We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Kent, Ohio USA.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful retreat”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful village, that is well worth the visit. Sharon, the owner is extremely helpful, and made our one night stay most pleasant. We had a delicious meal at the Goats Head pub across the square ( a 50 yard walk!).
We were on the third floor, in a lovely room with a skylight. Just a word of warning if you can't do stairs this wouldn't work for you.
Breakfast was excellent, and the treats in the dining room were wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting Abbots Bromley. All the hostelries are within walking distance and always make our guests welcome. Due to the style of the building we do have a few stairs! However there are rooms on the first floor if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
48
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Thank you Jayne for a lovely two nights at the start of our UK trip, wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely comfy bed and lots of extras. Everything you need is there plus more. Brownies were delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzah57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent B&B, Jayne is very welcoming. The chocolate brownies are delicious. Home from home feel. Stayed here with my friend the night before her wedding and it felt like we were in our own home. Bride was very relaxed, breakfast was lovely. Whole experience was relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecknJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the Bagot room during our visit to Alton towers ad it was (like I said in the title) just perfect! The rooms are spacious with en suite, equipped with an emergency bucket with some essentials and plenty of gorgeous lush producs. The bed we slept in is one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The cookies in the room were to die for (I must have the recipe :D) the locations itself in amazing, such a peaceful village. The breakfast was top notch with everything you could possibly want- cooked breakfast, fruit, cereal, juice, yoghurt... It was just amazing! And Jayne is definitely a brilliant host! Will be going back if we visit Alton towers again!! Loved it there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarysX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Buttercross B&B is perfect. We stayed with friends (each with little ones under 5) for 2 nights for a trip to Alton Towers. The rooms are lovely - so pretty and homely and everything has been thought of. The owner was even kind enough to sort out a stair gate for us when we arrived and was a fantastic host throughout. Kind, welcoming and lovely with the kids. Breakfast was delicious both mornings and a lovely choice in a lovely setting. The homemade cookies in the rooms are a really nice touch, as is the emergency bucket in each room filled with toiletry bits you may have forgotten. And the brownies were gorgeous - and perfect for when we got
back in the evening! Good places to eat nearby too. Coach and Horses were very welcoming, great beer garden and games and ice lollies made kids very welcome. Ruchi Indian restaurant was also very nice, welcoming with kids. Abbots Bromley is a lovely little village. A fantastic weekend away and Buttercross is a real find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
So glad that your enjoyed your stay here; its always a joy to have little ones around and yours were perfect little guests. We are placed very well for Alton Towers and other family activities; also Abbots Bromley has great ameneties for little ones with a fab under 5's play area so I do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The title of my review says it all!

Stayed just one night on business and this was my first stay and will not be my last.

The village is a picture postcard and has 4 pubs, that are all really good, giving you plenty of choice if you are looking for somewhere to eat.

Buttercross B&B really is first class, the rooms are immaculately clean with great decor and are very comfortable. The attention to detail that Jayne has gone too has really made the difference and made the stay a memorable one.

In addition Jayne cooks a mean breakfast and is the perfect host.

Looking forward to my next stay, which I hope will be very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are as nice as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
thank you for your lovely review, its so nice to have comments from business guests - hope you felt it was more of a mini break than work! We look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Abbots Bromley is one of those charming and quaint villages that us city folk dream of and Buttercross B&B compliments it perfectly. The property is beautifully decorated with outstanding personal touches like homemade biscuits and brownies (still warm!!). Jayne was a brilliant host who went out of went out of her way to make us feel at home. We will definitely be visiting Buttercross again and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Rachel_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
what wonderfully kind words, thank you. We are always striving to give our guests the best possible experience here at Buttercross. You timed your arrival perfectly for the new batch of brownies too! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbots Bromley
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.2 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 10 in Rugeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Property: Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercross Bed And Breakfast Abbots Bromley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing