We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab villa in a lovely part of the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fab villa in a lovely part of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from a great week in Quinta do Lago and a villa at Vilar do Golf.
The resort was fabulous, the staff fantastic and the villa luxurious. It was amazingly well equipped with sky tv, dvd player, ipod dock, dishwasher, washer/dryer etc and lots of crockery, glasses and cookware.
Showers were great too and comfy beds.
Lovely private garden with sun loungers and outside table and chairs - but be warned, the sprinklers come on on timers so you may get a shock!!
Huge swimming pool, table tennis, boule and volleyball all available too.
Only fault was the pedal bin didn't open!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday at Vilar do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special.

We’re sorry to read that you had some difficulties with the pedal bin in your villa, though. We encourage guests to let our front desk know if they have any issues with our accommodation – we would have been more than happy to send a member of our maintenance team round to fix the bin for you.

We hope this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise excellent holiday, and we’d love to see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    119
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
157
113
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

While this is a lovely hotel, it's the staff that make it. Friendly, out-going, always ready to help with excellent service levels, they made the stay a pleasure for my family and I. The golf is excellent, the pools fantastic, the spa (particularly Victor) was incredible as my back had been troubling me. The restaurant menu could do with a bit of livening up and a bit more variety, but it worked for quick and easy family meals and the kids loved the pool tables and 'arcade' machines provided. The value-for-money aspect was truly astounding as we really enjoyed food, drink and treats on a daily basis and only paid 1200 euro for the 2 weeks (excl. accomodation.) Highly recommended and we're going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked a diamond Vila at Vilar do Golf. Upon arrival we were given a Vilar do Golf Vila. There is a big difference in standard between the two. Unfortunately they were unable to relocate us to the accommodation we booked with booking.com as all vilas were occupied.
The complex is refurbishing and updating accommodation at the moment and while we specifically asked and paid more for a refurbished Vila we did not get it.

The pool area was great. The restaurant served good food. Staff always helpful.

Definitely need a car.

Room Tip: Look for refurbished Vila
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cevam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the accommodation you occupied during your recent stay at Vilar Do Golf. The entire resort is currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment, with the majority of accommodation being scheduled for refurbishment, and as such we must stress that bookings do not have a different price depending on refurbishment status, but rather on the apartment/villa’s overall size, design and amenities. We are sincerely sorry if this was not explained to you at the time of booking or arrival.

While we will make every effort to allocate refurbished accommodation if this is requested, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that it will be possible to do so as this is entirely dependent on occupancy levels at the resort at the time you are due to check in.

We are uncertain from your review if this matter was resolved during your stay – if not, we would encourage you to contact your booking agent directly if you have any continuing concerns about your accommodation.

We trust that these matters didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we sincerely hope that you’ll give Vilar Do Golf another try in the future. We feel sure that if you do choose to return here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations.

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Exchanged through Interval International for a spacious 2 bed, 2 bathroom villa. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I requested a refurbished villa which was fulfilled. The villa has everything you need for a self catering holiday, lots of utensils, pots and pans, oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher and washer/drier. Take some dishwasher tablets and washing powder capsules with you.
We flew to Lisbon and drove to the Algarve which took less than 2.5 hours, the flights were much cheaper than flying to Faro, and with what we saved for a family of four, paid for the hire car and hotel in Lisbon for 2 nights!
I would recommend a car for this resort, although you could do without one if you just wanted to spend a week by the pool and the local beach. They offer a free shuttle to the Quinta do Lago beach and a bus to Quinta do lago to go to the shops/ coffe shops/ supermarket for 5 euros.
The Staff in Bobby Jones pool bar and the restaurant were very happy and friendly. Kids meal are 5 euros. Ice creams are reasonably priced 1 Euro 30 for a cornetto. Large Sagres is only 3 euros. Cocktail of the day is 5 euros. Themed nights at Bobby Jones restaurant are good value 3 courses and drink for 19 euros but dont forget your mosquito spray if you sit on the terrace overlooking the golf course.
The supermarket onsite was very competively priced for all your essentials. The kids were kept amused by the kids club water polo and water bingo and I tried the aqua gym. There was plenty of sun beds and parasols. I wish we had had stayed longer to try the excursions they had on offer, I would have liked to try the bike tour round the nature reserve, but it was just to hot to be energetic! My husband and son went to the driving range opposite, and it was 22 euros in total for 48 balls each and the hire of 2 clubs.
We had a fantastic holiday here, and would recommend Vilar do golf to friends and family and would like to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We've been enjoying Diamond Resorts time shares for years. Vilar do Golf is truly outstanding. Near perfection in the layout. Two bedrooms, each with its own bath, separated by an attractive living room and separate dining area. Very well supplied kitchen -- even a washing machine in the unit. Truly, it left nothing to be desired.

After this, we went on to units in Austria, France, and Bulgaria. I'm afraid my evaluation of the other three was negatively influenced by the pleasure of Vilar do Golf and that's not really fair. Those other three all lived up pretty much to the standard I have come to expect. But oh my! How Vilar do Golf did stand out!

And then there was the pleasure of the Bobby Jones Restaurant when we arrived tired and hungry. But I'll review that separately.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf – thank you for this lovely review! We hope we’ll see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

3rd visit here and its as excellent as ever - never fails to impress. Great apartment, helpful and friendly staff throughout. Despite being full ( mid May) the resort always seems quiet. The pool area has been updated a bit since last visit as has the bar. The only improvement we would like is a better menu - its a bit limited and is a bit short on veggy options - other than that we really like this resort and the area and will be going back again. To make the most of your stay I'd re-iterate what others say - you do need a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We'd not had a great experience with one of the Diamond Resorts locations in the UK, so hadn't set our expectations too high. We were delighted when we arrived at Vilar Do Golf, villas are spacious, well equipped and very clean. We have young children and so the convenience of the on-site store was great.
Restaurant lovely, as is the pool bar/cafe which is very good value as I must admit we expected a bit of 'captive audience' price hiking, but not the case at all.
What really makes the difference is the customer service &
friendliness. Across the board friendly people but in particular a grey haired chap who works in the restaurants (wish I'd remembered his name) who was great.
All in all location great but it was the people & their attitude that stood out for us. Will definitely be looking to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We’re extremely pleased that you chose to stay at Vilar Do Golf, and that your stay here exceeded your expectations! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our team helped make your stay here such a memorable and enjoyable one. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing