We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we could have imagined” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ankhura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni d'Asso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ankhura
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than we could have imagined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ankhura in late April - it was absolutely amazing.
Anders and Cino are great hosts - the rooms are extremely clean and pretty.
Anders is an amazing cook - having dinner in one night is totally worth it (if they're offering it at the time).
We went on the Truffle hunt and although it was really the end of the season - great experience. Go in the fall and do it.
We regret not having done a cooking class with Anders.
I highly recommend Ankhura.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Returning to Ankhura injected some really lovely spring into our lives. The medeival stone house worked hard to warm up this early in the spring, but the warmth in the general atmosphere, the crackling of the downstairs fireplace and the hospitality of the hosts definitely made us all warm and fuzzy inside and out.
I just never get tired of seeing those olive orchards on the top of the opposing hill, looking out the window from the room. This trip we went to Arezzo for the monthly (first weekend) antique market there, where the old town turns into a fun vintage playground. We got home with a nice Murano vase.
Having moved to central Brussels since our last visit, it was lovely to get two nights of deep, undisturbed sleep in the quite Tuscan countryside in the comfy cozy beds with crisp, luxurious sheets. All in all, a lovely weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olalaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

There really isn't much else I can say about Ankhura. I took my boyfriend here for a surprise trip for his birthday & our anniversary. Based on the glowing reviews from Trip Advisor, I had high expectations & it really didn't disappoint. It was just as I imagined it would be, but better. I wanted something rustic but with the modern touches, clean, romantic, and peaceful. That's exactly what we got!

Situated on the top of a little hill with gorgeous panoramic views, it's the ideal B&B for that part of Tuscany. If you want to be involved in the hustle & bustle this isn't the place. It IS within very close driving distance (5-10 minutes) of villages for food, shopping, etc. There is plenty to do near there - all you need is an open mind & a map.

Unfortunately we were only there for a couple of says so we didn't take part in the cooking classes but they looked fun & the food looked gorgeous. We decided to have a meal there one evening & it was stunning. Three course meal, a lovely selection of wine, and they sang my boyfriend happy birthday in Swedish :-)

Anders & Cino are a lovely couple with a beautiful son & they are very accomodating & try to help as much as possible with ideas on places to go, things to see, etc.

I really couldn't recommend a better place to stay. It's rustic with the modern touches you would want or need. And we got a nice bottle of wine & olives on arrival. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

My sister and I stayed at Ankhura for two wonderful days.

Anders & Cino went out of their way to make our stay particularly wonderful. The food they serve is noteworthy (take advantage of one of their dinners) as is the stay in an 11th-Century dwelling.
The rooms are incredible because they are so authentically old -- yet they incorporate a modern bath, heating and other contemporary comforts. .

We stayed there after having spent a week in Rome so we were ready for a slower pace.
It was our first day in a rental car and the rental car's gps didn't work well. But once we found hamlet of Monterongriffoli, all was well.

It is not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My partner and i spent two weeks travelling around Rome Tuscany and Florcence, and Ankhura was the highlight. Great location, easy to find(we drove from Rome) close to Sienna, Montalcino, Montepulciano. Anders and Kino are wonderful hosts and the whole 7 days there was magnificent. The cooking class was great as were the daily breakfasts. Would thoroughly recommend the wine tour and the awesome truffle hunt which finished with the most delicios breakfast/brunch of scrambled eggs and truffles, bread and meats with chilled prosseco yummmy. The wine tour was great and just driving around the country side and the little villages. "Its nice" in the words of Borat!!!!


The room was comfortable and the beds amazing.
5 stars, 10/10 well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byroncc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed at Ankhura in August 2010.
Cino and Anders who runs the Ankhura B&B are the perfect hosts, from the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcome and pampered.

The house is totally renovated but has all the charm of an ancient italian house, the bedrooms are roomy and very clean. Our room had a stunning view over the valley and olive orchards. The rest of the house is the same, very clean and with lots of character. The garden is beutiful, this is where we had our breakfast every day, and dinners in the evening.

Anders and Cino had lots of good suggestions for excursions, and provided lots of good tips on everything from restaurants to where to park. And there are a lot of things to do and visit in the area. After a day of sightseeing and winetasting is was soo nice to relax for a while by the beutiful pool.

We also took the cooking class, held by Anders, which I strongly recomend anyone who has an interest in cooking! We learned a lot about italian cooking and had soo much fun at the same time, and the dinner we cooked up was amazing!

The food we had at Ankhura was delicious, from the breakfasts with freshly baked bread, scrambled eggs, yoghurt and more to the dinner that Anders prepared for us.

Ankhura is top notch and I would recomend it to anyone.
We can't wait to vist again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toasterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

As all have written before, Ankhura is a lovely relaxing place to stay. Anders and Cino are wonderful hosts, incredibly welcoming and helpful and both make exceptional food. We had two fantastic dinners here and three great breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the Tuscan hills. Simply superb! We can’t wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1tea1coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Giovanni d'Asso hotels
0.3 mi away
Podere Ampella
Podere Ampella
#3 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lucignanello Bandini
Lucignanello Bandini
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bagnacci
Agriturismo Bagnacci
#4 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agrituristica La Canonica
Agrituristica La Canonica
#8 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bombina
Agriturismo Bombina
#5 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankhura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankhura

Property: Ankhura
Address: Monterongriffoli, San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful little bed & breakfast is located in a magical medieval hamlet just south of Siena making it an ideal place from which to explore central and southern Tuscany. The proprietors, Christopher and Tina, left corporate careers in New York to indulge their passion for Italian culture, food and wine. Ankhura offers cooking classes, wine tours and truffle hunts throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ankhura San Giovanni D'Asso, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing