We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, FANTASTIC and very very helpful staff, nice rooms, excellent food, better rates for golf courses and very nice area in pine trees forest. My only criticism is the price of the internet. To charge 17 Eur a day is really really lot. But anyway, will come again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zdenek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 March 2013

we went on a golf vacation and found a perfect place. spacious and clean two-room apartment, very good breakfast buffet with tasty fresh fruit and attentive staff. happy hour is well visited by all guests, the bar staff is extremely friendly and accomodating, and make the bar feel more like a living room than a hotel bar, the reception staff helped us with all sorts of things, from recommending good restaurants to changing flights to changing rental cars, all in all really excellent service and great value for money. several groups of golfers go there every year because it's such a good place, we'll definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emencee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Enjoyed a very good week at this hotel with a party of seven golfers. The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful...booking direct was very easy and the golf courses Pinheiros Altos and San Lorenzo were first class. For some of my Party this was their first visit to Formosa Park and they felt that the Golf Courses were the best they had played....and they were all experienced golfers !!

This was my third visit and once again the Apartments were spacious and spotlessly clean,,,the daily maid service very welcome.Top marks to this Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golferrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just come back from Formosa for a golf break for 4 nights.

The hotel was great, more than we expected. The room was for 4 guys and had 2 twin rooms either end of a large reception area, with a kitchen in the middle. We ate in twice and the kitchen facilities were perfect. Massive long balcony overlooking the car park. Overallthe room facilities were great.

For the fussy sleepers the pillows are thin but there are extra ones in the cupboards where the safe is. Bds a little hard, but I had no problem sleeping especially after golf, but I can sleep anywhere...

Breakfast was good enough. They have a pool table which in site too for about 6.5 euros/per hour.

Pool was too cold to go near but looked lovely. the walk to teh beach is quite long, and wew never made it but it was a nice walk anyway.

You do need a car unlesss you get cabs, but we did hire a car, do not go with Interrent as they took over an hour to get to us at the airport and longer for another couple who were waiting before us, even though there car lot is about mnutes in the van.

we drove everywhere in our car and was worth hiring it out, the golf courses we played were San lorenzo and Pinheiros altos, and they were great courses to play, even though my scorecard didn't agree or all my wet balls. The courses are minutes in the car as is the local pub ad supermarket where we bought all our beer, wine and food.

I woudl go back in the bink of an eye id, maybe when a bit warmer and drier as it did rain a bit and blew a gale one day.

Excellent hotel overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had a fun half term golfing break here this February, hotel was very quiet - we were often the only ones sat poolside in the lovely warm sun.
It is out of the way – a good mile from any other restaurant or shops. Staff were very polite and bar restaurant very good but expensive. There is an English run restaurant ‘Xenia’ nearby with curry night on a Tuesday if you like that sort of thing. The (1 mile hike) 2 passos beach restaurant is excellent but pricy.
We had golf included at both the excellent San Lorenzo and the more releaxed Pinheiros Altos, both courses were in fantastic condition and the greens were wicked! It can be hard to get onto San Lorenzo – hence a stay at the hotel is a great way to get a good tee time at half price.
The national park lagoon between the hotel and Faro is a haven for wildlife, there are a few eating places on it’s fringes – although most were still closed for the winter.
I thoroughly recommend both the Formosa park and Supertravel golf who arranged our complete trip (flights, car hire, hotel, clubs and tee times) at an excellent price – we will be going back next year.

Room Tip: poolside will get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkJH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This Hotel does unbelievably inexpensive golf breaks We stayed in a extremely well appointed air conditioned apartment with a substantial breakfast included plus 3 rounds of championship golf!

It is much cheaper to stay at this hotel with the golf included than to book the golf individually

The Hotel offered first class amenities although the generous pool was a little cold in October!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel offer a better view but all the balconies are long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyRichardson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 14 in Almancil
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Magnolia Hotel
The Magnolia Hotel
#3 of 14 in Almancil
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 14 in Almancil
289 reviews
1 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
353 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments

Address: Praia de Ancao | Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, Almancil 8135-172, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: £56 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosa Park Hotel And Apartments
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments Portugal/Algarve - Almancil
Formosa Park Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing