We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, without fitness room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cergy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed 5 nights, and spent more time than expected at the hotel. I was positively surprised about the kettle for tea/coffee in the room, and the fridge was big enough to put some food inside. The TV was small, the bathroom great - with MUCH lighting (contrary to another review). The free internet connection was very slow at times during the week, but great on the weekend. Parking is pricey at 6€ per day, and should be free. My big disappointment was that there was no fitness room in the hotel since it is listed as one of the assets of the hotel on the accorhotels website. I was referred to the nearby gym, where I had to pay 10€ for one visit (while 30€ is the price for one MONTH). Another thing I did not like was that I was called by the reception the day I stayed in the room for most of the time and asked, whether I wanted my room to be done - but then, I understand why. Another day I returned and found that someone had been in my room and opened the window, and the cleaning lady had not even been in the room yet. Who had entered and why?
All in all, a pleasant stay and I could imagine coming back next time. I did not have any food at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h2tni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here weekend of Easter with a group of peoplefrom UK.Coming from Uk it is easy to get to via A16, onto A15 and only a couple of minutes from the motorway to the hotel. The reception was small, efficient, quick check in. There is NO restauarant in this 4*Hotel so I dont know how it gets its ratings!!Room rates are reasonable for the Greater Paris area, breakfast is 14 Euros!!.However if with a coach group you get very basic fare-a small croissant, and bread roll tea/coffee orange juice and thats about it...The rooms are of an acceptable standard, reasonably roomy, with big TV, tea/cofee making facilties-however if you run out of the sachets you have to pay for more!!!Rooms are quiet and pleasant with adjustable heating to suit.The hotel only has a small bar which in the evening is staffed by the night porter/.receptionist/general dogsbody... so again dont know how its rated as 4*??Prices a little cheaper than central Paris - 3.5Euro small beer, 5 Euro glass wine etc. Other drinks can be expensive, but not quiet as bad as Paris itself.Nearby (just outside) is a Chinese buffet type resataurant - eat as much as you like for 15Euro -part of group went there and stated was 'okay'. Also if you want to have a bigger breakfast 2 minutes away is a McDonalds!!Just along the road a few minutes walk is a Buffalo Grill so you can eat somewhere reasonably close.The hotel is only 30-45mins away from Arch De Triumph via A15, A86 and via La Defense (easiest route). This is a typical outer Paris hotel no greta frills, but adequate for your needs. Reasonably friendly staff, fairly efficient, great comfy rooms with nice beds. It is not however a 4* rating...I havce been here a couple of times now and really not changed much since my first visit in 2009. Would stay again and nicer than some of the cheaper ranges of hotels. Coaches can park outside if you can avoid the walls and concrete flower pot in the middle, or on road outsides as long as you dont block the hotel parking garage. Overall reasonable stay but no great shakes....

Room Tip: Try to avoid lift area as can be a little noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Have you ever experienced the change of your hotel room three times in a night? Unfortunatetly I had during my stay in Mercure. I tried to start to sleep around midnight in room 104, but I was disturbed every 15 minutes by a terrible noise. At 1 am I called the reception to explain the problem and the guy immediatly understood what I was talking about. So I got a new room, n. 404, but I was disturbed again by the noise that was not so strong as in the first floor, but anyway it was something disturbing my sleep. I called again the refeption complaying and, finally, I got room n. 501 where I could start my sleeping at 2 am in a quiet and warmer room. Warmer than the two noisy ones where the noise might have came from
the heather that was not working properly. The next days I was charged euro 135 for this terrible night! Last but not least, I wonder why they do not put a warning table in the parking place just in front of the entrance of the hotel garage. In fact, if you have my same bad idea to park there, you won't be able to exit smoothly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ele2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEDORAT, Manager at Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Sorry again for this noise we have not explained. We don't understand as well what happened.
After you explained us, we went all the day in these rooms ; the night receptionnist went to hear each night after your departure. I am so sorry to not be able to give you a clear explication, instead that it was something very very "exceptionnal".
We think, where you explained was the noise, that it can be a problem betwen the very cold weather and the outsite structure of the building. Unfortunatly, we are not able to previous this fact.
Be sure that we keep your desappointment as something very serious, and try, if it comes back, to be able to give a solution.

Concerning the parking place, you are right ; we will follow your idea and put a warning instruction to park just a little car on this place. Thank you again.

Sure of your understanding, we hope welcoming you for your next visit in Cergy, and we assure you of our best attention for an agreable stay, as we try for each of our costumers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Munich
1
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great room, well furnished, good bed, clean bathroom, excellent shower.

Excellent price.

Location not the most quiet but convenient for travelers.

What more can one ask?

The only criticism was that the room was overheated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel was a good standard but didn't have a restaurant, only fast food or chinese close by, about half hour walk to good restaurant.
We went on a coach holiday with Newmarket holidays and the breakfast included for us was awful, small croissent, dry bread and one butter and one jam! The breakfast in the restaurant was much better with choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham and pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendybru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hottel itself was lovely, but we did have a couple of small problems, for one the hotels bar claimed to have most spirits stocked but when we stayed there, there was no vokda or rum. The prices are also a bit expensive it cost us £22 for two drinks so you have been warned. Other people we spoke to compalined they had to pay if they wanted any more milk (cream) for the room. The hotels resturants were closed so we popped down to the local harbour a 5-10min taxi ride away and so worth it a very cute small harbour with bars and resturants.
The distance to Paris was about 45mins by coach and well worth a visit but make sure you have money as Paris can be very expensive to eat and drink in.

Room Tip: Clean with showers and a televison in the room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyns1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEDORAT, Directeur général at Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for you comments. We are very happy to see that the room is as you expected. Sorry for the spirits you have not found. Be sure that we have do necessary for the new stock. I think you were travelling wiht a group, and concerning the "extras" for the rooms, in fact they are to settle for everyboddy. We thank you again to have taken time to do your comments. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming for a next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Leek
1
Reviewed 9 July 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cergy
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cergy Pontoise
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cergy Pontoise Le Port
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Cergy Saint Christophe
Ibis Budget Cergy Saint Christop...
#4 of 19 in Cergy-Pontoise
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Campanile Cergy Pontoise
1.2 mi away
Hotel au Week-End
Hotel au Week-End
#4 of 11 in Cergy
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Green Des Impressionnistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre

Address: 3 Place des Chenes | Emeraude, 95000 Cergy, Cergy-Pontoise, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Cergy-Pontoise > Cergy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cergy
Price Range: £52 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the new town Cergy Pontoise. It offers a special welcome in warm surroundings. 56 Elegantly furnished cosy and quiet air-conditioned rooms (private bathrooms with separate toilets). Bar. Meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cergy Pontoise Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing