We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Warm welcome and very clean and tidy room. Good breakfast. Unfortunately sink in room was very small and the hand soap provided smaller still! Handwash would be better than the tiny soap fragment provided. The village was quiet and interesting and a good selection of places to eat in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT-bf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Abbots Bromley. It is a beautiful village with lots of interesting things to do and see and as you found plenty of places to eat! The sink in the en-suites are only hand basins, however I can change the soap! I do like the hygienic individual soaps that can be thrown away after the guest has left but I will look at alternative options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just returned from 4 perfect days spent at Buttercross. What a delightful little place! It was cozy, warm and welcoming and the breakfasts perfect. It is ideally positioned and our room (Buttercross) had a gorgeous view of the little marketplace. After 3 weeks of traveling in Europe it felt like coming home - I can't imagine finding better in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad that you found it cozy, warm and welcoming as it is our aim to provide a home from home experience where you are able to relax. I think 'Buttercross' has one of the best views of the lovely village market place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful village, that is well worth the visit. Sharon, the owner is extremely helpful, and made our one night stay most pleasant. We had a delicious meal at the Goats Head pub across the square ( a 50 yard walk!).
We were on the third floor, in a lovely room with a skylight. Just a word of warning if you can't do stairs this wouldn't work for you.
Breakfast was excellent, and the treats in the dining room were wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting Abbots Bromley. All the hostelries are within walking distance and always make our guests welcome. Due to the style of the building we do have a few stairs! However there are rooms on the first floor if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Thank you Jayne for a lovely two nights at the start of our UK trip, wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely comfy bed and lots of extras. Everything you need is there plus more. Brownies were delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzah57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent B&B, Jayne is very welcoming. The chocolate brownies are delicious. Home from home feel. Stayed here with my friend the night before her wedding and it felt like we were in our own home. Bride was very relaxed, breakfast was lovely. Whole experience was relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecknJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the Bagot room during our visit to Alton towers ad it was (like I said in the title) just perfect! The rooms are spacious with en suite, equipped with an emergency bucket with some essentials and plenty of gorgeous lush producs. The bed we slept in is one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The cookies in the room were to die for (I must have the recipe :D) the locations itself in amazing, such a peaceful village. The breakfast was top notch with everything you could possibly want- cooked breakfast, fruit, cereal, juice, yoghurt... It was just amazing! And Jayne is definitely a brilliant host! Will be going back if we visit Alton towers again!! Loved it there!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarysX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Buttercross B&B is perfect. We stayed with friends (each with little ones under 5) for 2 nights for a trip to Alton Towers. The rooms are lovely - so pretty and homely and everything has been thought of. The owner was even kind enough to sort out a stair gate for us when we arrived and was a fantastic host throughout. Kind, welcoming and lovely with the kids. Breakfast was delicious both mornings and a lovely choice in a lovely setting. The homemade cookies in the rooms are a really nice touch, as is the emergency bucket in each room filled with toiletry bits you may have forgotten. And the brownies were gorgeous - and perfect for when we got
back in the evening! Good places to eat nearby too. Coach and Horses were very welcoming, great beer garden and games and ice lollies made kids very welcome. Ruchi Indian restaurant was also very nice, welcoming with kids. Abbots Bromley is a lovely little village. A fantastic weekend away and Buttercross is a real find.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ringles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

So glad that your enjoyed your stay here; its always a joy to have little ones around and yours were perfect little guests. We are placed very well for Alton Towers and other family activities; also Abbots Bromley has great ameneties for little ones with a fab under 5's play area so I do hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbots Bromley
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Rugeley
Travelodge Rugeley
#2 of 3 in Rugeley
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marsh Farm Bed & Breakfast
Marsh Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Abbots Bromley
42 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 9 in Rugeley
429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Buttercross Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttercross Bed And Breakfast Abbots Bromley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing