We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but a little pricey”
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Ranked #31 of 156 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food was top notch but the service was a little nervous, drinks orders got confused and the food order left us a little nervous that we would get what we ordered.

When the food arrived we were very pleased but the bill is over the top, all meals are over €20 each and if you are taking younger adults there isn't really much choice, I would say this is on the side of finer dining rather than a family night out.

Overall good night but left room for improvement

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Bunny, thank you for your review, I would say we are reasonably priced in comparisons to other restaurants in the area, and as you can see below from other reviewers, we cater very well for families. Please ensure to ask the chef for any special meals as all our food is fresh cooked to order and we will always try and accommodate. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are returning to the Algarve for our family holiday for the 10th year..and cant wait to return to this restaurant. We usually try to visit twice per holiday. We fly out on this Thursday and are really looking forward to coming back to The Pig and Whistle. It is consistently excellent. Fiona and Damien, Belfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 104FionaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Fiona and Damien, we are always pleased to read that we are a favourite place to visit whilst you are on holiday. It was what we enjoy, welcoming our regular customers back. We look forward to seeing you next time. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hi Mike,

This is not a review. My family and I are coming to the Algarve on the 17th August and will be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary on the 19th. Having celebrated anniversaries at the Pig & Whistle on a couple of previous occasions (and having had an amazing time) we would again like to book a table for three people on 19/08/14 at 8pm.

Could you please confirm in due course.
Regards
Ashok

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashok C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Ashoka, we are obviously pleased to be your first choice restaurant whilst celebrating special family events, mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Really fantastic restaurant!
We were 6 adults, 2 babies, 1 x 3 yr old and 1 x 4 yr old. The menu was extensive. I had liver and bacon which was amazing! The food was superb. The kids were treated v well. Would 100% return and recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lotte32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Lotte,thank you for such positive comments from a senior review contributor. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you all back yon your next return trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Service excellent another lovely meal
We usually try and go to the Pig and Whistle at least once every time we go to the Algarve .. I had fish of the day which was cod it was great well cooked. They have a really good chef

Thank 229michelleg229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Michelle, thank you for writing a review whilst visiting us, I will be sure to pass on your comments to Chris the chef. We are pleased to be one of your favourites whilst visiting the Algarve and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing