We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Scandic Bryggen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Bryggen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
uden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This Rica hotel a smaller as the other one in Honningsvag, but I think this one is better.
Nice spacious room.
You have a nice view from the harbour if you are sitting in the restaurant.
Very good breakfast with all kind of food. I really prefer this hotel if you want to visit the Nordcape.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripUden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    88
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
33
90
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Of the higher-end hotels at the Nordkapp, only Rica Bryggen was open in January. The initial impression is very positive, with a modern-tasteful reception lounge and restaurant with a view on the picturesque harbour. Rooms are small but again nicely furnished. Service at reception was pretty and friendly. I would give 5 stars if there was a sauna and/or gym.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voss, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I am very pleased after staying here two days! I was here for a photoassignment on Nordkapp wich turned out to be a bit difficult because of low light and weatherconditions, just getting there seemed to be difficult, unless you come on a boat with dozens of other guest. The staff helped me alot, called around and everyone turned out to work together to help me get there in time for the light. Without this help my shots would probably be a failure.

Every staff was really helpful with all my problems, like waking up in the night hungry, baggage-transfering (since i had to move from hotel to hotel between the shots), I got to check out the last day really late since my plane didnt leave before 19:00 (THANK YOU!) and just giving me info, all being very friendly. Helps alot on a stressful journey.

Breakfast were fantastic, rooms were really good too with a nice view, I just wish the boats could turn off the massive lights during the night for a better view of the sky. Internetconnection was superb, not the fastest but fast enough to deliver my work to a bunch of people waiting for them to work on, and it was free and included as should be with good signal to the room. Extra plus for water boiler and coffe on the room!

Price was really cheap too, but I guess thats because this is low season.

My first night here, I got some aurora photos as well, wich is a nice bonus. People in Honningsvåg are really friendly and open to new people, but that goes for all of north I guess.

Will definitely be back, hoping to be with friends to show them Nordkapp, wich I believe everyone should visit atleast once in their life.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terje N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great location for visiting Nordkapp - only 30 mins drive away. Really good food in the restaurant (dinner) and good buffet choice (breakfast). Unstocked fridge in room and underfloor heating in bathroom. Some views of the surrounding mountains and harbour but not a great view from any room. Decor of the room was a bit stark - battleship grey furniture - 1 armchair plus small table. Good for short visit.

Room Tip: best views probably from rooms 01-05 on st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A small and cosy hotell in Honningsvåg, close to the North Cape. Nice rooms, very good standard. Excellent breakfast and restaurant.
The hotell is situated at the harbour and you can really feel the forces of nature when you stay there. This time is was full storm, but the noise is not high in the rooms.
All hotels are expensive in Norway and the prices here are average.
I have stayed here before and will sure use them again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Nice rooms (clean and spacious), nice staff, huge and varied breakfast, and included all amenities needed for a business or leisure trip. The staff also set our complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby with some fresh baked goods, which was a nice added touch. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
1,164 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

located at a fishermen wharf, the hotel is literally built over the water. unfortunately, the furniture of the rooms looks closer to plastic than to wood. staff just so-so. breakfast was acceptable. high price for the service rendered, but honningsvag is like this. i rather sugest to look for a cabanna at villages at the north

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honningsvag
5.0 mi away
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
#2 of 4 in Honningsvag
82 reviews
9.7 mi away
Nordkapp Turisthotell
Nordkapp Turisthotell
#1 of 1 in Skarsvag
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nordkapp Camping
Nordkapp Camping
#1 of 2 in Honningsvag
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
#2 of 2 in Honningsvag
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Northcape Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Honningsvag
5 reviews
9.8 mi away
Nordkapp Caravan Og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bryggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bryggen

Property: Scandic Bryggen
Address: Vaagen 1, Honningsvag 9750, Norway (Formerly Rica Bryggen Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Nordkapp Municipality > Honningsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Bryggen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bryggen is centrally located by the Honningsvag harbour. The hotel offers panoramic views over the surrounding sea. The local area offers a wide range of activities: hiking, sea fishing, bird safari and the popular North Cape cliffs and the North Cape Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Bryggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing