We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault accommodation but I wouldn't return”
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't fault accommodation but I wouldn't return”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The villa was amazing... Home from home and everything u need BUT no maid service until day 4. I shower twice a day so had used my towel 6x by the time they were changed... Also the resort was not for us, we are a couple in out late 40's and we like to go out for meals & a drink.. You couldn't do anything without a car...

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cinders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We regret to read that although you have been pleased with the overall standard of the resort, you do not wish to come back for another visit. As we strive to achieve excellent customer satisfaction it is of great disappointment to us and we would like to assure you that should you have voiced your concerns, our reception team would have done their best in order to make your stay more enjoyable. We wish you all the best on your future travels!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    127
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
165
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wanting a spring break within driving distance of our new home in Andalucia we chose a one-bedroomed apartment at this golf resort on the Algarve. The weather was not at its best but we enjoyed the resort, location to nearby attractions and local culture, so a relaxing time in all. The only downside which we pointed out to staff was that the 4 one-bedroomed apartments all suffered from a dark outlook with trees at the front and rear of the property restricting the amount of light and virtually no time for private sunbathing. All the staff were very polite and helpful but despite the 5star facilities, the lack of warmth from nature did detract from the overall enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: If you can book a 2-bedroomed apartment, of which there are many, you will be nearer the leisure fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Thank you for our lovely family holiday at the Vilar do Golf. We all had an absolutely fabulous holiday., Staff so friendly and helpful. The accomodation was very clean, tidy and spacious . We had a fantastic outside private garden which our two children enjoyed.

Room Tip: Great 2 bedroom family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennypomroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We've just returned from a week here and had a fabulous time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family unit which was spread over 2 floors. Downstairs was a very spacious lounge plus a separate dining area and a well fitted kitchen including all cooking facilities plus a dishwasher & washing machine. Outside we had a lovely private patio area with a table and 6 chairs plus 2 fabulous sun loungers all with views out over the golf course. Lots of options for relaxation! Upstairs there was a good sized double bedroom, a twin room and 2 large bathrooms. All of the furniture and linens were fresh & new and of a high standard and the apartment was spotlessly clean.

We ate once in the on-site Bobby Jones restaurant and had a nice meal. It's not cheap but it's realistically priced for the quality of food and service, this is an up-market restaurant. The pool area is gorgeous and quite spacious. The staff at reception were great, helping us out with lots of local info and restaurant recommendations.

There is very little else within a short walk of the hotel so I think you would struggle without a car. There is a shopping / bar / restaurant area around 30 minutes walk away which we visited a couple of times and found the walk quite pleasant - there is plenty of pavement and lighting so it's an easy stroll. There are lots of lovely places to visit within a 30 to 60 minute drive so a car is well worthwhile.

We would definitely stay here again.

We are Diamond Resorts members so visited this through our timeshare ownership.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have open views so ask for one with views over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
At Vilar do Golf every day we strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests can enjoy relaxing time in a friendly atmosphere and we are very pleased that you have experienced just that! Thank you for your review and all the recommendations you have shared here. We hope to see you again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have visited this part of the Algarve for many years, but this was the first time we had stayed at Vilar do Golf. We were in number 91 looking over the 10 th hole of Quinta Golf Course. Everything was very clean, the beds were comfortable and so was the lounge area. The cleaners did an excellent job and we would recommend anyone coming to this area to consider this "village"

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Owner at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf! We hope you’ll choose to come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out the whole stay ran like clockwork. The reception staff were always attentive and doing their best to make the experience as relaxing and stress free as possible, and the succeeded. The only slight criticism was that we were given a list of which days housekeeping would visit and what service they would provide on each visit, someone forgot to give that list to housekeeping as they turned up on days when they were not expected and never gave the service that was on the list, but the standard of housekeeping overall was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
We are really pleased to read your comments following your stay at Vilar do Golf-thank you. We are glad that you found our resort well managed and the team friendly and attentive. It is one of our main goals to make sure that all our guests can enjoy a relaxing, pleasant stay and we are happy to learn that we have been successful. We do apologise for the confusion that seems to have occurred with regards to the housekeeping rota, we will of course investigate this issue and make sure that in the future both our guests and housekeeping are aware of the same cleaning schedule. We of course apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. It does appear that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay with your family, even if you are not playing golf. The villas are fully equipped, comfortable and nicely located. Resort has all you would need for a relaxed stay, but you need a car if you want to go anywhere.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Vilar do Golf and found our villas comfortable and well appointed. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 14 in Almancil
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 14 in Almancil
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing