We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely garden”
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Ranked #31 of 156 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We came here for dinner during our recent holiday to the Algarve. We visited 2 years ago and it was still as good as we remembered. I had steak with a thai sauce which was delicious, lovely profiteroles for dessert. We ate outside in the tiny garden which is charming. Well worth a visit for a nice evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravelbugSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear travel bug, I am glad to read you have re discovered us again, and enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip back. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited the Pig & Whistle last week whilst on holiday in Portugal. Wow what a surprise, the food was superb. There was something to suit everyone, all our party were highly delighted with their choice.
All the staff were highly attentive and couldn't do enough for you. If you are visiting the area then this restaurant is well worth a visit. We will definitely return to the Pig & Whistle on our next holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Gill, thank you for writing such a great review whilst discovering our restaurant. I will certainly ensure the staff all get to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food was top notch but the service was a little nervous, drinks orders got confused and the food order left us a little nervous that we would get what we ordered.

When the food arrived we were very pleased but the bill is over the top, all meals are over €20 each and if you are taking younger adults there isn't really much choice, I would say this is on the side of finer dining rather than a family night out.

Overall good night but left room for improvement

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Bunny, thank you for your review, I would say we are reasonably priced in comparisons to other restaurants in the area, and as you can see below from other reviewers, we cater very well for families. Please ensure to ask the chef for any special meals as all our food is fresh cooked to order and we will always try and accommodate. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are returning to the Algarve for our family holiday for the 10th year..and cant wait to return to this restaurant. We usually try to visit twice per holiday. We fly out on this Thursday and are really looking forward to coming back to The Pig and Whistle. It is consistently excellent. Fiona and Damien, Belfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 104FionaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Fiona and Damien, we are always pleased to read that we are a favourite place to visit whilst you are on holiday. It was what we enjoy, welcoming our regular customers back. We look forward to seeing you next time. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hi Mike,

This is not a review. My family and I are coming to the Algarve on the 17th August and will be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary on the 19th. Having celebrated anniversaries at the Pig & Whistle on a couple of previous occasions (and having had an amazing time) we would again like to book a table for three people on 19/08/14 at 8pm.

Could you please confirm in due course.
Regards
Ashok

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashok C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Ashoka, we are obviously pleased to be your first choice restaurant whilst celebrating special family events, mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing