We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing service”

Quinta do Lago South
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This excellent course, with some long par 4s, has hosted the Portuguese Open several times and features the par 3, 15th hole with nothing between the tee and green but water.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We played this golf course last month, enjoyed the course but the service was abysmal.
After paying for our round we were more or less left wandering around outside the club shop. Nobody bothered to tell us where the practice range was, or the first tee! When we finally found our way to the 1st tee there was no starter at the hut, not a soul in sight.
After a few holes we were very thirsty, since there was no water offered before we took off, and no beverage cart on the course. And when we came past the shop we had to look far and wide to purchase any drinks, and when we did the price was extortionate! 20 euros for two bottles of juice!
And no ice bucket on the cart to keep them cold! After the are we thought we would order a snack, but that seemed all too much trouble for the person serving behind the bar! Won't be going back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    49
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great course”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

South Course is a very hilly track running among pine trees and beautiful villas of the Quinta do Lago resort. Soft but rolling fairways, fast lightening greens, white sandy bunkers, the whole course was in great condition last June. Buggy is highly recommended to anyone not used to play physically demanding course. We also played the quite new Laranjal course, one of the best kept layout I ever played, well worth a visit too !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“More picturesque”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It is more picturesque than Quinta north but to my mind a tiny bit behind for golf. Both are tier one golf courses and very difficult tests for the average golfer. You will appreciate what the professionals have to overcome. It is hilly and again a buggy is essential. The greens are big, full of slopes, hard to read and like lightening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“VERY overpriced buggies but nice course”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Having entered a weekly competition we found it had been cancelled due to lack of numbers. We booked the same slot and asked that we could have the buggies at the competition rate €30 instead of the usual vastly overpriced €50. No chance! As we were then told we could not take the buggies on the grass it seemed rather pointless to hire them. So we took electric trolleys at €20 each! Course is nice enough although boggy in places. Greens in good condition. Mind you course not busy as now too expensive for most people.

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great course used for the Open”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Narrow fairways, brilliant greens! If you are going to play golf on the Algarve, this course is one that has to be experienced. And the signature holes are a real test too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quinta do Lago South also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 
Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 

Been to Quinta do Lago South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing