We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and not worth the money”
Review of Scandic Bryggen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Bryggen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Let me be very clear: The hotel is absolutely not worth the money. The price is 1000 norwegian kroner pr person, abouth 135 Euro.
The reason for these high prices is the Northcap, some 30 km from Honningsvag.
The beds are very hard and eventhough the hotel is situated in the habour, there is noise from the fishingboats around the clock. The view from the room is nice but does not compensate for the price of the room.
But as we schould learn. The standard of many hotels in Norway is this basic and expensive. If there is a turistattraction nearby, its almost garanted a high price for the hotel room. Even the most basic hotels. Maby thats why we saw so many autocampers on the roads. These facilities are probably better than most hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2008

After a very long drive we arrived at this hotel, to find it to be so expensive our credit cards tried to bend away from the place. The room was tiiiny, the TV had very few channels, and the bathroom was old and worn out. The only plus sides to this hotel is a good breakfast and good beds.
I would try to find somewhere else to stay. It's not worth 1700 NOK per night.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lexidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

This Hotel was just what one wants in a location like Honningsvag. I was there with my husband and our two children, ages 5 and 8. The Owner, or the man who checked us in anyway, was charming and extremely helpful. He walked to our room with us and made up the bed for our girls himself. He recommended a local restaurant for us for dinner, which was within 5 minutes walk, and it was just excellent, I had the salmon of course. The hotel itself lies on a dock over the ocean. The room was very comfortable, roomy, and quiet. The beds were crisply clean and dressed in butter-yellow duvets on lofty comforters. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was laid by the impressive gentleman whom, I assume was the owner. He seemed to take genuine pleasure and pride in serving and visiting with the guests. The breakfast was wonderful, especially for those who enjoy the goods of the sea. We were there only one night, but we enjoyed walks around town, the fresh sea air, the sights and sounds of the seaside, and the charm and beauty of Honningsvag. I was sorry to go, and have thought back fondly on the experience many times.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinktrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2002

Rica Bryggen Hotel was a nice place to stay. The room was standard, but it overlooked the water. We didn't get too many TV stations either, but the breakfast buffet was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They even let us store our luggage after we checked out so that we could tour the village without dragging our bags behind us.

3  Thank cjk1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank G7141YZjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela N, Manager at Scandic Bryggen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolopiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela N, Manager at Scandic Bryggen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KatePo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela N, Manager at Scandic Bryggen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honningsvag
9.7 mi away
Nordkapp Turisthotell
Nordkapp Turisthotell
#1 of 1 in Skarsvag
42 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
#2 of 4 in Honningsvag
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
#2 of 2 in Honningsvag
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arctic Hotel Nordkapp
Arctic Hotel Nordkapp
#2 of 3 in Honningsvag
2 reviews
9.6 mi away
Kirkeporten Camping
Kirkeporten Camping
#1 of 3 in Skarsvag
81 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nordkapp Camping
Nordkapp Camping
#1 of 2 in Honningsvag
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bryggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bryggen

Address: Vaagen 1, Honningsvag 9750, Norway (Formerly Rica Bryggen Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Nordkapp Municipality > Honningsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Price Range: £98 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Bryggen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bryggen is centrally located by the Honningsvag harbour. The hotel offers panoramic views over the surrounding sea. The local area offers a wide range of activities: hiking, sea fishing, bird safari and the popular North Cape cliffs and the North Cape Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Scandic Bryggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing