We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal facilities with very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place is just amazing, the location is very convenient for the airport and obviously right on the beach. The main outdoor area is sheltered from the coastal winds but still affords a gentle breeze. There are 4 pools and a hot tub with numerous comfortable sun loungers all over. The pools vary in depth and design and we found the indoor heated pool perfect to take our 5 month old daughter into. I say indoor but the huge amount of glazing felt like it was outdoors yet was sheltered from the sun.

The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much; blowing up inflatables with an air pump, moving sun loungers, giving advice and drawn directions, whatever you needed they helped in a friendly and efficient way. Sometimes in a high end facility the staff can be a little snooty and aloof, but not here and it's something I couldn't value higher.

The overall design was to an exacting standard: beautiful, paved cream stones gave way to very tasteful tiered landscaped gardens and stunning white villas with classic terracotta roofs. The architecture was very sympathetic to the local style, yet had a modern feel with lots of glass, resulting in an open and smooth 'feel'. Manicured lawns and trees everywhere created a wonderful environment not normally associated with a beach location.

Our villa was perfect, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, FOUR TVs! 2 sun terraces, front and back gardens, a pool, aircon everywhere, a perfect kitchen that was fully stocked with more utensils than you could ever use and floor to ceiling sliding doors in every room with amazing external security/blackout electronic shutters that operated at the touch of a button. Wifi, English TV, you genuinely couldn't have asked for more.

The food was outstanding, we ate in the restaurant many times which served a great range of food including perfect eggs benedict, venison t bone, king prawns in white wine and garlic sauce with chips and more. It really covered everything from a nice lunch by the pool down to fine dining.

We can't wait to return to DDBC and we really recommend you give it a try!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a comprehensive review of Dunas Douradas Beach Club.
To hear that our staff are incredibly helpful makes us proud and gives us the confidence to continue to do our best in order to deliver an excellent service to our clients.
The villas are truly luxurious and are an excellent choice for families to have an unforgettable vacation.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Dunas Douradas Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

It was luxurious,comfy and the staff were happy to help and very helpful and polite.The apartments were comfortable,had everything,safe and spacious.I would recommend it to couples,families,business workers and friends just going away.I would say go to Dunas douradas in June when it's scorching hot.

Room Tip: Don't get an apartment near the pool area because sometimes they hold wedding venues or partie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. It is really nice to know that you liked the comfort of the apartment, the facilities and the service that our staff provided.
We love to receive guests coming over from America to see our beautiful country. You are always most welcome in the Algarve.

Best regards,
Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Quality of apartment was excellent, Maria's restaurant on the beach is recommended. Hotel to airport shuttle bus driver was very rude, threw our bags on the kerb and drove off without a word. Certainly not five star service from a hotel staff member. He was very friendly when we were arriving, not so friendly when we were leaving. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you liked the quality of our apartments.
I am truly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the motorist on your transfer back to the airport. We are making an investigation of the situation and I have asked the head of our reservations team to contact you personally.

Best regards,

Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in one of the private villas with pool - M6. It was faultless and everything worked ! A private villa in a lovely extremely well maintained complex. Nothing was too much trouble. Its possible to stay here without a car as all needs are taken care of even room service and a bus to the supermarket. This villa was exceptionally clean like I have never seen before. I am a highly critical person but this really was exactly what it was described as and nothing short. Highly recommend to old people, kids and corporate. The villa is laid out in an very sociable well thought out design.

Room Tip: If you can have a private villa with pool do !
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about one of our most beautiful villas. In addition to our 132 stunning apartments, we have eight detached villas in the complex, all with high standard of appliances and private pools. Although they all have a different layout and decoration, the “Provence” style of M6 gives this villa a real holiday feeling.
We are glad to hear that our staff looked after you well during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again here at the Beach Club.

Best regards,
Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have visited the Beach Club four times - twice at easter and twice at halloween when the kids are off from school. The resort is beautifully maintained and has lots of manicured open green space. The "club house" is really nice and comfy and has a bar/restaurant which is comfortable and serves nice food. The accomodation is high quality and spacious with TV's (with sky sports) and internet access etc. The kitchen's are well equipped and all appartments have an outside gas BBQ and sink. This is cleaned daily for you which is also a treat! The location is great because the club is right beside the beach so if it gets hot, its a short stroll down to the shoreline. I recommend you rent a car so that you can visit the dozens of restaurants near by in Almancil, Quinta and Vale de Lobo. There is also a fine supermarket up in Almancil called Pingo Doce (Apolonia supermarket is a nice upmarket place if you are not price sensitive). Many of the appartments have jacuzzis and this is a nice touch. All in all, the appartments are finished and furnished to a high level with excellent facilities. The resort is really well maintained and its a very nice place to spend time. I always look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 457Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent review of Dunas Douradas Beach Club.
Coming back for the fourth time with your family and using the “Home from home” expression for your review header shows that you feel very comfortable to spend your holidays with us. To read that you are always looking forward to coming back is very rewarding to us
We are very proud of the Beach Club facilities and try our best to deliver a high standard quality services to our guests.
We look forward to welcome you and your family again soon.

Best regards,
Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently stayed in DDBC for the second time with our two young children and my mother. We loved it again! The apartments are beautiful and have everything you could possibly need. We loved the BBQ; we used it nearly every day! We also loved the food from the restaurants and it is really convenient that they deliver to the apartments- handy when you have young kids.

I attended a few if the classes in the gym - all the instructors were very professional and I really enjoyed the classes.

The pool area is great and the indoor pool is heated which is great when you have little kids who do to want to swim outside in the "cold pool" (which were not cold at all!)

The beach is really close and is a beautiful beach, a great place to take a nice romantic walk at sunset

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The receptionists were especially helpful. The only exception to this helpful team is one girl who works at the gym/kids club who was consistently rude to all of us. Other than that every member of staff was very professional.

The cleaners were great too. Very accommodating and tried to help out as much as possible.

Overall we loved the place and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aoife H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your recent review of Dunas Douradas Beach Club.
It is very nice to hear that you came for your second visit, having such an enjoyable time and that you appreciated all our facilities and that our staff were friendly and helpful.
Your comments on the girl in the Gym/Kids Club are noted and have been reported to the manager responsible. Please accept our apologies.
We look forward to welcome you and your family again soon.

Best regards,
Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This really is a great place to stay. We have just returned from a week staying in the Dunas section of the apartments which had a good sea view. The apartments as large and extremely well equipped.

We travelled with our 6 month old daughter and it was our first trip abroad. We need not have worried as everything ran smoothly. The speed with which the staff responded to any requests was the best we have experienced.

Great indoor and outdoor pools.

Try Maria's restaurant on the beach. Great seafood and very welcoming staff.

We plan to return later in the year.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank TravelTheW0rld360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia B, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay here at the Beach Club.
It is great to know that you enjoy the comfort of our apartments, that everything ran smoothly and that our staff were efficient.
As you experienced, our apartments are very well equipped and spacious. They all have the same layout, the differences being essentially the distance from the clubhouse, the type of views of each area and the number of bedrooms.
We look forward to receiving you back soon.
Best regards,
Silvia Biscaia
CEO Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,606 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
331 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
2.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ria Park Hotel&Spa
Ria Park Hotel&Spa
#5 of 14 in Almancil
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Douradas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Address: Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#2 Family Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: £133 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunas Douradas Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the Golden Algarve Coastline between the luxurious resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo, Dunas Douradas enjoys an enviable position in every sense. Imagine the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves breaking on the shoreline as you wake from a relaxing sleep. Dunas Douradas Beach Club offers 132 quality apartments and 8 villas situated in a prestigious beach front location within Algarve's Golden Triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Dunas Douradas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Hotel Almancil
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing