We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Agriturismo Bombina(San Giovanni d'Asso)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Borgo Lucignanello Bandini(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda del Castello(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farm Holiday La Canonica(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere Ampella(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agriturismo Bagnacci(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agriturismo Torricella(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agrituristica La Canonica(San Giovanni d'Asso)
Booking.com
View Deal
Castello Montelifre(San Giovanni d'Asso)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
83
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Pieve a Pava for 3 nights (Sept. 2012) as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy, and it was by far the best part of the entire trip. Johny and Rita are amazing hosts and made us feel very welcome. And their property is simply beautiful. It has a historic chapel, an old farmhouse, and a bunch of beautiful rooms that are a mix of simple rustic charm and modern design. There's also a pool, and lots of little hidden corners to rest and relax and let your mind wander. It's nestled away in the hills in a fairly remote place, which was exactly what we were looking for.

We were lucky enough to have Rita cook a meal for us and to enjoy it with the other house guests, who were all a pleasure to spend time with. Breakfasts were incredible and they even left the breakfast out late for us since we like to sleep in. Everything was fresh and homemade. Breads, cheeses, yogurts, coffee/tea, jams, meats - we felt very spoiled. It was honestly the best food we had on the trip. The service was perfect; attentive but laid back, and we felt really comfortable the entire time. It felt like a home away from home.

The place is also perfectly situated in Tuscany, being that it's a short drive to many sights. Johny can recommend lots of different day trips that will take you to medieval towns, hot springs, ancient churches, and beautiful vista points. It's really close to Siena and Florence as well. The amount of activities in the area will keep you busy for as long as you want.

Part of me wants to keep this place to myself and not tell anyone about it so it can be my own secret get-away. But Johny and Rita really deserve to have the those who are looking for something unique and beautiful to know about their place. It was one of the best experiences I ever had, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We really fell in love with Tuscany, I'm sure that's because we were staying at Pieve a Pava for two nights.
Our stay was way to short unfortunately, but we will return for sure!

Prepare for luxury, hospitality, fine dining (Rita is so passionate about food), lovely wines (Johnny is picking the best from the local wine houses) and a peacefull environment.

Room Tip: Try a suite, we have rarely seen such a luxurious, spacious room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Having spend on several occasions some time at pieve pava, alone, in family and with friends, the quality of the food, the service and the hospitality are always at the same high level. The sense of details in the overal experience are so nice. Johny and Rita succeed to make you want to come back every time again. And the food... one has to experience it to be able to share it !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Well we have been back a couple of weeks in a very wet England but the memory of our stay at Pieve a Pava still burns bright.
We booked Pieve a Pava for week away just myself and my wife, our first visit to Tuscany, on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews, slighlty apprehensive as it had such good reviews, can any place be that good? Well it is. Why?, it is so good, it is hard to explain until you experience it for yourself. It is, basically down to Jonny and Rita's hospitalitly, a magic mix of laid back attentiveness ,as it has been commented on previously, and I can only concur. The rooms are a lovely a mix of traditional Tuscan antiques with modern additions, comfy and clean. I don't think the pictures on here do it justice. The outside spaces, as the inside, are emmaculately kept. Not many have commented on the value aspect, and at first It appeared expensive - well there was no in room mini bar, trouser press and all that other usless stuff four star hotels have to have. But, what you do get because of this, is a peaceful, restful retreat. As much free soft drinks as you need, on tap tea and coffee, with a piece of home made cake as well. Or fruit if feeling healthy.
Jonny's restaurant recommendations and little hand drawn maps were always spot on. Jonny or Rita were always there to join us for breakfast at 9ish in the morning, even though they had been up for a few hours already, I thought that was a very nice touch and an example of the way they do things . We were spoilt slightly, as we did have the place to ouselves for our weeks stay.
There has been comment in other reviews regarding the cost of one of Rita's meals. We did not find this the case at all, the last night when two new couples arrived at Pieve a Pava, Rita cooked a lovely meal, four courses with wine etc etc. All for a set price, and a discount for my wife as she does not drink alcohol.
All in all, fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuggJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were just so lucky to be able to spent a week at Pieve a Pava.

It was our first time in Tuscany and won't be the last on this little piece of heaven.
Rita and Johny are amazing hosts and it only took minutes to fell in love with their dogs, too.
The location, the lovely design and interiors of the guesthouse and the outstanding homie feeling left us speachless for a few days.
Pieve a Pava is located perfectly to visit Montalcino, Siena, Pienza, Montepuliciano etc. Johny was very helpful arranging visits to wineries and bike tour routes. The 1000 Miglia coming by close by together with the Picknick lovely prepared by Rita was one of the highlights.
Rita does magic in here kitchen and surprises every day with freshly baked bread and cake and here awesome cantucchinis. Don`t miss having dinner there as well. On some evenings she cooks and Johny adds the wines to make the evening even more perfect.

All in all, for us THE PLACE TO BE south of Siena. We will remember this place forever and are for sure returning later this year.

Room Tip: No room is like the other and the larger ones are really worth it!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleineLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews