We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent mid market accommodation; perfect base for Quinta holiday”
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“excellent mid market accommodation; perfect base for Quinta holiday”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

this is a great option for almancil, where there are many 5 star / aka expensive accommodation options. you get to stay in a 5 star area and enjoy all of the nice restaurants etc...but get to stay in a very affordable option, we booked a 1 bed apartment on line with booking.com for 50 euros, (great price) it said it could fir up to to four people as it had an additional sofa bed. when we arrived we were upgraded to a 2 bed with pull out sofa. the value for these properties are amazing. previously when i stayed here i did not book a diamond/premium option and the property was the exact same lay out as the more recent one we stayed in but it was quite old fashioned. at these prices you cant complain, however when i rebook i was sure to try a diamond/premium one and boy was i happy. they have been renovated to a more modern standard (not totally luxurious) but beautifully done an clean. tiny snags are: you feel as if they have been sitting idle since they have been a last cleaned/rented if you know what i mean, the bath plug did not work so water drained out when you try to fill it and the shower did not drain very well. other than these tiny things i cannot wait for my next visit. i love the new design in the bathrooms in particular and i was v impressed with their choice of all English speaking tv and radio chancels, both english and irish stations, rare to get in the algarve. not a huge fab of their pool area from my original visit but you can easily use lots of the lovely luxurious hotels pools surrounding this property and of course the beach

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
As always, it is great to know that we have managed to meet the expectations of our guests and that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay, enjoyed the use of the resort's facilities and were satisfied with the recent upgrades introduced to the property. We are very grateful for your lovely words and do hope to see you again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    128
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
169
123
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a holiday ownership location affiliated with Diamond Resorts. So it seems whether you're a fully payed up member or not the sales team will try what ever tactic possible to get you to sit down with them. That said Diamonds product does work for some, were getting great use from it and enjoying holidays around the globe and they do have some fantastic properties! This is one of them. The staff (sales staff excluded), are amazing, as most Diamond hotel staff tend to be, the villa's are comfortable and well presented, the activities in the hotel were fun and well thought out and the staff made them fun to do, the bobby jones bar and restaurant is good value with a relaxed atmosphere and a brilliant menu and Chef with yet more amazing friendly staff, sitting with a few beers watching the golf is fun. The outdoor pools are a little cold but at least the indoor pool is warm, just remember to take a swim hat! The real gem of this place is the proximity to a vast number of the most amazing beaches we've ever seen! Get a hire car to make the most of the beaches and some of the nice beach restaurants, also take a trip to the gypsy market for a few bargains and definitely drive over to Sagres and the two forts there, also Portimao is worth a look. All in all another Diamond of a resort, by Diamond!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you were able to take advantage of the facilities on site.
We will forward your comments on to our food and beverage manager who will be sure to pass on kind comments to the team here on resort.
We are sure future travellers will take advantage of your location tips.
We hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here with my mum for 4 days last year. We're going back this year as we enjoyed it so much. Weather was super which was just a bit of good luck. Place is lovely, clean and very safe. Pool is great but very cold!
Only draw back - ants are plentiful due to it being a nature reserve but not a pest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
It is great to read that you had a great stay with us.
We are thrilled to read you will be returning and we will be looking forward to it.
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We've been visiting since 2006 and have never been disappointed. Beautiful accommodation, superbly maintained environment, friendly staff, great facilities, all in a lovely area of the Algarve and within easy reach of places to visit.

We booked a 1bed aptmt but were upgraded to a 2bed on arrival. We've always stayed in a 2bed before, and the standard is always high. Because of the time of year it was a little cold in the villa (which was why we'd booked the 1bed) but it did warm up well with the air conditioning once we worked the controls out! The bed was enormous, needed a megaphone to shout across to my husband on the other side of the bed! So comfortable though, linens, pillows and mattress excellent quality.

The location of our villa was great, very close to Bobby Jones and reception, and a short walk down the steep hill to the pool. We visited Bobby Jones a few times, once for a meal and other times during happy hour. Cocktail menu is great :-) and the restaurant is much improved since VDG have taken it back in-house rather than a franchise running it. Breakfast at the cafe bar was also good, and good value.

Indoor pool was cooler than we're used to here, so didn't use it much this time. Some refurbishment work going on at the pool area with cladding going on part of the building. Would be good if they could pay some attention to the indoor pool changing rooms too, looking a little tired and dated now (although showers are very modern).

VDG provided an excellent base for walking and visiting the beach, and the weather was excellent for the time of year - a little sun trap by the pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is great for us to read that you have visited us year up on year and we hope this will continue.
We are glad your apartment was well appointed, we are however sorry you were not given the apartment you booked but we hope the apartment still met all of your holiday needs.
We will be sure to pass on your comments with regards to the restaurant and the meals and drinks we have on offer here. We are glad to read that you enjoyed using this facilities throughout your stay.
All of your comments have been noted with regards to some of the refurbishments and we will pass these on to senior management for consideration.
We will look forward to your return!
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from spending 12 days at Vila DG, on arrival we too were upgraded to a 2 bedroomed villa (No.23) it was absolutely superb, thank you so much!

It was our 1st visit, having previously stayed at Monte Da Quinta down the road, but I can confidently say that although MDQ are newer they do not compare with the friendliest staff and super Café, food was great. We will be back later in the year.

Best Regards

GILL ANDERS

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janders16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us.
We will look forward to your return visit.
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and it was a superb experience.

I had sent a few e-mails in advance of our arrival with questions/requests and was personally greeted when we arrived by a very friendly member of staff with reference made to my requests which is exactly what you want to hear when you arrive. Excellent. We also got upgraded to a 2 bed villa which was very kind and wow, what a villa!

ACCOMODATION

The 2 bed, 2 bath villa had been recently refurbished and has been done in a modern and tasteful design. Everything has been thought of. The equipment included 6 dining chairs inside, 6 outside, 2 sunbeds, a large sofa bed, 2 flatscreen TVs, DVD player, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, oven, all manner of utensils, knives, place settings, you name it. They also give you salt, pepper, coffee, tea, milk, water, dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets and clothes pegs. So nice to arrive to what feels more like a home than a hotel.
The beds and pillows were luxuriously comfy, the shower powerful, toiletries (shampoo, shower gel, soap, moisturisers and shower cap) all complimentary too.

SETTING

The complex is set around a golf course and wooded area. Therefore most of the properties are in the shade, which I would see as a definite plus point in summer. Some have more open views and indeed our villa had afternoon sun as we had requested before we arrived.

FACILITES

The pool area is huge. There is also an indoor pool which we made use of as I am a keen swimmer. It is just about long enough to get a good session in and the hot tub at the side is excellent. The only slight negative I have of the whole experience is that the indoor pool needed some treatment to remove algae build up. I did a quick Google search on this and it isn’t harmful to health unless the chlorine isn’t at the right level. We did not experience and ill effects, but is isn’t that nice to swim in a slightly cloudy and slightly green-ish pool. I mentioned it to reception and I am sure it will get sorted…

There is a nice café overlooking the golf green which we had a coffee and pastel da nata at.
There is an on-site supermarket which has a surprising array of choice including freshly baked breads and lots of wine to choose from. I was surprised this was open in winter which is great to have and we did indeed use it. For a larger shop I can highly recommend the Pingo Doce in Almancil for fresh fish and other items.

Overall this resort is very well run, has friendly staff, excellent facilities and outstanding accommodation. We will definitely return with our wider family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and recommendation, and you found the resort picturesque and accommodation comfortable. Thank you for your comments, please be assured we will address issues mentioned. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have more occasions to host you and offer you another warm welcome. We are looking forward to seeing you!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Went with diamond resort members for a few days. It was very quiet - just what we wanted! We hired bikes and cycles in te nature reserve and played tennis at the club over the road. Very reasonable and the staff were lovely. Food in the restaurant was also fab. Not for the party animals of the world, but I'd rather have the spa to myself! Thoroughly recommended for a pre-Xmas relax!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team helped make your stay here extra special. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 14 in Almancil
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte da Quinta Resort
Monte da Quinta Resort
#4 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing