We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular in every sense!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every sense!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

From the moment you drive through the magnificent gates of this palace' every expectation is exceeded. It is a picture perfect location with spectacular views, impeccable customer service and a 3 Michelin star restaurant. It is just 15 minutes outside Cologne, and yes- we will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    140
    56
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
400
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 reasons: there was nowhere available in Cologne and Bensberg is on a direct train line, and we got 2 nights for the price of 1. Having said that, breakfast was so expensive we ate in town, and only the Italian restaurant was open in the evening so we had dinner in town too. The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained and spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely, although the bed was not as comfortable as German beds usually are, perhaps because it was a traditional double rather than two single mattresses in a double frame. Room 202 is right at the end of one wing and it was literally a 5 minute walk to the spa, where the staff were very snooty and I was chided for not bringing my robe with me and not knowing where to find everything without being told! The pool was excellent, with very few people around considering the size of the hotel, and I had a great swim and enjoyed the steam room. Wifi was free and worked fine in our room; the only downside was that I had to enter the username and password each time I wanted to use it. Car parking was frighteningly expensive but fortunately they waived the charges when we checked out - perhaps they could tell we weren't as well off as their usual clientele! Considering our discounted room rate, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a great hotel!

Positives:

Very clean and very well maintained.
Stuff was very polite ready to service you on whatever you need.
Beds were very comfortable.
The whole building is beautiful.
Location is excellent even for business to Cologne.
Beautiful atmosphere at the bar inside the hotel for the nights with the pianist playing live and the garden for your coffee in the morning.

Negatives:

No Wi-Fi due to thick walls but there are always solutions, please find them. (only in the lobby available wi-fi)
Hotel is 5 * but there are some holes in the service system. There is no doorman for example to help with the luggage or they needed 30 minutes to bring an iron and an iron board.

We also ate at the 3 Michelin star restaurant in the hotel which was an awesome experience. I strongly recommend it. You will experience new tastes.

All in all I do propose this hotel to stay, it is a different experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 10 in the morning and when we wanted to check in, they told us that the hotel was overbooked... We had to go to a sisterhotel, schloss Lerbach. I could not believe there was not a single room left in the hotel because the parking was empty and it is not a rather small hotel... We were also early to check in so I don't know why WE had to change. Perhaps because we were not HIGH CLASS or drove a BMW.... It actually ruined our day... I wil never visit the hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

It kind of feels like walking into Downton Abbey, and that's part of the reason we chose to spend a night at the Grandhotel for one night during a drive across Germany with our kids. The hotel staff prepared an opulent suite for us, with rollaways for the kids. The gold plated fixtures in the bathroom was a little over the top, but part of the experience of spending the night in a refurbished country castle. The staff was generous in arranging complementary cars into Cologne for the day. For all the grandeur, the place is a bit on the stuffy side. We were chided for not having our kids wear robes and slippers to the pool by a very serious spa attendant. And the in-house Italian restaurant was overpriced and formal. But the bar, in particular, was elegant and warm, and a great place to end a day of touring in Cologne. All in all, an enchanting experience for a night away from normal life.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel was Grand, service wonderful, but they needed a Doorman to help guests when they arrive at the hotel, help with the luggage sand so on.
They were No one there,
And no one at the door , the next day when I checked out.

Restaurant vending was amazing.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms has a view of Cologne in the distance. Must book restaurant Vendome weeks ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKong1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed during July for 1 week and were very impressed with the hotel. We managed to find a great deal online which included breakfast. We ate at the Michelin star restaurant which was a real experience - it is expensive (at 200 euro per person for the short menu) but well worth it. We also opted for the wine menu to compliment the tasting menu - they very kindly swapped some of the selections when we found something too sweet/dry etc. We also ate in the trattoria, the food was nice but over priced. If you are staying for longer than a day or two then head down into the town for a decent greek meal or an Italian (at about a 10th of the price of the trattoria). The train is really easy into Cologne (a 10 minute walk to the station and then 30 minutes into the centre). We also ventured south to Konigswinter and walked around the woods and hills for a day which was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lizzy P,

We would like to thank you for your comment on your last stay with us and your nice words, which we will share with our team.
If you are looking for different restaurant options outside the hotel, our reception staff is pleased to assist with recommendations.

Looking forward to welcome you again as our guest, we remain,

with kind regards,

Florian Schadhauser - Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergisch Gladbach
Malerwinkel Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Kardinal-Schulte-Haus
#3 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Property: Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Address: Kadettenstrasse, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a truly fantastic location, high above the Cologne lowlands and with a wonderful view of Cologne cathedral, one of the largest baroque palaces in Europe awaits you. It is the spirit of history that fills and enchants the 5 star Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. The multitude of details from times long gone still tell tales of unique people and moments that characterise this building so much: Goethe and Beethoven, as well as Napoleon and the Medici family resided here. But today you can enjoy stylish luxury in the magnificent, historic chambers and in unmistakable Althoff ambience. Supplemented by personal service, Joachim Wissler's 3-star cuisine in the gourmet restaurant Vendome and a Beauty & Leading Spa that satisfies even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Bergisch Gladbach
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Cologne
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Cologne
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Germany/Bergisch Gladbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing