We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day in the Château!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Certificate of Excellence
Embourg, Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
“One day in the Château!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Even in a grey winter day, this hotel is enchanting, beautifully decorated with spacious rooms.
We should probably come again in the summer to fully enjoy the surroundings and try the starred restaurant.
One remark: one should not allow smoking (cigar) in the lounges, the smell is still there the next morning (cold smoke).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    149
    60
    22
    13
See reviews for
106
418
34
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orbe, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

the hotel is very customer oriented. we were 4 persons traveling same time and our rooms where located very close to each others. i was easy for us
the breakfast was splendid : a very large selection of food. big diversity, fresh fruit vegetable and local meat.
Quite atmosphere, well and fast served, important when you work.
i will highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Courteous staffs who provided excellent welcome and guides to the room.
The room is clean and well conditioned.

I would stay here again if rooms are available.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanh_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Lovely place with class & elegance. I was treated very well. I don't have much to add to the other very thorough reviews, other than to say you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've visited this magnificent hotel, with outstanding Spa, and wonderful restaurants, for the 4th time in a relative short period. The total concept is soo complete that you want to return. It's really a haven of luxury, relaxation, pampering, and delicacies in a royal setting. At first it felt like a place for the rich, arriving with our audi a3 amidst expensive bmw's and mercedesses and the like, but the staff really made us feel comfortable. Even in the splendid 3 star restaurant Vendome, we mentioned to the manager it was our first time visit to such a place, we were so much comforted, and treated like royals. The Spa truly is worthy to be named a 'leading Spa' because the quality of the treatments and the available sauna's, steambaths, etc. are of outstanding quality. Every room is grand, with high ceelings and nicely draped curtains, topquality flatscreen tv(s), very comforting beds and all marble stoned, warm feeling bathrooms. Of course no place is perfect, and we had some minor issues on our last visit, but the way our feedback was accepted and dealt with was very flattering; without a hitch the issues were delt with, and we got offered a room upgrade for the next possible visit, and a 4 course dinner in their excellent restaurant Enoteca. Tip: book a room in an 'unbusy' period, such as midweeks or non-national-holiday periods, great chance you'll get an upgrade to a suite for free or relatively little expense. We had that happen 3 out off the 4 times we visited the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epvandongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A beautiful place out of time, where everybody feels like a VIP. Wonderful rooms, amazing SPA, delicious restaurants ... THE place to go if you love luxury and top quality services!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful ... so don't care about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herc z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We've been arround the world in top hotels but this is really one off the best! The rooms, the staff, the food, it was all really perfect!

Room Tip: Take the junior suite, this is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergisch Gladbach
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 260 in Cologne
2,396 reviews
Malerwinkel Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
104 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 260 in Cologne
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 238 in Dusseldorf
1,284 reviews
Kardinal-Schulte-Haus
#3 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Property: Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Address: Kadettenstrasse, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a truly fantastic location, high above the Cologne lowlands and with a wonderful view of Cologne cathedral, one of the largest baroque palaces in Europe awaits you. It is the spirit of history that fills and enchants the 5 star Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. The multitude of details from times long gone still tell tales of unique people and moments that characterise this building so much: Goethe and Beethoven, as well as Napoleon and the Medici family resided here. But today you can enjoy stylish luxury in the magnificent, historic chambers and in unmistakable Althoff ambience. Supplemented by personal service, Joachim Wissler's 3-star cuisine in the gourmet restaurant Vendome and a Beauty & Leading Spa that satisfies even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Bergisch Gladbach
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Cologne
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Cologne
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Germany/Bergisch Gladbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing