We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great taste of Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Chiostro di Bevagna
Ranked #3 of 16 Bevagna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great taste of Umbria”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here in late June 2012 as part of a self-guided cycling holiday. Il Chiostro Di Bevagna was a great base for 3 nights. It is a short ride to Montefalco known for it's wonderful red wines including Sagrantino.

We were here during the Festa Di Gaite (annual medieval festival) and were very fortunate to take part in the festivities and sample the cuisine made by local families.

Our experience was made special by the friendly Fabio and Stefania. Fabio reminded me of a relative, welcoming you from the outset. I will be sure to send my parents their way when they visit Italy in September. Thank you Fabio and Stefanio for your friendliness, lovely breakfast including ripe loquats (nespole) and clean, spacious rooms.

The postcard will be coming your way soon.

Melissa and Terence

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    43
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
42
71
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hants
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst the 'Giate di Bevagna' was in full flow, and it was a lovely place to stay with very charming hosts, who though spoke little English, were helpful during our stay!
Would definitely recommend and will be returning hopefully one day. Bevagna is a lovely small town with several bars and restaurants and all the local people seemed very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for a weekend at this nice hotel. We were accomodated in large and comfortable family rooms while our bycicles stayed in a safe hall near the cloister. As we were right in the centre kids could play in the street while we navigated the net and enjoyed the quiet of the cloister.
Breakfast in the cloister terrace was pleasant and delicious (a couple of home made cakes in addition to croissants and cereals, fruits)

Room Tip: We stayed in family rooms: in the morning we also checed a couple of double rooms with a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermagister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We spent there 2 nights in this ancient monastry and were positively surprised by the service and the clean and nice rooms. Stefania and Fabio (the owners of the place) are very friendly and helpful and have a lot of good tips.
However, it is an old monastry and officially rated as a **-Hotel -- so do not expect a luxury place with a lot of thrills. If you are looking for a quite, clean and friendly place to stay in the region of Bevagna this is in our view an excellent choice.
By the way, the parking is not a problem, very close, safe and it's free.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, SA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Bevagna is a perfect place from which to explore the surrounding Umbrian towns. The town is big enough to have several good restaurants and small enough to be noticed as not being local. Fabio and Stefania are fantastic hosts with lots of advice on visiting neighbouring towns and sights. The hotel is very close to the town square with parking at the back. Our room was large with lovely old furniture and rustic interior with a great view of the rooftops and river from our window. Breakfast is set up on the balcony overlooking the central courtyard surrounded by the interesting items collected by Fabio and Stefania.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very friendly place, family managed, right in the center of bevagna. Good breakfast, our kids felt very welcome and were treated like...well, kids! (which is sometimes unusual in italy...). Will be back if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stay in this 13th century Dominican Monastery for your trip to Umbria. Fabio and Stephania are perfect hosts. Their pride in their town and hotel show in the helpful, gracious way
they help you to enjoy your stay. The rooms are simple and classic....as if you were still
staying in a monastery and they all have a nice view. The town has good restaurants, shops and medieval atmosphere.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelaway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bevagna hotels
0.9 mi away
IL Poggio dei Pettirossi
0.2 mi away
Residenza Porta Guelfa
Residenza Porta Guelfa
#1 of 8 in Bevagna
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Brunamonti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Porta Perugina
B&B Porta Perugina
#6 of 8 in Bevagna
17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Etico Le Grazie
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Ristorante Casa Cantone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro di Bevagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro di Bevagna

Property: Il Chiostro di Bevagna
Address: Corso Giacomo Matteotti 107, 06031, Bevagna, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Bevagna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bevagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Chiostro di Bevagna 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Chiostro di Bevagna is in the heart of the town of Bevagna next to one of the most beautiful "piazze" (squares) of Italy. It welcomes itsguests within the ancient walls of a Domenican convent, where it is still possible to admire XIV century frescos in the cloister. In the year 2000, the convent was transformed into a comfortable hotel catering to theneeds of a modern tourist, yet without forgetting the warmth of a genuine and homely welcome. Upon arrival the house hosts Fabio and Stefania enjoy sharing a drink with their guests. The hotel has fourteen rooms and can accomodate up to 35 people. All rooms are spacious, quiet, and full of light, with a view over the green hills of Umbria, have private bathroom, colour T.V. and telephone. All rooms are non-smoking. Smokers however are welcome to use the porticos in the cloister. We offer a luggage valet service.Guests are kindly asked to come back within midnight.The hotel also has an elevator, and one room is equipped for people with disabilitiesFor a list of our prices please visit us on: Prices include service, taxes and a generous Umbrian breakfast served on the suggestive terrace of the cloister.Agencies are granted a 10% discount on our prices, and payment will be requested at the time of the departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Chiostro di Bevagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing