We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb getaway”
Review of Pieve a Pava

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni d'Asso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pieve a Pava
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb getaway”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

thanks to Rita and Johny for a lovely stay at Pieve a Pava
stayed three nights in the suite next to old chapel. very well equipped, quiet and beautiful surroundings
hospitality excellent, especially the "guest table" dinner when Rita cooked for all guests and Johny kept us well supplied with wine and home made liquer
great base for Siena and hilltop wine villages............even better are the less well known such as Pienza
very helpful and happy to share their extensive local knowledge (great directions to best car park in Siena) and recommendations for local restaurants etc

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybeestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Right from the email booking process to our final goodbyes Johny and Rita were helpful, friendly and professional over our 3 day stay. The hotel only has 6 rooms and it is a gorgeous old historic building building with all the comforts of home.
Our suite was beautifully decorated, very clean with real linen linen! The bathroom had a huge shower and bath along with some gorgeous complimentary bath products.
Aperitivos, which were all made by Rita were served with wine could be enjoyed by the fire in the lounge and was include in the price of your stay. Also included was the breakfast which was served at a long table where you could meet other guests and discuss your plans for the day with them and Johny. The breakfast itself was wonderful with freshly baked bread, fresh fruit, pastries, local cheeses and meats and Rita would cook you eggs to order.
Johny gave us great suggestions on where to eat and places to visit locally with mud maps and directions. He also booked us in to a wonderful wine tour and degustation lunch at Avignonesi Winery which was informative and fun.
But the piece de resistance was the wonderful meal we had on our second night, sitting with the other guests as well as Johny and Rita. The food cooked by Rita was fabulous...fettucini with fresh truffle sauce, guinea fowl with fresh asparagus...were just 2 of the four courses served with Avignonesi wines. All this for E60.00 a head we thought was a steal! I haven't even touched on the beautiful surroundings or the many other food delights but there are plenty.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losalamitos,ca
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Pieve a Pava was recomended to my husband & I by a most trusted source, and she did not disapoint. We were celebrating his 50th and wanted something memorable.
We rented a car in Rome and drove quite easily (with the help of a TomTomGPS)to Tuscany. The bare open pasture was beautifully lined with graceful dark cypresses. The voluptuous hills covered by velvety green grass with flocks of sheep and the sound of bells ringing through the breeze. Our hosts Johny and Rita could not have been more accomodating, with fantastic reccomendations for restarants and sights in the area. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and the sheets were devine! Rita happens to be a gourmet cook, and one night we dined with a fun group of Belgians and by the end of the most incredible dinner, accompined by a solo guitar player...we were singing arm & arm and having a dining experience that will not be soon forgot. They offer Vespas on property, and with maps penciled by Johny with spots not to miss, we had one of the best days ever, on any vacation. Every night there is an opportunity to have apertifs, offering a chance to meet and chat with fellow guests. I am still dreaming and hoping one day to return to this most magical place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelynnfool007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

It has been over a year since my husband and I stayed in a suite by the centuries old church. We still talk about going back someday soon. For our first trip to Italy a week in Johny and Rita's guesthouse was a brilliant choice. The website caught my eye when I was looking for a place to spend my 50th birthday. The church and main house were a treasure of beautiful old architecture. All of the rooms are unique and beautifuly decorated. The level of taste and perfection Johny and Rita put into the designing the rooms is also reflected in the meals and the hospitality. Rita's dinners were the best meals we had in Italy. Johny was a great host with his helpful recommendations for day trips, his wine offerings at dinner and by graciously sharing the beauty of their house, pool and countryside. Liz and Jim, Boston

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We just had a wonderful family gathering for a week at Peive a Pava.

Jonny and Rita are superb hosts; attentive, helpful and gracious. The setting on a hilltop in the Tuscan countryside is straight out of a travel book. Rita is a GEM – her kitchen creations surprised and delighted us everyday. None of the family had the least interest in dining anywhere other than at the villa. – Truly superb!

The facility is charming and well laid out for guests. The suites are spacious, tastefully modern, impeccably clean, and with beautiful bathrooms. There is something exquisite about going to sleep on ironed linens.

It is close enough to Seina, so that a day there can be enjoyed without having to also have a long and arduous road trip, but it was also far enough away to allow you to escape the crush of tourists. What’s more, it is literally around the bend in the road from the many wonderful sites and villages of southern Tuscany. (the village of Montalcino and the Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore to name just two “not to be missed” destinations)

They were perfect days: a light breakfast to start, then we were off on a tour and usually lunch someplace out, back by mid afternoon for a brief nap and some fun with the family around the pool. We would then gather in the garden for aperitif and then dinner al fresco – wonderfully prepared by Rita.

Pieve a Pava is tasteful, quiet, and truly special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2008

From the minute we arrived in Pieve a Pava in June 2008, we felt at home and were greeted with hospitality and attention by Johny and Rita. Pieve a Pava is a fantastic guesthouse with 5 bedrooms, decorated in authentic Toscan colours and style. We slept very well. No noise, just birds. Breakfast is being served in the morning by Rita, who turns out to be a fabulous cook, with homemade breads and pies. Cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruits and juice are abundant. We had the privilige to attend one lunch and one dinner at home: amazing quality of food, prepared largely with natural ingredients and always fresh vegetables. Comfortable chairs at a very clean swimming pool. Johny assisted us very helpfully with planning our car trips in the incredibly beautiful area of Siena, Montepulciano and Pienza, cities which are very close to Pieve a Pava. On a scale of 1 to 10 we would give Pieve a Pava and its staff a 10+ rating. We absolutely plan to return. The guesthouse is very suitable for all types of travellers, incl. singles, couples, families with young or older children, pensionado's, groups of 10 people. Paul and Els, The Netherlands.

Helpful?
1 Thank PaoloNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We stayed in Pieve a Pava during our recent trip to Tuscany. It's a beautiful old property amidst idyllic nature, restored with soulfelt care by our Belgian friend, Carol Vanwonterghem, recently turned into a boutique hotel.

Johny and Rita, another Belgian couple, manages the place with warmth and attention to the details of the experience. At $250/night, this is a steal, since that includes breakfast, drinks, and lots of added touches like the slice of pineapple when you're soaking in the pool.

It also seems like a wonderful place to rent as a group (family, friends, even corporate offsites). Only 5 suites, so perfect for a small group vacation (people really need to get along, though :-))

The enchanting little village of Pienza is close by, and worth a day trip. Not far, although farther, are Siena and Florence.


You can book through their website: [--].

You can also see my photos on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sramana/sets/72157600232695484/

Sramana Mitra
[--]

  • Liked — Absolute pristine authenticity in tune with the Tuscan life.
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insearchoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
3.0 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
285 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni d'Asso
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Podere Salicotto
Podere Salicotto
#1 of 6 in Buonconvento
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Cunina
Agriturismo Podere Cunina
#1 of 11 in Buonconvento
79 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve a Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve a Pava

Property: Pieve a Pava
Address: Localita Podere Pieve di Pava 1, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small borgo of Pieve a Pava is half an hour's drive south from the city of Siena, in a lesser known but particularly captivating part of Tuscany, called the Crete Senesi. It has been converted into a small luxury guesthouse, where one can easily discover the charms of the Tuscan way of life whilst finding 'one's home away from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pieve a Pava San Giovanni D'Asso, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing