We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food at reasonable prices”

Restaurante Aquarelle
Ranked #15 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated just outside the centre of Almancil, in a quirky octagonal building on the road to Vale do Lobo is homey restaurant Aquarelle. Surrounded by greenery, whether you choose to enjoy an airy evening at an outside table or retreat to the air conditioned dining room, carefully decorated in tasteful Mediterranean colours, you���ll be ensured a relaxing evening, hosted by friendly and welcoming staff. On menu you���ll find a host of glorious French delights, all attractively served with great attention to detail. Don���t miss the fabulous homemade ice creams from the dessert menu ��� even if you don���t think you could eat another thing they really are unmissable.
Santa Bárbara de Nexe, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited this restaurant on 5 April for dinner. As soon as we entered the the beautiful dining area we were welcomed by the owner Loris and his staff which made us feel very special. We were offered an aperitif whilst we looked at the menu to chose our meal. We had a fabulous meal which was presented to a high standard. The food was delicious and not a morsel was left on our plates. The service was attentive and the food was hot. They have an excellent menu with a very varied choice on offer to suit most palettes. Prices averaged between 25 and 30 euros per person and we consider for what is on offer that Aquarelle is very good value for money and excellent service. Well done Loris for making us feel welcome and special. Definitely will recommend your restaurant to our friends and family and will be returning for another delicious meal soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    70
    24
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boliqueime, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for the extras...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I've been to Aquarelle a few times and whilst the food is good I just feel it is slightly overpriced once you add on the couvert and drinks. We had the set lunch with a vegetarian starter and fish main course - both dishes were gorgeous but weren't all that filling so we had dessert too. Add in a bottle of wine (cheapest white), some water and the couvert and suddenly the bill has skyrocketed... The restaurant is really pretty inside and the outside area is lovely (too cold when I went this time) and the service is very good. Yes I'll go back if friends want to go but I'll watch what we order!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Algarvegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I visit the Algarve about 3 times a year and every time i make sure to come to this fab restaurant- usually twice per visit. The food is beautifully presented and delicious. I often have their pan fried foie gras for starter and king prawns for main which are so delicious! The steak here is excellent too. Everything is made in house including the desserts which are good portion sizes too. I would say this is the best restaurant in the area both for standard of food originality of menu. Their is also something for all budgets including a set menu. The owner is very friendly chap and he makes sure your dining experience is good everytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Choice dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Dined here for a very nice launch at a reasonable price. Then was invited to a private New Years Eve dinner which was fabulous. A special occasion handled admirably by expert chef and wait staff. Of course the place was crowded but they coped well. A memorable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superdoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rosiere, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food,lovely place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have been a few times since my first review of this restaurant and I must say it has got better and better. We would now come here most times when in Almancil. We came with family and we all had fish dishes, sea bass ,sea bream etc all was cooked very well and the starters were very good,good advice about choice of wine as well, and this time we were not the only people in there!!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Aquarelle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Aquarelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing