We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Binz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Binz
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ostseebad Binz
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

While the room we had was probably pretty average, not bad, quite functional and not small, but nothing really to write home about, the really best thing about this hotel was the staff. i don't think I have ever stayed anywhere where the staff was better. Nothing was too much for them. Other things like the spa, breakfast and of course location were also excellent. The fact that you don't have to prepay is also a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgoer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    32
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
67
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

To my surprise the hotel also welcome children that you notice in little details. All the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. Unfortunately we had bad weather so we went 3 times to the SPA with the children. It is a pity there is no separate pool for the children. So they are allowed in the adult's pool but are not allowed to jump and should be quiet since people want to relax. Fair enough. My husband surprised me by booking a massage. I am no big fan of massage but did enjoy it and even felt asleep. I found it quite rude the lady woke me up to have the massage signed to the room. I had quite a headache and got quite upset that my husband was allowed to sleep for as long as he wanted and I did not. Next time I book a massage I will ask if I am allowed to continue sleeping in case I fall asleep. We had dinner once at the restaurant of the hotel. The service was extremely thoughtful and done to perfection but the food was the worst of our stay. No we would not have dinner there again.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms seem pleasant but we chose the back view with greens which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bahiaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostseebad Binz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Gran Hotel Binz was really the very best in all ways, all staff extremely service minded. A welcoming gesture of a glass of Sekt at our arrival and all luggage’s taken care of, as the car. We travelled with children and had two rooms, one sea-view and one garden view. Both rooms were very nice, clean, quiet and comfortable, welcoming drinks and fruits were on the house. Lots of towels and the goodies in the fresh and clean bathrooms.
Breakfast and dinner were of an outstanding class and here again, service on top. The children were also very welcomed and taken care of. A variety of beach toys, surf boards or bathing rings for the small non-swimming childrren. It was not a problem enjoying a two hours, four course meal in the evening, when the children could play at their corner between the courses. The pool was not very large, but we didn’t go for an Olympic competition. The children’s pool was OK.
All requirements med prior our stay, was taken care of, far over our expectations. We had a birthday celebration. A nice gesture of a bottle of Sekt was in our room with a hand-written card from the Hotel team. The Senior staff shook hand to congratualte etc.in order to show their respect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

With small kids you're always curious whether a hotel is great for kids or not. At Grand Hotel Binz you get an idea already at the reception - the staff is friendly and you're guided all the way to your room. Everything looked better than good and an additional bed for the kid was already in place with additional children soap.

For other guests I'm happy to announce that parents are asked (not told) to avoid kids in the pool/relaxation area during several hours every day so everybody can enjoy the stay.

I'm not able to tell anything negative about this hotel. Location is perfect. Rooms are clean and perfect with balcony. Pool area is lovely. Breakfast is great (even with candy for the kids). Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2006

As a note: I must agree with the review of the 29th August 2006 with the exceptions mentioned below:

We arrived the last day the hotel was till under Kempinski management and stayed three nights. We had been notified of this in advance so we had no complaints. However having just come from the other Kempinski in Heiligendamm, a definite 5 star resort, we were in for a shock. This hotel rates about 3 stars and I have no idea how Kempinski ever agreed to manage it in the first place. I asked the staff about the new management and was told that the new manager, who owns other hotels in the area, would run it at a lesser category than it supposedly was as a Kempinski.

Overall the experience as acceptable. The hotel is several years old (see the dates when the lifts were built – always a good idea) and can use a soft renovation. Towels are rather ragged and only a few are supplied. TV selection does not include any non German channels and TV’s are small, and there is no free WiFi access despite this becoming commonplace in western Germany especially in larger hotels. The Kempinski in Heiligendamm had this. The breakfast buffet provides quite a selection of items though the bread selection is not as it should be for a German hotel, normally known for their huge variety of breads. We ate dinner there once and the food was way too salty, though the good selection of wine was quite extensive. The hotel has an underground parking lot which is useful given the dearth of public parking spaces.

Rooms were quite nicely proportioned though as others have commented, some do not have bath tubs. We had two rooms, one with and one without which is useful for someone requiring assistance for whom a bathtub would be dangerous.

Most staff were friendly though the change in management (effectively a ‘downgrade’) has left them upset which is amply apparent in their demeanour. I cannot predict how it will be with new staff.

While the hotel does have a ‘modern’ look from the outside it is a simple hotel despite the ‘grand’ name and if you are looking for a decent 3 star hotel this would be a good choice but this never was nor should it ever have been a Kempinski.

  • Liked — Location: it was almost right on the beach at the edge of the small town.
  • Disliked — A bit dated and lacking some modern facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid 'Sea Views' in building four - non existent, as well as any lower floors.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reisender_Berner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2006

Note that this property is now the Grand Hotel Binz and not a Kempinski.

On arrival, I must admit we were disappointed. This is a new property and everything is fresh, but BIG mistakes were made. We had a deluxe room (the biggest apart from suites) but there was NO bathtub, a shower which did not have a proper shower stall, non-marble sinks (albeit 2 sinks, which was good) and furniture that is exactly the same as you get in a new four star Hilton or Marriott. They even had terrible 15 inch (I guess) CRT TVs which seem far older than the hotel! This is NOT Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons territory.

In addition, note that rooms in building 4 do NOT have direct sea views because of a building in front of them. This does not stop the hotel selling them as seaview! The trees also block seaviews from floors 0, 1 and 2 in all four buildings. Only accept a seaview room if it starts in a 1, 2 or 3 and if the 2nd digit is a 3 or higher! (ie 133 is OK, 213 or 433 are not!)

Things looked up for us, though. We changed rooms to a proper seaview (335 from 435) on day 2. Weirdly, this room had luxury Lanvin toiletries whilst our room in the not-quite-seaview block did not! Also, we started to eat the hotel food, which is EXCELLENT. The breakfasts and evening meals are all superb. The staff, across the hotel, are also excellent.

We also got to like the spa. You will hate the pool, which is too small for proper swimming and where the hot tub is NOT hot, because it uses water from the pool. However, lounging on the sunloungers is a good way to pass the day and they are happy to bring you food and drink.

In summary, if you get a good room and once you get used to the furnishings, you should be OK here. Alternatives are the Travel Charme (also seaview) or the Meer Sind if you want a design hotel.

  • Liked — Everything is new
  • Disliked — Business hotel style furniture, rubbish TV, no bathtub
  • Tips/Secrets — See my advice about good rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2005

I once had a nice weekend escape there ... I was there in the winter season and I booked a suite. The suite was really nice indeed: we had a large waterfront view from the terrace. Also there was a fireplace in the room. The bathroom offered a glas roof with a view in the sky. The interior is quite modern.

The service was nice and okay, but not really outstanding - and so was the food. We opted for in-room-dining in front of our fireplace for a few times, that was really nice.

If you go there, dont' expect a ritz-styled luxury hotel but a really nice charming weekend-escape. And: The hotel is a the outermost part of the beach, which means, it's quiet there!

  • Stayed December 2001
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostseebad Binz hotels
0.4 mi away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
#1 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ceres Hotel
Ceres Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Strandhotel Binz/Ruegen
Dorint Strandhotel Binz/Ruegen
#8 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loev Hotel Ruegen
Loev Hotel Ruegen
#6 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Binz
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Binz
#18 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.3 mi away
IFA Rugen Hotel & Ferienpark
IFA Rugen Hotel & Ferienpark
#4 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Binz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Binz

Property: Grand Hotel Binz
Address: Strandpromenade 7, 18609 Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Ostseebad Binz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Binz 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Binz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ostseebad Binz
Grand Hotel Binz Germany/Rugen Island - Ostseebad Binz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing