We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coach and Horses is a traditional village pub in the picturesque village of Abbots Bromley serving traditional and not so traditional home cooked food. Having recently been totally refurbished to a very tasteful standard it is a fabulous place to visit.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We wanted a Sunday Roast without having to cook it after having a busy week. We decided to have a ride out and find somewhere that looked nice. On the way we looked on the internet and found one someone had recommended which was not this one!!! When we got to Abbots Bromley we looked at our chosen venue and thought NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! So we turned around and turned in to the Coach and Horses. What a bit of luck !!!!!! The food is superb and so is the ambience. The staff are very good without being intrusive. For lunch we each chose different starters, which were huge - the roasts were excellent and you could mix and match meats. Yorkshire Pud were served whichever meat was chosen and extra gravy was served without being made to feel like Oliver Twist (MORE!!!!!) After deciding not to have a third course - I spotted Treacle sponge - I was lost - but what a choice - the sponge was soooo light it went down without any hesitation and without the feeling of stodginess normally associated with pudding and custard. My husband was envious as he had apple pie which he enjoyed but wanted to taste the sponge - no chance buster!!!!!! All in all a very very pleasant way to spend a couple of our on a November Sunday. We will be back……Watch this space.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank noname1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenharris612, Owner at Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Really pleased you turned around and ended up eating with us, your review is wonderful and it makes all our staffs hard work worthwhile, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    69
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buton upon Trent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Took the family for an early evening Sunday meal with the wife and 3 kids. The pub had a great, friendly atmosphere and the staff were very wecloming.

They were always on a winner with me as they serve Trubute ale, but the food was home cooked and delicious. Decent portions to boot. Will definitely be making the trip to Abbots Bromley again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenharris612, Owner at Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for the review, we try to create a good atmosphere and we encourage our staff to do so as well, its as important as good food and looking at your review you felt we got both areas right, glad you liked the Tribute it will always be one of the ales we serve so you can enjoy it next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After reading several reviews on trip advisor, thought we would try sunday lunch.
Couple who run the business very pleasant.
Sunday lunch home cooked very nice choice of veg, my husband pleased mash potatoe
waitresses very pleasant, what was nice owner asked if we wanted any more and the gravy was just over the meat and then served in a gravy boat .
Will definately be back and will tel friends......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littllittlebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenharris612, Owner at Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your visit and many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it really does help our business but so does recommending us to friends, thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A fabulous welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had taken our football team on a training day to St George's Park at Burton & wanted somewhere to have a good lunch that could or would accommodate 15 10/11 year old boys & their parents. We were made very welcome & the service was great. The food was excellent with fresh vegetables & great mash! The staff couldn't do enough for us. A fantastic 'proper' English country pub with amazing staff to match Thanks so much AFC Dronfield Under 11's football team

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarataylor1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenharris612, Owner at Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Pleased you decided to join us for Sunday lunch and that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the food, the kids were really well behaved and if you ever come to St Georges again it would be great to see you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic friendly pub with home cooked food and wonderfully friendly staff. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We turned up at this pub at 3.30pm on the off chance they were still doing Sunday lunch. There were eight of us so a large party. This was absolutely no problem to the friendly staff who were very accommodating. The owner and chef (Jill I think) was very accommodating when feeding my fussy eater son. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and all home cooked from fresh produce.

The pub had a really friendly cozy atmosphere which made it feel like we were going round to friends for lunch.

I cannot praise this place enough.

The toilets are amazing with complimentary products such as hairspray, deodorant and other toiletries - something you don't see very often and a really nice touch.

Thank you Jill I will be back from a fellow Croydoner

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsEvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenharris612, Owner at Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Glad you enjoyed your lunch and also our amazing toilets !!!! Your comments about the cozy atmosphere mean a lot to us and the fact that you put in a review is brilliant many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing