We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food at Xenia”
Review of Xenia

Xenia
Ranked #6 of 155 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Algarve.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous food at Xenia”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our party of four chose to eat lunch and dinner on several occasions during our recent one week stay at a friend's apartment at Dunas Douradas. We travelled around and looked at many places to eat but chose the intimacy, fabulous food, cleanliness, ambience plus the friendliness of the staff at Xenia in preference to most other places. We hope to return to the apartment and will definitely be eating at Xenia again and again. Thanks to all the staff who worked so hard to made our dining experiences delightfully memorable. To conclude - compliments to the chef and his staff for the superb quality of food that they produce.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    48
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visit Dunas Douradas regularly and always enjoy the food, cocktails and especially the service from Ronnie, Gay and the team. It never disappoints. There is a great variety of choice, from everyday basics to some really fine dining. Would highly recommend this restaurant, which is even better if you are lucky enough to have Flavio looking after your table...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I could eat the whole menu!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

During another family annual visit to Dunas Douradas, we ate a few times in the pool bar at Xenia.
The food is perfect for summer evenings eating outside in a friendly and informal setting. We tried the homemade pizzas which were really excellent and, between the 3 of us, most of the dishes on the menu. The sticky ribs are good for sharing, although my Dad wanted them all to himself! There are lovely light dishes too, like the salmon and prawn sandwiches and the chips are fab! Ronnie and Gay are perfect hosts - always warm and welcoming. We always look forward to seeing them. Alas we didn't have time to fit in cocktails this time, but hopefully we will make up for it next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Superb pool bar by lovely swimming pool. We went round on Wednesday night and they had a curry night with The Business as entertainment, Newly renovated with large screen TVs the Brazil v Germany match was also showing so we had the excitement of the match plus music from The Business. Atmosphere was truly off the scale. Ronnie, Gay and staff are truly great hosts with fantastic and exceptionally friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebobscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chilled out great place ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Ronnie and gay are great hosts to Xenia and the pool bar, they made us feel so welcome everynight. Great food and atmosphere with live music & cocktails. We are retuning this September again :-)
Emily & James

Helpful?
2 Thank hogerlybogerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xenia also viewed

Vale do Lobo, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Xenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing