We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape to the North of Germany”
Review of Grand Hotel Binz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Binz
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Ostseebad Binz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Binz. We booked last minute on booking.com (the night before we arrived) and were thrilled when we saw the place. It's at the end of the beach strip from the busy Binz town center, which means the beach in front of the hotel wasn't too crowded or filled with tourists (granted it was only May, so not quite in season yet!) But the hotel rooms were very nice, each one equipped with it's own balcony either facing the ocean or the forest. We faced the forest and it was peaceful and beautiful. We also rather enjoyed our time in the sauna and Hamam. The breakfast buffet was delicious and large, with plenty of options for the whole family. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room you choose. We had 431 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Pros:
- Our suite was really large: 80 m2 split in two separate rooms with own bathroom and balcony
- Location of hotel is almost at the end of the Seepromenade, away from the most busy (and noisy) area
- Our arrangement in half board (for 6 nights) was competitively priced for a suite of such size
- The breakfast was rich (although a bit too "regional" for our taste)
- Service was excellent, everyone was nice and tried to be helpful (incl. a super-fast laundry service)

Cons:
- The rooms are not well insulated against noise (we could ear the elevator throughout the night and the footsteps above us)
- The rooms are not particularly well decorated or equipped, they look a bit tired
- The dinners in half board were OK-ish, but not great. They were really trying hard to have the "look & feel" of a "gourmet" restaurant...

Overall: not really a luxury 5-star, but a nice experience nevertheless

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

While the room we had was probably pretty average, not bad, quite functional and not small, but nothing really to write home about, the really best thing about this hotel was the staff. i don't think I have ever stayed anywhere where the staff was better. Nothing was too much for them. Other things like the spa, breakfast and of course location were also excellent. The fact that you don't have to prepay is also a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelgoer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

To my surprise the hotel also welcome children that you notice in little details. All the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. Unfortunately we had bad weather so we went 3 times to the SPA with the children. It is a pity there is no separate pool for the children. So they are allowed in the adult's pool but are not allowed to jump and should be quiet since people want to relax. Fair enough. My husband surprised me by booking a massage. I am no big fan of massage but did enjoy it and even felt asleep. I found it quite rude the lady woke me up to have the massage signed to the room. I had quite a headache and got quite upset that my husband was allowed to sleep for as long as he wanted and I did not. Next time I book a massage I will ask if I am allowed to continue sleeping in case I fall asleep. We had dinner once at the restaurant of the hotel. The service was extremely thoughtful and done to perfection but the food was the worst of our stay. No we would not have dinner there again.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms seem pleasant but we chose the back view with greens which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bahiaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Gran Hotel Binz was really the very best in all ways, all staff extremely service minded. A welcoming gesture of a glass of Sekt at our arrival and all luggage’s taken care of, as the car. We travelled with children and had two rooms, one sea-view and one garden view. Both rooms were very nice, clean, quiet and comfortable, welcoming drinks and fruits were on the house. Lots of towels and the goodies in the fresh and clean bathrooms.
Breakfast and dinner were of an outstanding class and here again, service on top. The children were also very welcomed and taken care of. A variety of beach toys, surf boards or bathing rings for the small non-swimming childrren. It was not a problem enjoying a two hours, four course meal in the evening, when the children could play at their corner between the courses. The pool was not very large, but we didn’t go for an Olympic competition. The children’s pool was OK.
All requirements med prior our stay, was taken care of, far over our expectations. We had a birthday celebration. A nice gesture of a bottle of Sekt was in our room with a hand-written card from the Hotel team. The Senior staff shook hand to congratualte etc.in order to show their respect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

With small kids you're always curious whether a hotel is great for kids or not. At Grand Hotel Binz you get an idea already at the reception - the staff is friendly and you're guided all the way to your room. Everything looked better than good and an additional bed for the kid was already in place with additional children soap.

For other guests I'm happy to announce that parents are asked (not told) to avoid kids in the pool/relaxation area during several hours every day so everybody can enjoy the stay.

I'm not able to tell anything negative about this hotel. Location is perfect. Rooms are clean and perfect with balcony. Pool area is lovely. Breakfast is great (even with candy for the kids). Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

As a note: I must agree with the review of the 29th August 2006 with the exceptions mentioned below:

We arrived the last day the hotel was till under Kempinski management and stayed three nights. We had been notified of this in advance so we had no complaints. However having just come from the other Kempinski in Heiligendamm, a definite 5 star resort, we were in for a shock. This hotel rates about 3 stars and I have no idea how Kempinski ever agreed to manage it in the first place. I asked the staff about the new management and was told that the new manager, who owns other hotels in the area, would run it at a lesser category than it supposedly was as a Kempinski.

Overall the experience as acceptable. The hotel is several years old (see the dates when the lifts were built – always a good idea) and can use a soft renovation. Towels are rather ragged and only a few are supplied. TV selection does not include any non German channels and TV’s are small, and there is no free WiFi access despite this becoming commonplace in western Germany especially in larger hotels. The Kempinski in Heiligendamm had this. The breakfast buffet provides quite a selection of items though the bread selection is not as it should be for a German hotel, normally known for their huge variety of breads. We ate dinner there once and the food was way too salty, though the good selection of wine was quite extensive. The hotel has an underground parking lot which is useful given the dearth of public parking spaces.

Rooms were quite nicely proportioned though as others have commented, some do not have bath tubs. We had two rooms, one with and one without which is useful for someone requiring assistance for whom a bathtub would be dangerous.

Most staff were friendly though the change in management (effectively a ‘downgrade’) has left them upset which is amply apparent in their demeanour. I cannot predict how it will be with new staff.

While the hotel does have a ‘modern’ look from the outside it is a simple hotel despite the ‘grand’ name and if you are looking for a decent 3 star hotel this would be a good choice but this never was nor should it ever have been a Kempinski.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reisender_Berner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostseebad Binz hotels
0.4 mi away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
#1 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ceres Hotel
Ceres Hotel
#6 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seehotel Binz Therme Rugen
Seehotel Binz Therme Rugen
#7 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Am Meer
Hotel Am Meer
#2 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere
#4 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Strandhotel Binz/Ruegen
Dorint Strandhotel Binz/Ruegen
#9 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Binz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Binz

Address: Strandpromenade 7, 18609 Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Ostseebad Binz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#3 Spa Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ostseebad Binz
Price Range: £109 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Binz 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Binz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ostseebad Binz
Grand Hotel Binz Germany/Rugen Island - Ostseebad Binz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing