We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I can not recommend Lucignanello d'Asso highly enough. We have been going there for 3 years and are booked in for fourth. We stay in Casale Sarageto the farm house which is slightly removed from the village. Every year we discover more things to love about it. My only hesitation in writing this review is that we may have trouble making a booking. The first time we arrive, my husband (who is quite hard to please) clapped as he walked around the house and garden. The house is simple but lovely, having been restored by a well respected heritage designed. The garden is lovely with a gorgeous infinity pool surrounded by lavendar and rosemary. There is a table with a pergola over it down by the pool, ping pong table and a wonderful open barbeque. Doriana will give you good advice on all the best restaurants in the vicinity. The communal infiintiy pool is stunning, at the top of a hill (actually an ancient fort) and surrounded by olive trees with views 20km in every direction. This place is truly perfection.There are also 10 lovely towns in 20 minutes drive with great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

It's always a pleasure to have your family back each summer. And your return has even a higher value, considering that you come to our tiny, hidden "borgo" from the other side of the world!
I'll try to find out more and more hidden places to visit and local restaurants to try, so that you will keep on coming back every year.
All the best! Doriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

The last week of August proved to be a fantastic time of year for a very quiet and private romantic honeymoon! The friendly service, the fabulous views, the quietness with a convivial eaterie, the fabulous pool all made for quite the most gorgeous honeymoon destination I could have dreamed of.
We are quite a relaxed couple, and this was a proper treat for us, however a direct comparison to a hotel in the UK preceding this, highlighted the fact that for the price that one would really expect much better fittings and finishes in the bathroom and kitchen in particular. Having said that it had a very authentic feel, and was very relaxed which is the thing that in many ways central to its charm, and not so easy to find nowadays. In every important way it was fabulous, and given us some enjoyable memories for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Casa Maria
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuberella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear guests,
We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon so much! Casa Maria has one of the best views of our hills, but it has also a different story than all the other houses, that's why its furniture and decor are so peculiar. We had already in our plans to change its romantic, but narrow canopy bed. We will certainly follow your advice and update its bathroom and kitchen as well.
If you decide to come back for an anniversary, we will suggest you to stay in Casa Remo or Casa Clementina, where you will find the real essence of the Tuscan country living.
Thanks for your feedback! Doriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our family of 12, 6 adults and 6 children stayed here for a week of fun. Doriana and Carla were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and things to do for us. We loved all 3 of the houses we stayed in and enjoyed lovely evenings on the outdoor terrace. The pool was refreshing after long days. Overall a great week.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank clmorrisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad that you and the kids enjoyed the activities we arranged for your group. We both hope you'll keep a very good memory of your family reunion.
All the best! Doriana and Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 days as guests of some friends who have stayed here for the last 7 years. (So we cant comment on areas of value and price)
A great central venue, with great facilities for self catering and really helpful service. Every external restaurant and bar that was recommended by the hosts Doriana and Carla were also spot on and no request seemed to be a problem. There is a great hidden gem of a local store with a simple typical easy local lunch hidden below the buildings, the swimming pool and the sunsets - perfect, and the BBQ area ideal for a small intimate evening with the local butcher in San Giovanni Di Asso being awesome. We would be happy to go back so if this appears to be a place you are interested in then I think you will love the rest of it.

Room Tip: There are variations of the room types and it is worth talking directly to them and explaining the l...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRandFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Sorry for our late reply, We have noticed your review just now. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. It seems like you really enjoyed all the pros of our hamlet: the slow rhythms, the stunning views of the countryside, the good food and wine.
We look forward to your next visit to Lucignano d'Asso. All the best! Doriana and Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What an experience! Everything from the location in the center of Tuscany to the friendly and expert knowledge of the staff are ample reason to choose Borgo Lucignanello for a visit to this incredible region in Italy.

Our visit was for two weeks and this gave us ample time to visit the entire region and discover every city and village thoroughly. The Borgo itself is simply gorgeous. The rooms are pristine and wonderfully decorated. The fireplace and all the wood needed added a wonderful romantic touch. Sleeping facilities and bathrooms are simply gorgeous. Our kitchen was stocked with all the utensils needed for expert meals.

We were especially stunned by the views from this historic facility. Every nook and cranny of this facility was spectacular. The infinity pool on the hill is spectacular, clean, warm and big.

We recommend the Borgo Lucignanello highly and we will be back for more of this idyllic venue.

Room Tip: The Severino is big, has w magnificent fireplace and large bedrooms and baths.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

I'm glad you had such a nice time at our hamlet, despite the unusually bad weather.
It was a pleasure to help you planning your day trips and I hope you'll visit us again, so that next time you can enjoy our infinity pool better. Arrivederci!! Doriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have just spent a week staying at the Borgo and could not be happier with the experience. The weather was mixed, but enough fine days to see the splendor of the Tuscan hills from our doorstep. Doriana is probably the most helpful host I have ever Encountered in my travels. She always had time for us, even if she was in the middle of a meeting with her boss, The Contessa, who was also very warm and friendly. We received invaluable information about where to visit, how to get there, and very importantly, where to park! Doriana was also very helpful in advising us on how much we could reasonably fit into a day, and explaining some of the local customs and sayings. The villa had all the amenities we needed, and we had access to an ample supply of firewood, which made for some cosy nights in front of the open fireplace. While it was fun to buy a few supplies from the small shop on site (and communicate in a mixture of English, very bad Italian and sign language) we found it better to shop at the supermercato (coop) in nearby Torinieri, a ten minute drive away. In a week, we cooked twice (a pasta dish, and a soup) which we stored leftovers in our refrigerator and reheated in the microwave, so we probably only ate out twice at restaurants in nearby Pienza and Montalcino. I plan to go back here on my next visit to Italy, and while the Chianti region was about an hour and a half away, we found plenty to do and see in the south of Tuscany, and the Brunello wines to be out of this world. By the way, the house wines in Italy are fantastic. There is no shame in asking for these at cafe's and restaurants - we are yet to receive a dud!

Room Tip: The entire Borgo (hamlet) is so quiet, I don't think you could go wrong. Initially we chose Casa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTales03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

In the past two or three years we started having more and more Australian guests and we are always so happy to see that people coming from the other side of the world appreciate our Tuscan hamlet so much! The weather was not particularly kind with you, but the Tuscan nature in May is so gorgeous, that I'm sure you enjoyed all your trips through our hills.
I hope you will visit us again sooner or later. Arrivederci!! Doriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I are quite particular and wanted a "special" place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Andi Piper of "Once In A Lifetime Travel" highly recommended Lucignanello Bandini as very special, but even at that, she absolutely did not do this place justice!

In my wildest imagination I could not have pictured a more beautiful place. The little hamlet looked like something out of a fairy tale. Every vista was breathtaking.

I don't like living out of a suitcase, so we wanted a place that was centrally located so we could take day trips to the surrounding towns. The location couldn't have been more central to Montisi, Montepulciano, Pienza and various other towns. During our stay, we also took day trips to Sienna and Cortona, each about an hour from our lodgings.

The roads in Tuscany are beautiful but the signs (and Italian drivers) not so much. Our salvation
was Doriana - the manager/concierge. Doriana helped us plan out our days with maps, driving directions (even where to park) as well as restaurant suggestions, reservations and sights to see.
She was invaluable to our experience and this place is very lucky to have her!

Other reviewers have talked about the beautiful rooms. I am an interior designer and admittedly
particular about my surroundings. We stayed at Casa Remo and were thoroughly enchanted with
the space as well as the decor. Our kitchen came stocked with essentials for or stay and we ended up having breakfast at our apartment before we set out for our day, which saved us money and time. The microwave also allowed us to warm up leftovers from some terrific meals.
The area with the infinity pool was a great spot to chill and balanced out our busy days.

All I can say is that we will be back and will, without reservation, recommend Lucignanello Bandini. One of our best vacations ever!

Room Tip: Speak to Doriana. She is well versed in the individual aspects of the accommodations.
Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dlgdogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoLB, Manager at Borgo Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

I am SO glad you had such a good experience at our "borgo"! I know you were trying to celebrate your 30th anniversary in a very special way and I am sure that the good weather, our amazing views and all the charme of this beautiful area let your dream come true!
I hope you will keep very good memories of your stay at Lucignanello Bandini and I am looking forward to meeting you again. Doriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
13.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
107 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
150 reviews
7.6 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Lucignanello Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Lucignanello Bandini

Address: Localita Lucignano d'Asso, 53024 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range: £157 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on top of a hill overlooking the Orcia Valley and the Crete Senesi, Lucignanello Bandini is part of an ancient hamlet owned by the Piccolomini family since the 15th century. The property comprises five two-bedroom houses in the village and an independent four-bedroom farmhouse that have been recently restored, preserving the original architectural features while ensuring modern facilities. From the two swimming pools, set amidst olive trees, guests can enjoy stunning views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The private chapel and the hamlet's small church are romantic locations for weddings. Daily cleaning, breakfast and laundry service, cooking classes, wine tours and oil tasting can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Borgo Lucignanello Bandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini San Giovanni D'Asso, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing