We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing 4 day break”
Review of Ria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ria Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing 4 day break”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A brilliant Hotel to chill out in, Excellent service by all staff.Bar/Food area situated near pool served at very reasonable prices.Evenings music from 40s 50s era played on Grand piano whilst relaxing in comfort lounge area..Classical Guitar evening.So relaxing.Mini Bus to take you to beeach which is approx 20mins walk away.Excellent choice for breakfasts.Would return if needed to chill out .The only thing missing in this area is safe walks for pedestrians.Pavements suddenly dissappear and the roads are narrow.

Room Tip: Room to rear of Hotel facing Gardens and Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
117
175
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

At first glance this looks like a decent hotel with excellent reviews however what we found was the complete opposite. The main issue here is the atmosphere- there isn't any. Short staffed we have waited 20 minutes for a drink. You go to the bar and you are told to sit- only to wait for ages for someone to come over.
You then are greeted by a moody bar man when you go back to the bar to get your drinks. In August you would expect some entertainment too- but this doesn't happen either which is very disappointing as you see everyone craving for some fun. The
food is ok, the room ok, the pool ok.... The problem is there is no spark here at all which I'm sure could be reignited by new management. The best place to go is Vale do Lobo mentioned in other reviews. The beach is great and only a 10 minute walk away but you have to pay for the hotel sun beds which is a complete rip off. Special mention to the lobby boy who at least looks genuine when he asks how your day is, the chef who you feel sorry for as it looks like he only wants more guests to appreciate the food he has prepared for that day. This is no where near a 5* and awful value for money. 3* in Winter just about acceptable but in August..... Not a chance.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank naboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed 3 nights in Ria Park Garden Hotel, that I booked online.
Please beaware that Ria Park 5-star hotel is different from Ria Park 4-star! This last one is using Ria Park branding and probably being used as an overbooking customer deposit! At least this is the only reason I find for opening an hotel only during August - the peak season month in Algarve!

Me and my family were very disappointed! One of the worst value for money we had in last years!

Just to name a few reasons:
Rooms with a lousy smell (price to pay for having the hotel closed during 11 months) and windows can't be open!
Bad costumer service - too many employees, not trained for the task (just felt pity for them, but that is the price to pay for temporary work!)
Very expensive restaurant with the worst table service ever
(And by the way, if you have celiac disease just don't go... They simply don't care!! And useless to warn them beforehand as I did)
Away from the beach with a lowsy transfer service - be prepared for using your own car!
Not enough car parking spaces
...

For sure not coming back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank japfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaParkHotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2015
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to know about your stay in our hotel.
Allow me to fully agree with you when you say "Please be aware that the Ria Park 5-star hotel is different from Ria Park 4-star!". It's because, in fact, they are. One is a 5-star hotel and the other one is a 4-star hotel with all the differences in service that a difference in hotel category entails.
The Ria Park Garden Hotel is using Ria Park branding because it is a hotel from the same group.
Please also allow me to allude to a hotel manager lesson, namely a hotel can never, in any given situation, use a hotel of inferior category as an overbooking alternative.
With regards to your less positive comments, they do not seem to reflect the level of service Guests experience in our hotel. Nevertheless, we are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations and assure you that all matters will be looked into.
Best regards.

Manuel Baltazar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from a most enjoyable 3 night stay in the Ria Park Hotel & Spa. Accidentally booked Ria Park Garden which is part of the same group but not as high quality as Hotel & Spa. We only realised this on arrival. I asked to upgrade to the Ria Park Hotel and was told that it was no problem - we just paid the difference. The hotel staff in both the Garden Hotel and Park Hotel & Spa are excellent. In particular the Guest Relations Manager, Fernando, was superb and is the difference in what makes a good hotel a great hotel. The only negative note that warrants comment is the cost of renting chairs at the beach. We observed very few people renting the chairs - perhaps if they reduced the price by half there would be a much bigger uptake? Overall a most enjoyable stay and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Untilthenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just returned from two night stay. We were hugely impressed with the service and the friendly atmosphere within the hotel. The staff really wanted us to have the best experience possible and went out of their way to achieve that. Breakfast very good, nice frequent shuttle bus for the two minute drive to the beach, pool excellent. Good air conditioning. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we and another couple have just returned from a three night stay at ria park hotel and spa it was a lovely hotel and the staff were extremely good and very helpful the b.reakfast was excellent,the pool was delightful. a very good experiance

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We checked into the Ria Park Hotel & Spa for 4 nights and it lovely - nice rooms, although the decor is a little dated (but that's just a personal preference). The pool area and gardens are gorgeous too and the staff very helpful and friendly. We also ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was first class and the service great.

They also provide a shuttle to the beach but you can walk it as it's only 5 minutes away.

If i had to pick fault I would say the outdoor pool isn't very child-friendly. We had a 5 year old and a 20 month old in our group and it was far too deep for them. Although they were happy in the indoor pool so maybe that's the point. I'd also keep watch on the lads running the poolside bar. Lovely lunch food and service but they frequently added extras to our bill. We got savvy to them and caught them out a few too many times to think it was a genuine mistake.
Also charging for beds onthe beach seemed a little mean when you're paying 5* prices.

All in all though a good hotel - maybe closer to a 4* than a 5* but would go back for a short break in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel

Property: Ria Park Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Vale do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing