We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for southern Tuscany, quiet, friendly & well decorated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for southern Tuscany, quiet, friendly & well decorated”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights here at the beginning of May. We were in room 8 which we highly recommend, large with a proper sofa & very pleasingly decorated. A good sized shower room with two basins, and fluffy white towels. The Locanda is at the end of a cul de sac, so very quiet. The approach street is peaceful and characterful. The staff, especially Daniela in the office, and the two owners, mother and son, are charming. We left a pair of reading glasses behind and they were forwarded immediately and in a proper case which the management had somehow obtained. It was a real pleasure to return home each evening. The dining room is atttractive and there is a lovely shaded terrace, also a small, high terrace on the other side of the hotel which we only discovered rather late. Mattress a trifle hard, but we quickly got used to it. Antony H

Room Tip: Room 8 is the best! Best rooms on the street side, no traffic and views over roofs to rolling countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our three nights at La Locanda del Castello were the best part of our three weeks in Italy! The location is perfect for day trips to hill towns in Tuscany. Daniela in the Front Office was so personable and helpful in planning our days. Do take the drive SE from Siena to San Giovanni d'Asso along the scenic route. Do eat in the hotel's restaurant - great service and food. Our suite was large and comfortable. The owner, Massimo, is charming. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurrajong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

It's been 12 months since we were at La Locanda del Castello ... I have been meaning to write this review for a LONG time, but LIFE keeps getting in the way. However, at La Locanda del Castello, life NEVER gets in the way!

We flew to Florence (Fienza) and rented a car. Nearly two hours to San Giovanni d'Asso and we found La Locanda del Castello. A WONDERFUL castle dating back to 1500. We settled into our room and then wondered if lunch was available. "No ... it"s too late", said Massimo. Then, what appeared was antipasto, meat, bread ... We asked for some wine,. "No, cannot do that", said Massimo. Then a wonderful bottle of a local red appeared. I'm still not sure that it all appeared on our bill!

Breakfast was wonderful each day. We ate in the restaurant two ore three times in the ten days we were there. The food was wonderful, the wine suggestions absolutely spot-on and the price very reasonable.

San Giovanni d'Asso is a small, unassuming town. It's magic is that it is central to most of Tuscany. We drove to Pienza (twice), Monticchiello, Sienna and Assissi. San Giovanni d'Asso was the PERFECT base for these day trips.

Our host, Massimo, was WONDERFUL (and I'm sure there was Grappa that did not appear on our bill!)

If you have a rental car, this is the PERFECT place to stay ... and thenh to explore Tuscany.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Locanda for a friend's wedding and, between the staff's friendly attentiveness and the picturesque backdrop of Tuscany, our trip was perfect! We didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant aside from breakfast but the food looked great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week in Tuscany followed by a week on the Amalfi coast. The hotel La Locanda del Castello was our favorite place, and the competition for first place was very keen. We landed in Rome, and took the rental car directly to the hotel. Daniella, the front desk manager simply can't be more helpful. She procured bikes for us, and gave us lots of useful information for the area. Our room # 8 was charming, large, with wood beams in the ceiling. The restaurant was so good that we ate there two of our three nights. Latif, the server, is friendly and helpful. The homemade raviolis were some of the best I've ever had.

The advantages of this hotel are numerous, beyond its obvious charm and good service. It is in a very quiet location, just perfect for recovering from a long flight. It is almost equal distance from Montalcino, Pienza, and Monepulciano making it possible to access these places by bike or car. It would be easy to discount this hotel since it is not in any of the big branded hill towns, but it shouldn't be missed. It is a great base to operate from to see the region.

Vic Arrington

Room Tip: Room 8 was excellent. It did not have a bath tub but the shower was just fine. I'm not sure how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Ca. USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel is in a very small town that you can tour easily on foot in less than an hour. There's not a heck of a lot going on albeit we were there on a Sunday night when everything is shut (no car, no gelato!). Having said that, the hotel itself is very nice - located in part of an ancient castle. Our room was large and clean. The staff was very helpful and quite pleasant. After dinner in the courtyard, a band set up and played some very good R&B. We thought the singer was channeling Louis Armstrong, but he sang that way all night! I would have enjoyed staying there for a couple more nights and doing some exploring in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We selected this location somewhat randomnly and what a find. We were there for 4 days and could have stayed longer. The staff is wonderfully accomodating, the rooms very comfortable and the scenery beautiful. But the best part was dinner. This area is famous for white truffles and they blend it into the meals and create a fantastic dinner. I can still taste the raviolis from 5 months ago....wow! The location is great as you can reach the popular destinations easily. I definately recommend renting a car. The roads are easy and signage fine. Don't be afraid to take a farm road and see the countryside. And to know you are coming home to a 900 year old castle, a gracious host, excellent wine list and tasteful dinner is a great day!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
6.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
11.6 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
10.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Property: La Locanda del Castello
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II No. 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a Hotel and a Restaurant in the heart of Tuscany south of Siena, in the middle of the three renowned wine districts of Chianti, Montalcino and Montepulciano, and set inside the unique and unspoiled landscapes of the Crete Senese and Val d' Orica ? LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO is the answer. Is a XVI century building which has been recently restored into a small hotel in the ancient and peaceful hamlet of San Giovanni d' Asso, celebrated for its famous white truffles. Just outside the village there is the wonderful garden "Bosco Della Ragnaia" created by the American artist Sheppard Craig. The territory is rich of history, with many hamlets, castles and abbeys to discover; rich for its natural hot springs with the chance of relaxing yourself in spas and spoiling yourself with massages and beauty treatments.Moreover if your Clients likes to do sports while on holiday, there is the chance of going horse riding, trekking, biking or have the wonderful experience of admiring the area from above on a hot air balloon.Not to forget the gastronomy experience this territory is able to offer: the Clients may visit some of the many wineries of the region and taste it's famous wines, in addition to the other main products of the area such as olive oil, cheese and truffle; and if they are willing to know more about the Tuscan food they may choose to take cooking classes in order to be able to remember the flavors of our region once back home.The Hotel LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO offers 9 rooms all finely restored and divided in the following room categories (3 standard, 3 Superior and 3 Suites). All the bedrooms are provided with a matrimonial bed and a bathroom with shower and hairdryer, a/c, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, safekeeping box and free wi-fi internet connection. The suites have an extra sitting area for relaxing.The restaurant LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO is located on the ground floor of the building, which once housed an olive press. It offers its guests the genuine flavors of traditional Tuscan cooking. Amongst its delicious specialties are the local white and black truffle (we also organize special truffle hunting), pecorino cheese, Senese salami, honey and saffron, with a selection of the most well-known Tuscan wines. In the warmer weather, one can eat outside in the small hamlet square enjoying the atmosphere of the old village, or alternately in the comfort and shade of the back terrace.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you might need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello San Giovanni D'Asso, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing