We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Honningsvag
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although this hotel is superficially clean be prepared to fight for your food and whatever you do do not turn up to the 'dining room' before your allocated time! Be prepared for the 'food' (lukewarm and sometimes undercooked) to run out and take some time for replacement. Expect to pay exorbitant prices for a mediocre glass of wine and whatever you do don't expect a bar! They will send you in the direction of the bar and when you ask for service they will tell you they no longer have a bar. When you ask for the Internet connection you will be pointed to a card at the end of reception. I leave you to sort out that riddle! Our room was not large enough to store two suitcases and hand luggage easily, the foot of the bed was almost up against the wall! This was a hotel used in order to visit the North Cape, there can be no other reaon on this earth to use this place.

Room Tip: Dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Rooms are spacious and directly on the harbour. Clean and confortable, a positive experience. We arrived before normal check in time and were given a room without the usual unpolite'come back at 3 PM'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opocaj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Arriving at the hotel we noticed the free parking, although there were only 10 parking spaces available for all the hotel guests. We were lucky to have one. Rooms were rather small (and the bed too) with a small old-fashioned bathroom. I think the hotel gets its guests due to the location, near Northcape. Only free internet in the lobby. We were lucky to have a room at the ground floor not to far away from the lobby so we could surf in our room ( don't know if it was possible on other floors).
Breakfast was nice but not as extended as in other Rica hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package tour. It is set in a beautiful surrounding and it's just next to a harbour. There's quite a number of shops/eating places and a supermarket a short walk away. We've enjoyed our stay

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank ywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the beginning of Sept 2012. At arrival the check in took for ages and we where a group of prox 12 persons arriving at the same time. Rooms where pre-booked so there where no reason for the dawdling. The room was clean and small. Sleep quality was OK, and the room had a fat screen TV and wireless wifi works fine. No furniture in the room except the bed. Room seemed a little old and worn, but the (rather small) bathroom was newly refurbished.

Location is in the middle of the city centre within two miutes walk from the port, and the rest of the city centre. Breakfast was rather standard. Based on the standard of the hotel, and where in the world this hotel actually is located I found the price quite steep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnerikkescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Apparently accommodation in summer in Finmark is very expensive and in high demand. We were considering trying to change hotel and asked for advice at another hotel. We were told that Rica Honningsvag (don’t muddle this with the other Rica hotel in town) is set to cater mainly for pre-booked tour groups, rarely individuals and more rarely Norwegians. It shows!

You arrive at a very basic reception area, it felt decidedly unfriendly. As in common with other hotels in town situations there was limited parking but the receptionist wasn’t bothered to offer other suggestions. A tour group came in just before we checked in leaving a massive queue for the one lift, we had to fight round them to get our cases up the stairs. As you come into the accommodation corridors the doors to rooms look like prison cells.

Our room was a small boxy bedroom. Built in space for mini bar but none there. Only one key even though there was two of us (and that on a cheap nasty stained tag, not a good first impression when you check in). Only one easy chair and a desk chair with a broken back. Standard curtains with no blackout so much too light during the night to sleep well. I thought one redeeming feature was at least it was clean until I found long black hairs in the shower and what looked like blood on the bedroom wall. Pump soap/shampoo no other toiletries, plastic toothmugs. I suppose as they expect you to use the soap dispenser there's nowhere to put your own stuff in the shower room. There is loads of good hot water though. There was no plug for the hand washbasin. Hubby didn’t like the shower head, he felt it was like being stood under the end of a hosepipe. Condensation formed on a cold water pipe fitted under the ceiling above the toilet, water dripped onto our backs whilst using the toilet. The beds sheets were too small and just thrown over the mattress pad. Each bed had only one pillow with no spares so we used cushions.

The room overlooked the harbour, it was very noisy as some cruise ships dock in the evening for passengers to visit the Nordkapp for the midnight sun hence arrive and depart early hours of the morning, (noisily). Breakfast buffet was pretty average compared to other hotels we stayed at, and a little pressured with the number of tour groups (who have allocated tables and times). One morning the orange juice had run out and the replacement was a watered down substitute.

None of our complaints in isolation would necessarily mark a hotel down and may seem a bit ‘nit picky’, it’s the number of them that make the hotel such a depressing place to stay.

The whole place seems very ‘jobsworth’ with how little they could get away with. It feels you are very much a captive audience so why bother. I would recommend if you want reasonable comfort and space with good service look elsewhere, if necessary out of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager R, General Manager at Scandic Honningsvag, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Rica Hotel Honningsvåg is a summer hotel which is only upon from Mai until October. Our main customer group is bus tourists, but we do cater for individual travellers and we do have business rooms with a bit higher standard then the rest of the hotel. I do apologize if you did not feel welcome when you arrived at the hotel and I have addressed this with the reception manager.
We are aware that the logistics of the elevator and the amount of people checking in at once makes individual travellers a bit uncomfortable, and we are looking into making changes in order to improve this first impression and the reception area.
When it comes to the quality of your room, I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and I have addressed your comment about the cleanliness and broken chair with Housekeeping to ensure this does not happen again. I do suggest that the next time you travel that you inform the reception about the state of your room. There is then the possibility of changing or upgrading your room, and we do offer at the reception extra pillows if guest request them.
We try to accommodate for all our guest in the best way possible and to uphold the service standard that Rica Hotels are known for.
Again I do apologize for your unfortunate experience at our hotel. I thank you very much for your feedback and for helping us improve our standard of service and quality of our product.

Best Regards
Nico Menti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Rica is a chain of hotels and when possible they prevent competitors to enter the scene,thus we heard. So you are sometimes completely dependent of Rica Hotels in far up Norway. Around Nordkap there are three of them, the one in Honningsvag probably the best.
Acceptable rooms but unfriendly lady chief of staff at dinner time.They act as if you should be glad that they want to give you dinner, No idea that it are the guests that make it possible for them to make a living. Strange, Well: monopolists! Dinner and breakfast OK, but again a rough lady, tatoed, being a chief of staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager R, General Manager at Scandic Honningsvag, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do have three different hotels in and outside Honningsvåg, but there are also 5 other hotels in the area. Your unfortunate experience in the restaurant has been addressed with the restaurant manager. We appreciate your feedback and appreciate all our guests. We also welcome you to an enjoyable experience on a later date.

Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honningsvag
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bryggen
Scandic Bryggen
#1 of 4 in Honningsvag
215 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
#2 of 4 in Honningsvag
86 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nordkapp Turisthotell
Nordkapp Turisthotell
#1 of 1 in Skarsvag
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Nordkapp Camping
Nordkapp Camping
#1 of 2 in Honningsvag
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
#2 of 2 in Honningsvag
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Northcape Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Honningsvag
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Honningsvag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Honningsvag

Address: Nordkappgata 4, Honningsvag 9750, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Honningsvåg)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Nordkapp Municipality > Honningsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Price Range: £107 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Honningsvag 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Honningsvag is located in central Honningsvag next to the Hurtigruten port and the harbour and it is just 35 km from the North Cape. Our hotel offers 174 flexible rooms. Our restaurant offers a hearty breakfast in the morning and a dinner buffet on evenings. As a guest you always have access to free WiFi. Please note: Scandic Honningsvag is a seasonal hotel open only from May until September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Honningsvag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honningsvag Rica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing