 93, Haemeenlinna 13220, Finland
Region: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Haemeenlinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Haemeenlinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko
Spa Hotel Rantasipi Aulanko Finland/Haemeenlinna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing