We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Buttercross !!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just the one night to be near the Staffordshire showground for the classic bike show . What a little gem, this is the best B and B we have every stayed in ,we had a comfy king size bed , bathrobes, and soft and fluffy white towels ,if you didn't fancy a shower there is a bathroom with a large bath that can be used as.well , there was also a little tea trolley with homemade cookies and a selection of teas and coffees and hot chocolate in our room , also fresh milk and bottled water in a small fridge in the breakfast room , breakfast was plentiful and very tasty with plenty of choices , and you could also finish of with some homemade cakes , nothing was to much trouble for our host Sharon who made you feel at home . I was debating whether to review this one as I want to keep it a secret !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dengriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your amazing review. It looks like Buttercross ticked a lot of boxes for you! I am so glad that you really enjoyed staying with us for your visit to the Staffordshire show ground. It was a pleasure to have you stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

One of the best places I have ever stayed. It is spotlessly clean,extremely comfortable and very stylish.The owner is welcoming,hospitable and genuinely caring.Lots of very thoughtful little extras like home made cakes for guests and glossy magazines in the breakfast/sitting room are provided and it is also great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmalaprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Buttercross to be comfortable and welcoming. So important when you are travelling away from home alone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed three days at Buttercross. I was comfortable and made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for Sharon. The accommodation was a true home from home, the breakfast was first class with a wide choice on offer. The village offers a variety of venues to eat and drink and Buttercross is ideally located for anyone who takes part in outdoor activities such as walking cycling and sailing. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the on suite was spotless. I have no hesitation in recommending the established and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188quartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you found everything to your liking. We try to make a good balance between the home comforts and the luxury of staying away. The village and neighbouring areas have a lot to offer. Great places to eat and drink and lots of places to visit. I hope we see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights
Room good, clean, comfy and spacious
Plenty of local pubs for food and one curry house
The owner Sharon could not have been more helpful
Pleasant stay would recommend
Good local walks, fishing and sailing nearby
Great time

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Buttercross. We are ideally situated for a short walk to all the local hostelries! All of which offer Great food and friendly service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Warm welcome and very clean and tidy room. Good breakfast. Unfortunately sink in room was very small and the hand soap provided smaller still! Handwash would be better than the tiny soap fragment provided. The village was quiet and interesting and a good selection of places to eat in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT-bf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Abbots Bromley. It is a beautiful village with lots of interesting things to do and see and as you found plenty of places to eat! The sink in the en-suites are only hand basins, however I can change the soap! I do like the hygienic individual soaps that can be thrown away after the guest has left but I will look at alternative options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just returned from 4 perfect days spent at Buttercross. What a delightful little place! It was cozy, warm and welcoming and the breakfasts perfect. It is ideally positioned and our room (Buttercross) had a gorgeous view of the little marketplace. After 3 weeks of traveling in Europe it felt like coming home - I can't imagine finding better in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad that you found it cozy, warm and welcoming as it is our aim to provide a home from home experience where you are able to relax. I think 'Buttercross' has one of the best views of the lovely village market place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful village, that is well worth the visit. Sharon, the owner is extremely helpful, and made our one night stay most pleasant. We had a delicious meal at the Goats Head pub across the square ( a 50 yard walk!).
We were on the third floor, in a lovely room with a skylight. Just a word of warning if you can't do stairs this wouldn't work for you.
Breakfast was excellent, and the treats in the dining room were wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting Abbots Bromley. All the hostelries are within walking distance and always make our guests welcome. Due to the style of the building we do have a few stairs! However there are rooms on the first floor if required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbots Bromley
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Rugeley
Travelodge Rugeley
#2 of 3 in Rugeley
154 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.9 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marsh Farm Bed & Breakfast
Marsh Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Abbots Bromley
42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
3.2 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 9 in Rugeley
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range: £89 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttercross Bed And Breakfast Abbots Bromley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing