We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ria Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely not 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night, due to flight cancellation. Rooms very average. Pillows poor quality. Food abysmal. Staff not friendly. The reception area looks impressive upon arrival after that - disappointing.
Overrated hotel.
They should visit the Pestana Alvor Praia to see what a 5 Star hotel is really like.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kas3763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent and very short stay with us.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for what we consider is not representative of the level of service we continuously strive to offer all our guests.

We are sorry that we were not able to offer your group a higher level of service but we would like to call your attention to the circumstances that you have stayed with us: a flight cancellation. In this particular situation of great distress and inconvenience to many tourists, we were contacted with just a few hours notice to accommodate almost 300 guests, including dinner (chosen by the airline) and, due to the early departure time for the following day, to provide a lunch package for breakfast.

As I am sure you agree, this is a specific situation and does not adequately represent the experience of staying in our hotel, for vacations or when participating in a event or meeting, so we can only hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at the Ria Park Hotels, in the near future, to experience our excellent facilities and level of service.


With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    113
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
117
171
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at this excellent hotel annually over the last 10 years. We have always been made very welcome by the hotel staff who provide a very friendly & excellent 5* service. The hotel is close to a stunning beach with access to a private area controlled by the hotel with sunloungers etc. Hence because of the above we will continue to holiday at the hotel

Room Tip: Always stayed in the same room just along the corridor off from reception overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post your sincere opinion and for your kind words.

It is for us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to our hotels.

With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Part of the nandos group stayed here, great facilities however the food and drink was rather expensive. Staff were great, we used the hotel basement bar following a garden party, suffice to say great time had by all who attended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Four nights at the hotel. Could not be better (with one minor exception - no tea/coffee facilities in room: while this is a minor issue such facilities are nice to have). Very friendly and attentive staff, excellent facilities, great breakfast and evening meal, fabulous room and views.

Room Tip: Poolside is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255Tourist255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly & attentive staff. Restaurant food & service excellent. Superb location. We would recommend We have stayed at this hotel for many years & will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a nice hotel, and the staff was attentive. Nevertheless, the swimming pool seemed too small taking into consideration the number of guests in this hotel and, above all, they publicize the availability of a SPA in it. and this is not exactly like this. They have a concept of resort, and the SPA is outside the hotel, as a shared facility. Not confortable to get there. We were frustrated because the information provided in Internet is not accurate enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfonso V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
Your appreciation of our services and staff have been communicated to all concerned who are grateful for your kind comments.

We have also carefully looked on all the less positive aspects referred in your review.

Please note that we have at our guests disposal an indoor heated pool as well as a Health club in the hotel with a fully equipped gym, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi and a massage room available to provide massages to the guests that do not wish to go to our SPA.

The SPA is only 200 meters from the hotel (walking distance), within our resort. Nevertheless, we also offer our guests a free shuttle if required. With 1200 m2, our SPA offers a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool with water jets, 12 treatment rooms for different therapies, sauna and steamed bath.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us and we are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Ria Park Hotels.

With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday to the Ria Park. We were a group of 5 and will categorically never return. The staff in the restaurant are without question the rudest and most surly I have ever come across. The Hotel Manager is in the same bracket. Do not expect to get anywhere if you complain to him, which I what I tried to do. His response to my complaints were take a look at TripAdvisor - you will see nothing but compliments.
You are charged €15 per room/day for a sunlounger on the beach which is not stated anywhere in the hotel literature or on the website. Get there early or you will find there are none left and you will have to go further down the beach and pay €20! Pool is adequate but again short of loungers if you do not get there first thing in the morning. Pool size is small for the size of the hotel. Very noisy with lots of screaming small children - there is no escape! Food and drink extremely expensive. Dinner for 5 in the hotel restaurant not including starters or alcohol was €155. Location is ok, but you are limited to where you can go if you do not hire a car which we did not. Beach restaurants are within walking distance and were perfectly adequate. Fairly pricey but to be fair what you would expect given the location. We were given some advice from some people we met and we did what they had done .. a trip to the supermarket to stock up on drink and nibbles. Taxi fares from the hotel to the nearest main supermarket €17 each way. Wifi available but totally spasmodic.
The only redeeming part of the hotel was the Guest Relations Manager, Fernando. Without doubt the most helfpul and pleasant person in the hotel. He should be the Hotel Manager and the ladies that clean the rooms who were constantly smiley and pleasant should be the people manning the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 658Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
7.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel

Property: Ria Park Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Vale do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing