We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for day walks, mesmerizing scenery, impressive hostel, good service overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Langdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Langdale
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location for day walks, mesmerizing scenery, impressive hostel, good service overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

When I booked this hostel I thought that its location was a bit hard to reach for a person who is dependent on public transport. I worried that I might have to walk for too long to get to the hostel, but I was wrong as the hostel was within short walking distance up the hill from the nearest bus stop which is Elterwater (accesible by bus 516 from Ambleside). The views from that hill are stunning (see photos) and it is really worth walking up that hill. Up the hill and well hidden behind the trees stood this massive, imposant hostel.
The staff were very friendly, helpful, multi-task and very knowledgeable about the area, giving me good advice. In the evening I had tasty homecooked food, which was good value for money and convenient if you don't want to spend hours in the self-catering kitchen cooking a meal. Cooked evening meals are served between 6 and 8 pm. I also had several pints of Guinness on the terrace, while enjoying the beautiful scenery. You are not allowed to bring alcohol on the premises but you can buy various alcoholic drinks from the reception at pub prices.
The bunk bed was very comfortable in a very spacious dormitory. Despite feeling a bit cold at night, I had a very good night sleep. There are lockers under the beds, but you have to bring your own padlock. I did bring a padlock but was too small so I was unable to use the locker. A solution could be to have the opportunity to hire/buy suitably sized padlocks on the premises in case one wants to lock away valuables.
In the morning I had cooked breakfast, which was very cheap (only £4.99) and gave me lots of energy for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
What fantastic photos of Elterwater village and the Langdale Pikes! We're so very lucky to be perched on top of our hillside between Grasmere and Elterwater, even when the weather chooses to be unkind to us we still have the luxury of stunning views all the way down to Windermere lake and Bowness. Thanks you so much for your positive and kind comments about our facilities and staff, we really do pride ourselves on our customer service so it's marvellous when we get such great feedback. Incidently the padlocks for the lockers are available to purchase in reception... Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    32
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
5
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely short holiday in the lakes and stayed in a family ensuite room at this hostel.
Great value for money, food good and staff friendly. Great building in a fabulous location with stunning views. We were lucky with the weather, kids liked paddling in the lakes and we enjoyed a trip on a steam powered gondola on Coniston. A visit to Hill Top,Beatrix Potters house, was enchanting.
We loved being able to do some excellent walks without having to drive somewhere first.
We will definitely try out more youth hostels!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
It sounds like you certainly made the most of your stay with us! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your youth hostelling experience with us and that it's made you want to try more youth hostels in different locations. Langdale's in an enviable location in the Lakes being at the very heart of the central fells which makes walking and travelling around the Lakes very easy and accessible. Langdale is a fantastic spot for families where children and parents have the freedom to explore our extensive grounds and immediate locale discovering old fulling mills, the thousand year-old lime tree and oodles of wildlife. Make sure you ask our fabulous staff for their top tips on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for one night while walking the Cumbria Way. While the hostel was a little off route (and quite a way up a steep hill!) it had stunning views and was an impressive building. We arrived about 2pm and were able to check in although had to wait another hour or so to get the keys. We stayed in the 4 bed private room ensuite room which felt luxurious after previous nights in dorms. We had a really comfortable double bed (and unused bunkbeds in the room) along with ensuite toilet and shower. The hostel itself has nice public rooms include a lounge in the grand hall and a reading room with a good library of games. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hostel both of which were filling and tasty and felt good value for money. We used the laundry facilities to wash clothes (which were free) and the drying room in the basement was warm and very spacious. The staff were really friendly and we had a nice stay. We particularly enjoyed drinking beer on the terrace. The only slightly negative points about the hostel was that it was a bit cold inside and that there wasn't any wifi available (but these are really just minor niggles). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickitoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Langdale, High Close. My team endeavour to deliver the very best customer service, homecooked meals and a clean and safe environment for all of our guests and it sounds like we're succeeding! Your slight 'niggles' are welcome critiques and we shall do our best to ensure they are addressed - the heating's always a tricky one at this time of year with the changeable weather but please feel free on your next stay to mention it and we can always adjust the heating or get our glorious log burner going in the Great Hall. As for Wifi, we understand how important it is these days for people to be connected and as such we're looking into this for many YHA sites and hope to have found a solution buy the end of this year. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed as part of a group several times now - Miranda and her team couldn't be more helpful and its got everything you need. Its such an lovely interesting old building so if you're being picky some bits need a bit of TLC but thats exactly what the team are doing as time and money I guess allows - example lovely range now installed in the hall. As real Trip Avisor officionados know - one bad review out of loads and loads of excellent ones says more about the reviewer than the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougalR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I've spent the last nine years crawling into every corner, swinging from every chandelier and balancing on every rickety old chair pianting this old gem and it's always begging for more! With the help of an array of willing volunteers, truckloads of paint and loads of advice from the blokes down the pub it's beginning to finally come together. As you can imagine it's never going to be perfect from the usage it gets but I'm rather proud of how it's shaping up so if anyone fancies lending a hand and flicking a paint brush about just let me know...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you want one of the best locations in the Lakes, look no further than High Close. Superb views across the Langdales and beyond, fabulous walks right on your doorstep. Good food, comfy beds, sociable sitting areas - and beer to hand. What more could you want from a Youth Hostel? Of course there will other groups there, that's what makes it interesting! The staff manage the needs of the different visitors exceptionally well. We come twice a year and are made most welcome. Looking forward to our next trip in September.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 434Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I wondered when our excellent range of beers would get a mention! We also have some scrumptious single malts so you can pull up a comfy chair, put your feet up, toast your toes in front of our log burner, and relax within the warm embace of our oak panelled Victorian Great Hall or adjacent Drawing Room - Oooo! We are posh ain't we?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here in March. A walking group of about 8 were also staying but did nor know you had to book meals in advance (at least a couple of hours notice is usually all that is asked for).There was also a (well behaved) school group, and our group of 11. At 8.30 they all turned up for breakfast expecting a meal to be there without pre-ordering. Did Miranda refuse to serve the group of 8, or at least have a moan? Not a bit of it! Staff worked flat out to make sure everyone was fed, coffee machine constantly topped up, cooked breakfasts kept arriving. I don't know how they did it but it was brilliant. Been coming here for about 5 years. It does get busy but that is because it is so popular.
It is a smashing hostel - not The Ritz, but home from home for lots of people.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pippa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Haha! I'm blushing too much to respond to this one. As I mentioned in my previous response our main concern is that all of our guests enjoy all the delights that our gorgeous hostel has to offer. Some guests occasionally try to surpise us but we've been doing this far too long to be caught out - that's not a challenge by the way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here in March and loved it so much I have booked to return again in June and August. The hostel has great atmosphere, the manager and staff team are very welcoming and extremely helpful and the food is exceptional. I couldn't agree more with the previous review, breakfast is very good value, as was the evening meal, and as a vegetarian I was very well catered for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0lette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdalemanager, Manager at YHA Langdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Once again many thanks to our marvellous guests for saying such fabulous things about YHA Langdale, High Close. My team and myself are incredibly pasionate about delivering the finest customer service you'll find and it's great when we hear that we're achieving just that. We hope to see you again very soon in our glorious valley...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrigg
1.6 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
4.9 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.8 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#3 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.8 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#4 of 10 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.6 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Langdale

Property: YHA Langdale
Address: High Close, Loughrigg LA22 9HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Loughrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Loughrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Langdale 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular with lovers of the great outdoors, YHA Langdale is a rambling Victorian mansion standing in picturesque grounds between Elterwater & Grasmere. It's ideal for exploring the dramatic Langdale Pikes. Spend summer evenings on our balcony with great views of Windermere and Bowness. Enjoy cooler nights in the Great Hall in front of a roaring log fire. This friendly, licensed hostel offers great home-cooked food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Langdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Langdale Lake District/Loughrigg, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing