We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“school break”
Review of Podere Ampella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Podere Ampella
Naas, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“school break”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had a perfect holiday in casa do mezzo.My brother and I had a great time running around the courtyard. We had the best ice-cream ever and the best pizza in montisi.Our most favorite trip daily was going to the local bakery to get tasty treats and delicious bread with the best sciaccata .The garden was very big and we had nightly BBQ!it was the most amazing school break ever!

Room Tip: The bedrooms are very large and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family stayed in Casa Beppe which was ideally located for a view of the pool, whilst the terrace of the villa remained cooler (as it was in shade for the majority of the day). Although the poolside had a couple of permanently erected pagodas, it could benefit from a couple of other shaded areas. The apartment was large, bright and comfortably fitted out ,including a kettle and a toaster (which will appeal to British visitors) and a washing machine (which will appeal to any family with children). Air conditioning was welcome in the August heat. We had arranged bicyles in advance (only for the dedicated - think we used them once) and also Paola had sorted out tennis for us - the service we received was excellent. We gravitated more to Montisi than to San Giovanni D'Asso which is a beautiful small village with friendly bars and restaurants. Perfect.

Room Tip: Beppe has great views and a shaded terrace, closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetteren
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

While Podere Ampella is centrally located in Tuscany, it stands by itself in on a quiet hilltop, with amazing views. The agriturismo consists of a number of individual, selfcontained fully equpped houses. There is a common pool, and some houses have an individual pool.
The price is very reasonable, considering you get a house with two large bedrooms and two bathroom, and a fully equipped kitchen.
The owners, Paola and Robert, speak Italian and English, and will make you feel at home.

While the agriturismo is isolated, it is only a short drive to the most amazing Tuscan towns.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have just finished a very relaxing break in tuscany.
Just 30 mins from Siena located on a hill overlooking the val dOrcia.
This was our third holiday in Tuscany and by far the best quality accommodation we have stayed in . The house we stayed in casa di mezzo was very spotless when we arrived.Two generous sized bedrooms upstairs again with views from the windows that you will find difficult to match in tuscany. The view over the swimming pool and out over the tuscan countryside will stay with me forever. We had a fully fitted kitchen off the living room which opened onto the garden where we spent many an evening alfresco dining on the barbecue watching the tuscan sun go down.
The owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
The local vilages of Montisi and San Giovasnni D'Asso had everything we needed to make our stay most enjoyable.
I would absolutely recommend this for a family break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely week at Villa Ampella La Torre with our daughter and her husband. Podere Ampella's hilltop setting with stunning views was quiet and relaxing, and yet well-located for the towns we wanted to visit, including Montepulciano, Pienza, Bagno Vignoni, Cortona, Asciano, etc. A couple of evenings were cool; the heaters warmed us right up. On the warmer evenings, the patio was stunning. We were able to grill outside and easily cook inside; there is a butcher shop, a sandwich/pastry shop and a small grocery close by in San Giovanni d'Asso (as well as a weekly market--check Paola's area guide for more info on markets and restaurants); there is a larger grocery in Sinalunga, but we often purchased food for dinner while we were out and about during the day. We also made good use of the washer and the clothes-drying rack. Another plus were the bathrooms; there were two full baths on the second floor for privacy and convenience as well as a small half-bath on the first floor.

The complex is new, yet built in a traditional style with comfortable furnishings. We appreciated amenities such as a hair dryer; I had brought my own travel iron for clothing. In the kitchen, we found enough supplies for a couple of loads in the clothes washer as well as the dishwasher, making it easy to purchase the right additional supplies. We also appreciated the American-style coffee maker in addition to the one for espresso. We shopped before we arrived, but should you find yourself needing supplies on a Sunday, there is a large grocery store in a mall one exit towards Rome on the A1--1/2 hour's drive(?)--that is open.

The owner and the manager went out of their way to be sure my son-in-law had wifi access, but it was slow--not surprising at such a country spot. Texting or e-mailing from our cell phones worked better, especially outside the building.

Before we arrived, my husband was delighted to correspond with Paola by e-mail with various questions about the rental and the area; Claudio greeted us on Saturday evening with hors d'oeuvres and wine; he checked us out promptly on the following Saturday morning, giving us a good start for our drive to Firenze. He was very welcoming and kind.

We highly recommend Podere Ampella for a comfortable and relaxing home base in this area of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Just check the accurate map and room plans to determine what best suits your needs. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank deb568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for 8 days, great location, amazing views, lovely and clean. We visited Rome, Siena and Florence as well as several smaller, equally stunning villages such as Pienza, Montepulcianio etc. Nice pool but very cold! Very peaceful location , stunning views

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay for a week this Summer with our 3 young children. The location is superb with panoramic views all round of unspoilt and timeless countryside. Paola and Robert were very friendly and helpful at all times. Really a little taste of Italian life, I cannot recommend enough and we will definitely be returning. You will need a car but there are so many places to visit within a few minutes and the you feel like you are in a car advert! San Giovanni d'Asso is a spectacular walk in the morning, we also comfortably visited Assisi, Florence, and Sienna in the week we were there - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnjc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
0.7 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
106 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
172 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Bagnacci
Agriturismo Bagnacci
#4 of 12 in San Giovanni d'Asso
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
70 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bombina
Agriturismo Bombina
#3 of 12 in San Giovanni d'Asso
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Ampella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Ampella

Property: Podere Ampella
Address: Localita Ampella, San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Ampella is a collection of 11 houses and villas perched on a hill overlooking the val dorcia valley. Each home has a private garden and large dining and living area with fantastic views.All homes have access to the swimming pool and some have private swimming pools.We generally rent weekly but can also offer short stays in the off peak periods.The properties are self catering and are fully fitted for all your needs to make your holiday a truly home from home experience.Each home is equipped for al fresco dining with individual barbecuesand outdoor furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Podere Ampella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Ampella San Giovanni D'Asso, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing