We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Family Resort"”
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Great Family Resort"”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked to stay for two weeks in August 2013, we have previously stayed here a few years ago and were very impressed with the changes to the resort notably the refurbishments and the addition of an indoor pool, but for us as a family the biggest change is the staff special mention to the animation team of Alex, Luigi and Christina all of whom entertained our children and charmed us but an extra special mention for Fabio the lifeguard one of the nicest, funniest, charming person you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. We hope to return in the future and would love to see the same staff at the resort. The standard of accommodation was exceptional as was the level of cleanliness. We ate at Bobby Jones the food was exceptional and the children enjoyed meeting up with their new found friends from around the pool, the pool area was quite busy and the sun beds did all get taken on a few days that we choose to arrive late at the pool apart from that no complaints our three boys cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you have very young children try and get a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for this lovely review – we’re delighted that you had a great time at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special! We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    127
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just returned from a week here with my family including a 4 month old and 2 year old. It was the ideal holiday,

Accommodation is in town houses in terrace like rows off a network of roads/cul-de-sacs. Means you can drop your family off about 10m from the front door and park up 30-50m from there. The site is quite hilly and whilst there are plenty of paths interlinking these contain many steps so not navigable with the buggy so the road had to be used and this was the long way around!

The town house themselves were first class, though don't be fooled you'll see a golf ball whilst having your breakfast, I think there must be less than 5% of the houses actually on the course!

The best part was the pool, and more so the pool area. There is a combination of grass, around the pool sunbeds, sunbeds on the sun terrace (tiered) and a bar/cafe with cool spray blasting through. All this around 4 pools, one indoor (which required a hat which was a bit odd, not sure if this was law or something), a big pool for general fun, a small square one where games were played of water polo etc and a children's pool. Also in the area was a play area, under a shade roof, containing a slide, swings, ping pong, and a couple of rockers.

The restaurant on the complex was very good, and quite reasonable in price, we ate twice and spent about Euro50 both times.

That was the only real option to eat at a restaurant without going in the car, A car is a must really, I don't know what you do without one, the nearest real supermarket was 10 mins in the car.

Will be looking to book this again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris18921892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We’re delighted that you had a lovely holiday at Vilar Do Golf, and that you’re planning to return here. We really hope you will get the opportunity to come back for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Have just returned from a week at Vilar do Golf, our first time there, and was very impressed with the whole resort but most of all with the staff. Every single member of staff that we came into contact with was helpful, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable, they really added value to our holiday and made us want to return to this lovely resort. Our villa was very well-appointed and had everything we needed for a great holiday. The only tiny complaint would be that the Wi-Fi internet coverage is very patchy and we often couldn't get it at our villa , but that is no big deal and everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
We pride ourselves on service excellence and we are glad to know that you were not disappointed with the standard of care and accommodation we offer. Please visit us again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Being members of Diamond Resorts we are used to fabulous accommodation and Vilar Do Golf did not disappoint. Villa 98 was just what we wanted. Quiet and secluded with a lovely private garden. The sprinklers never failed to surprise us!! We spent a lot of time just sitting and relaxing and even adopted a cat who enjoyed our company. Air con was on all the time which affected sleep but rather that than too warm!! We are not poolside people but the facilities up there were very good and the staff at the bar were excellent as were the guys in Bobby Jones restaurant where we ate twice. Food was good and well served. The live entertainment was ok but not quite to our taste. It's a very affluent area and we chose to see some 'real' Algarve and rented a car. A must if you want to escape the rich and 'famous'. On site supermarket was more than adequate. The housekeeping staff were brilliant. Reception staff were efficient and helpful but someone needs to teach them how to smile a bit more!!

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool if you want piece and quiet during the day. Villa 98 was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Prince1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from a great week in Quinta do Lago and a villa at Vilar do Golf.
The resort was fabulous, the staff fantastic and the villa luxurious. It was amazingly well equipped with sky tv, dvd player, ipod dock, dishwasher, washer/dryer etc and lots of crockery, glasses and cookware.
Showers were great too and comfy beds.
Lovely private garden with sun loungers and outside table and chairs - but be warned, the sprinklers come on on timers so you may get a shock!!
Huge swimming pool, table tennis, boule and volleyball all available too.
Only fault was the pedal bin didn't open!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday at Vilar do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special.

We’re sorry to read that you had some difficulties with the pedal bin in your villa, though. We encourage guests to let our front desk know if they have any issues with our accommodation – we would have been more than happy to send a member of our maintenance team round to fix the bin for you.

We hope this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise excellent holiday, and we’d love to see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While this is a lovely hotel, it's the staff that make it. Friendly, out-going, always ready to help with excellent service levels, they made the stay a pleasure for my family and I. The golf is excellent, the pools fantastic, the spa (particularly Victor) was incredible as my back had been troubling me. The restaurant menu could do with a bit of livening up and a bit more variety, but it worked for quick and easy family meals and the kids loved the pool tables and 'arcade' machines provided. The value-for-money aspect was truly astounding as we really enjoyed food, drink and treats on a daily basis and only paid 1200 euro for the 2 weeks (excl. accomodation.) Highly recommended and we're going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked a diamond Vila at Vilar do Golf. Upon arrival we were given a Vilar do Golf Vila. There is a big difference in standard between the two. Unfortunately they were unable to relocate us to the accommodation we booked with booking.com as all vilas were occupied.
The complex is refurbishing and updating accommodation at the moment and while we specifically asked and paid more for a refurbished Vila we did not get it.

The pool area was great. The restaurant served good food. Staff always helpful.

Definitely need a car.

Room Tip: Look for refurbished Vila
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cevam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the accommodation you occupied during your recent stay at Vilar Do Golf. The entire resort is currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment, with the majority of accommodation being scheduled for refurbishment, and as such we must stress that bookings do not have a different price depending on refurbishment status, but rather on the apartment/villa’s overall size, design and amenities. We are sincerely sorry if this was not explained to you at the time of booking or arrival.

While we will make every effort to allocate refurbished accommodation if this is requested, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that it will be possible to do so as this is entirely dependent on occupancy levels at the resort at the time you are due to check in.

We are uncertain from your review if this matter was resolved during your stay – if not, we would encourage you to contact your booking agent directly if you have any continuing concerns about your accommodation.

We trust that these matters didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we sincerely hope that you’ll give Vilar Do Golf another try in the future. We feel sure that if you do choose to return here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations.

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 14 in Almancil
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 14 in Almancil
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing